We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. Lovely View.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seeburg to your Saves list
Hotel Seeburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. Lovely View.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Seeburg while on a 15 day Swiss Rail Pass. Although the Hotel is away from the Railway Station and Town Centre, it is easily accessible using the no. 24 bus, which runs every 15 minutes (30 minutes after 21:00 and on Sundays) and stops right outside the Hotel. We could not get a Lake view room when we booked, but when we arrived, we were given free upgrade to a Lake view room - thank you to them for that! It was lovely to sit on the balcony, enjoy the view, and watch the activity on the lake. We stayed in 4 hotels during our trip, and the Seeburg had the best appointed bedrooms. It was also the only Hotel that provided Tea & Coffee, and a small welcome pack. The Restaurant was very good, although a bit expensive; however, on the first night, we were given a Voucher for 10 CHF discount each. The food was very good. The breakfast choice was also very good, and it was the only Hotel that offered cooked food at breakfast on our trip. The Hotel was clean and excellently decorated. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Seeburg Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and your recommendation.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    112
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
52
126
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baroda, Gujarat, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

hotel is beautifully located on the lake. efficient & courteous staff. hardly 5-7 mins run by bus No. 24 from railway station. there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel with a very good frequency of buses. hotel has a great place called " sunset bar" on the lake. do visit. would definitely recommend for any tourist as it has great views of alps . Go & ask for lake facing room.
Even nice for individual travelers too.well connected to even boat station through near by harbor. Buss no. 24 shall take u to stations very frequently. be punctual as buses are always on scheduled time. Do stay.

Room Tip: Ask for lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Good day from Luzern

Thank you very much for your so positive feedback.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way from NL to Italy. Luzern is a great city and hotel rates match the swiss economy. We chose this hotel since we got a good price on otel.com. It is somewhat out of the city center but close enough to walk along the lake or use the public (boat) transport. The weather was nice so we enjoyed the sunset bar (across the road, by the lake).

Room Tip: If you want a lake view room, prepare to pay extra. Or just enjoy the hotel's terrace and sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Good day from Luzern

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Luzern and with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you next time on your way from NL to Italy at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the new part. The room was fantastic. Views perfect. Great bathroom.
Breakfast was good.
The only downside was the complicated way of getting from our room to the lobby.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Seeburg-Guest

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from sunny Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a wonderful location right next to Lake Lucerne, directly across from Mount Pilatus.

The rooms are fantastic and the beds are very comfy.

Lucerne is only a short bus ride away and tickets can be purchased at the front desk.

The restaurant is lovely with delicious food although it's a little overpriced but do not fear the hotel gives out a voucher with your stay for 10 CHF off per guest from a meal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Seeburg for three nights on a European family vacation with my dad. For the price we paid, I expected better. The rooms were very small and the decor was rather odd and not of my personal taste. Also, there was no air conditioning and at the time the temperature actually managed to creep up to an uncomfortable level, partly due to the sun facing our room during the day. Finally, most of the pictures taken of the hotel were deceiving because the hotel is in fact right on the road (Seeburgstrasse) and the noise from the cars passing during the evening and the early hours of the morning made sleep very fitful while the windows were open due to the heat.

On the flip side, the view of Lake Lucerne and Mt. Pilatus was absolutely gorgeous! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and even were willing to transfer us to a different room near the back because of the problems with the heat and the noise from the road. The breakfast buffet was great; there were lots of choices and the food seemed very fresh. The rooms, although decorated in an off-putting style, were very clean and looked new.

In conclusion, there were several positives (like the great view and the friendly staff), but I expected better for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome.

During the last twelve months we have realized the renovation of our standard rooms at the seeburg 61 including the renovation of the staircase and the new lift.

We are aware that the building seeburg 61 still has various defects (bathroom, windows, facade).

We do apologize for the problem with the temperature and the noise.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the gorgeous view to the lake and mountains, our breakfast buffet as well as our friendly and helpful staff.

A complaint is not always just negative, the give us the chance to improve ourselves.

Thank you!

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Three of us stayed here fir one week half board in June 2013 and this is our review.

The good
1. The views from the rooms looking out to Lake Lucerne and Mount Pilatus are fabulous.
2. The food both at breakfast and dinner is excellent. Great choice for breakfast from hot food to continental. And superb dishes at night... many of which not look out of place in five star eateries.
3. The staff are friendly, efficient, helpful, courteous and give great advice on travel and tours.
4. The hotel's Sunset Bar opposite by the lake is a fabulous night time place for a drink in the summer evenings.
5. The Seeburg Hotel is in a great location just outside town with a bus stop right outside.

The bad
1. There is no air conditioning in the rooms. A small fan is provided.
2. Expect sleepless nights in summer. If you sleep with the window open to try and cool down then the constant stream of traffic passing on the road outside will keep you awake.
3. The decor in the rooms is very 1970s. The shower is old fashioned. The floor tiling is horrid. The bathroom is small. There is even a bidet...who has these in the 21st century?
4. There is one small lift. It has a flat panel with numbers on to push for your floor inside. Many times we gave up trying to push for our floor (three) as the button didn't work and we ended up going to floor four and walking down a flight of stairs.
5. There is a tiny fridge in the room. It doesn't work. We put fresh milk in both our rooms and it went off. The water and wine we put in there was also never cold even after a day. The staff sent a man to "fix it". He came but the fridge still never worked.
6. The doors to the rooms have to be slammed to shut them and most of the time we had to lock them with our key to ensure they stayed shut.
7. There is no iron in the room. If you want something ironed you must pay for staff to do it.
8. In the hotel book it mentions a pool. The pool is in fact the lido which is a ten minute walk away and costs a fiver to use. Failing that.. just jump in the lake!

Overall
The hotel is nice but just a few simple improvements could make it much better!

Room Tip: Always get a room facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the fabulous view, our breakfast buffet and dinner dishes, our friendly staff and our wonderful sunset bar.

We know that the seeburg 61, especially the bathrooms, is in a condition that should be renovated. During the last 12 months we have realized the renovation of all our standard rooms including a soft renovation of the bathrooms. The next stage, the renovation of the seeburg 61 building, is already in planning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

Thank you very much for your comment about the lift, which is a complete new one, the not working fridge as well as the problem with the door.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome. A complaint is not always just negative, the give us the chance to improve ourselves.

Thank you!


Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg has 41 standard rooms at a 3* level, 11 deluxe rooms at a 4* level and 5 designer junior suites at a 4* level. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.