We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After re-opening is not the same” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chateau Guetsch

Restaurant Chateau Guetsch
Kanonenstrasse, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
+41 41 289 14 14
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 265 restaurants in Lucerne
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“After re-opening is not the same”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We were customers of the restaurant before and we used to love the food there, it was this fusion new cuisine and it was exquisite, the ambiance in the restaurant was always one of luxus and elegance, but that all changed since they re-opened recently.

Obviously the chef changed and the service became terrible, I think it belongs now to a hotel school in Luzern, but apparently they still have lots to learn.

I start saying that before, this was a place you went to have a special dinner, a celebration or a special business event, it used to be very elegant and the people going there use to dress for the occasion. That is not the case now. We arrived, and you could see people with jeans and t-shirts, with sport shoes and flip flops sitting on the tables, which surprised my greatly, as this wasnt somethign I've seen before in this place, nevertheless, we sat in a table next to the window and received our menus.......that is when I clearly understood what changed the most!!!!!!, the menu was not very interesting, the range now went from Bratwurst (!!!!!) to the most expensive dish Chateaubriand........so no wonder....
Finally we ordered, and it took FOREVER to get our food, when I mean forever, I mean more than an hour!!!!!!, terrible, really. When finally our first course came and went, and our meat came, it was served in a cold plate, so it got immediately cold, of course!, then the second portion was served most probably in a hurry and the side dishes were awful and different than the ones we got with the first portion, although this time (after telling them that the plate was cold the first time) they served it in a warm plate. The problem is that it took so long, more than 3 hours to have a starter and a main course, that we skipped the dessert and left.

The service was terrible, it was horribly hot inside, we open the window and the supposed to be "managerin" scream at us (from 3 tables away!!!) to close it as other people were cold, which we would have understood if she would have approached and spoke to us like a civilized person!!!, so all and all a shame that this beautiful place is wasted with such incompetent staff, it is really a shame.

We will not be coming back, except if there is a re-opening again.......let's see how it goes.

Ahhh and last but not least, I read the answer from the administration to one of the critics here and they mentioned they had more than 700 guests since they re-opened, let me say in here that i clearly understand WHY, if you have the option of going to a street stand wearing jeans and flip flops and eat a bratwurst there or go to the Chateau Gutsch and do the exact same thing, I will also go there......no more comments.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Chateau Guetsch, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. A long waiting time is definitely not what we regard as our understanding of service quality. Our staff can do better. So we are really sorry for the inconvenience you had. Despite your experience this time at the Restaurant Chateau Gütsch the concept and the menu card has changed as you correctly mentioned. The Gütsch is nowadays a restaurant of Swiss Cuisine with moderate prices for local people. The high cuisine concept a couple of years ago of the former management has been proved as not successful in a long term perspective.

Best regards
Simone Staubli
Head of Marketing, Sales & PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    11
    14
    3
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Booked the restaurant for dinner for a work event and it was truly appalling. The service was so bad that my colleague ended up going into the kitchen myself to bring out the plates to serve our Senior Management herself, nobody was not amused. Will not return here EVER again

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Chateau Guetsch, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear guest

We have forwarded your open feedback to our executive manager. The kitchen and service crew is new and still growing to a well-rehearsed team. Especially as we recognize you where the first banquet of this size.

We apologize for the inconvenience and our General Manager had a long and constructive discussion with your “collegue”. Our goal is to make sure every guest has a relaxing and unforgettable experience.

Kind regards
Simone Staubli
Head of Marketing, Sales & PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Camera coming true”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

With the re-opening of the Chateau Guetsch it has turned to its worst. It used to be an exquisite place but with the re-opening it turned into a joke. If it would have been just with us I would put it down as "everything that can go bad did go bad". However, since it happened to all the tables around us as well, I must conclude that they can't do better.

It was so bad that I am missing the words to describe it. It was the "hidden camera" coming true. The incidents ranged from minor issues as taking away the wine glass with wine still in the bottle, not filling up any glasses, making us use the same silverware twice to things like serving the wrong food, burning the food and even worse. A woman at the neighboring table got sick due to the food and a server was so incompetent that he almost set is pants on fire while preparing a Crêpe Suzette.

What you get today is just ridiculous. It used to be such a lovely place. What happened?

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Chateau Guetsch, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear guest

We are very surprised about your terrible review. Since the opening on 1st September 2011 we had the pleasure to serve already 701 guests. The orally given feedbacks were good or even excellent. We are really sorry for not fulfilling your expectations and thank you for your understanding based on the fact that it was one of the first evening.

Kind regards

Simone Staubli
Head of Marketing, Sales & PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chateau Guetsch also viewed

 
Lucerne, Switzerland
Lucerne, Switzerland
 

Been to Restaurant Chateau Guetsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Chateau Guetsch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.