We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seeburg to your Saves list
Hotel Seeburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Espoo
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Seeburg hotel during the holiday season and the decorations were really impressive. The suite were we stayed was absolutely fantastic and the view breathtakingly beautiful as well. Everything was spotlessly clean and beautiful, room very large and staff friendly at the reception. The breakfast was pretty good as well. The location of the hotel is beautiful, a bit far from downtown but the bus stops right in front of the hotel so it was easy to go to the beautiful downtown of Lucerne and back. We truly enjoyed our stay and this beautiful hotel and our amazingly beautiful ans stylish suite! Definitely worth a try and we'd love to go back one day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful stay in our Hotel Seeburg.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion in our hotel.

Best regards

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    112
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
52
125
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location was excellent and the hotel upgraded us to lake view room. The view of the lake from the room was fantastic. The hotel staff is very hospitable. It taste like super class asian hospitality as in the five stars hotels in Asia.

However the hotel is old and need renovation to match the quality of location and staff hospitality.

Room Tip: Lake view room in winters is the best bargain. Summers will be hot in the room as the room does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Seeburg-Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome.

We know that the building seeburg 61 is in a condition that should be renovated. Last February we have realized the renovation of the standard rooms with lake view including a soft renovation of the bathrooms. This february and march we are renovating the standard rooms without lake view, the corridors and the elevator will be replaced. The complete renovation of the seeburg 61 building is already in planning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our services and you have spent a pleasant stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was a bit concerned when earplugs were included with the bath amenties; however, Hotel Seeburg was a wonderful facility. Our room was much larger than expected and had an amazing view of the lake. A nice fruit plate with chocolates was placed in our room upon arrival and bottled water was left in the room each evening. We stayed during the holiday season and the facility was beautiful. The staff both at reception and in the restaurant were top notch.

On the down side, the property is located several miles outside of town and one must take the bus back and forth, which is not terribly inconvenient but does not make wandering around the lovely cafes and shops easily accessible in the evening after dinner. The bus stop is immediately in front of the hotel and daily bus passes for 6 CHF may be purchased from the front desk. Also, housekeeping never removed our used glasses and plates from our rooms. We had a nice stack upon check out.

The included breakfast buffet provided plentiful options and the coffee was outstanding.

I never did use those earplugs....

Room Tip: Request a room in the renovated side facing the lake. We stayed in room 614.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very for your kind feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and do apologize that the used glasses and plates have never removed.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Probably the most light up hotel in Lake Lucern but therefore the easiest to find.

A 22 CHF taxi ride from the HBF which at the time seemed expensive but over the course of our stay seemed cheap in Lucern.

The hotel is just superb. Clean large rooms with high quality linen and bathroom amenities. A huge buffet breakfast in the morning will make sure you won't be hungry till dinner! Adding to that the hotel restaurant is outstanding in quality and service we had dinner here our first night as we arrived here late. The 3 course meal was a bit pricey but definitely worth while. Check in was a breeze. Make sure to grab enough wifi cards for all your deceives and ask about bus tickets at the reception as they sell all day passes.

It was overall a great stay and we would be back if we ever come to Lake Lucern again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us - especially the wonderful Christmas decoration.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun, Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was afraid at first when looking at a map that this hotel was too far out of town, but you can buy a bus pass all day for 6 CHF. The bus stop is 10meters outside the hotel and it runs on schedule. After a 10-15 minute bus ride your in town... No big deal.

The hotel itself was more really nice. Our room had a lake view which I recommend. Our room looked to be remodeled recently as everything looked newish. You wake up seeing the lake with the mountains in the back ground, truly remarkable. The staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast was great, and the Internet was pretty quick. With free parking to boot which is hard to beat. I see no reason to even look for another hotel if we go back to Lucerne. I will be staying at the Hotel Seeburg again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you have appreciated our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun, Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Comfortable, though a little tired Swiss hotel overlooking a beautiful lake with swans and the occasional boat. There is a bus stop right outside so easy to travel into the town centre. The staff are polite and efficient and help in any way they can. I heard that the hotel is up for sale now, at 30 million euros as there is a lot of land round it so the new owners can modernise it and make good use of the land around. A big plus at this hotel is the buffet breakfast with a wide selection of cereals, cheeses, eggs etc and champagne at weekends.

Room Tip: The 'new' part of the hotel had more modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us - especially the wonderful view and the breakfast buffet.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun, Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

OK so the rooms that dont look at the lake are pretty ordinary and small for a 3 person stay but they are clean and there is plenty of wardrobe space. Free parking a relief and the bus stop right near the hotel was excellent for ease of going to town without the car. The view was spectacular and the nearby park for walks and sitting to enjoy sunsets was lovely. Unfortunately the staff were very cold and couldnt offer a lot of help regarding cruises and ferry trips. The buffet breakfast was lovely and a late checkout was most welcome.

Room Tip: Have to have a lake view or you will be disappointed. The road below is not as big a problem as havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Seeburg-Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the stunning views and the good location.

We know that the seeburg 61, especially the standard rooms to the side and to the back, is in a condition that should be renovated. Last February we have realized the renovation of the standard rooms with lake view including a soft renovation of the bathrooms. The next stage is already in planning and will be carried out during the coming winter.

We hope that you have had enjoyed your stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration



We do apologize for the unprofessional check-in, the half rotted fruit plate as well as the not working fridge. Please note that we have already talked to the receptionist as well as to the houskeeper.





We always try our best that our guests feel welcome. A complaint is not always just negative, the give us the chance to improve ourselves. Thank you!



We hope that you have had nevertheless a wonderful stay.



Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg has 41 standard rooms at a 3* level, 11 deluxe rooms at a 4* level and 5 designer junior suites at a 4* level. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.