We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Sorry, but we have no room..."” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern to your Saves list
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seidenhofstrasse 5 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Lund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Sorry, but we have no room..."”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Upon arrival - with a confirmed booking, guaranteed with my credit card - I was advised that there was no room available and that they had taken the liberty to book me into a nearby hotel (Hotel Central) with equal standard. As it was rather late I saw no option but to accept - offered a free 3-course meal in the restaurant and free overnight parking in their garage - but with no reduction in price (CHF230.-).

I was rather disappointed, as the offered hotel and room did not live up to the 4 star standard (which I payed for). The remote control for the TV set was taped, but didn't work anyway. At breakfast the request for a cappuccino was reluctantly met with "We have self-service". And I don't think this is the standard for Hotel Flora. But I might be wrong...

But the worst part is that I'm not able to do - and trust - another reservation at Hotel Flora, where I previously have been staying in, as I felt set aside and seriously don't believe this would have happened to any of their more "distinguished" guests.

"Where are we staying tonight?" - "In Lucerne, at Hotel Flora." - " Will we get a room there at this hour?" - "No problem, I have a reservation!" - Curtain...

Do you see the problem?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    347
    129
    50
    26
See reviews for
143
371
42
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan-Rome-Palermo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

1) If you want to pay with a credit card that isn't yours, may be it's a gift of someone, don't go in this hotel! they don't say you, when you reserve, that you have to give an authorization (it's not important if you reserve with your credit card and the name of the traveller is another).
2) They take your money the first day that you will arrive, never happened to me before.
3) they don't speak french!!!!!!!! in switzerland!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORA01, General Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
We are very sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience during your stay at our hotel. To offer highest service and quality is our highest priority and our daily aim - therewith I am sad that you have left in a bad way. Nevertheless in Switzerland it is not legally allowed to pay with a credit card that is not provided under your name. This is simply out of security reasons and for the guests own safety. In case a credit card is stolen, this avoids bad depts for the supplier. In this case, we always need an authorization of the owner of the card as a proof. You are right, we should have stated this part in your reservation and I will change the policies accordingly. If we don`t receive a method of payment at the beginning of a stay, we have to have a cash deposit. Again this is for security reasons for the hotel. I am again sorry for this inconvenience and would love to welcoming you again personally. Please let me know, if you are considering to travel to Lucerne again - me and my team will do our best, to make your stay perfect. Best regards,
Jessica Ternes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Great location less than a block from the oldest bridge in Lucerne and right by the train station. The room was exceptionally clean, spacious considering the typical European room, and well decorated with wall-mounted TV. Breakfast was the best buffet we had on our trip - don't miss it! Only complaint was that the front desk manager would not honor our travel-agent booked price, even with conformation papers as proof. Ended up costing $40 more per night, which put a damper on the experience. PS- Whatever you do, don't miss the golden round trip up Mt. Pilatus.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Hotel Flora is an average hotel for me..I like the fact that it is so proximal to the train station, convenience stores, underpass, theaters, museums and Mc. Donald resto.. The only person that i condemn during my two day stay was the chinese crew inside the restaurant. He always served our coffee later than most caucasian guests. I think he should not discriminate fellow asians. We'll, this people should watch out, though there maybe asian guest but they are more valuable and more money to splurge compared to other nationalities. Otherwise, the hotel is good to stay at for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

My Mum and I stayed here for 3 nights. The travel agent had not been able to book the hotel I wanted and had booked us here instead. I was a little wary but my concerns were soon overcome. The front desk staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The check in was efficient and they also booked us into a restaurant for dinner after we mentioned we would like to try fondue. The rooms were clean and had enough room to move around. The breakfast which was included was plentiful and fresh although the staff in here were not overly friendly or helpful. We had to chase them each day to get coffee and when we mentioned the water in the urn for tea was only warm not hot we were rudely told it was fine. We did have dinner in the restaurant one night which was very good. The staff on the front desk provided the best service and were always friendly as we passed through reception. The hotel is very well located only 5 minutes walk to the train station and a couple of minutes to the Chapel Bridge.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

The hotel is located close to the main station, and was quiet during our stay. We are annoyed that the bathroom had no shampoo, no conditioner but body soap. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Our rate is about $165/night/room. Two rooms. Stayed two nights, upgraded to 6 FL for free because no two standard rooms on the same floor. Balcony is small but adequet and excellant view. Anyway, best location in a quiet street. Five stars.

Staff, no much interactions. Spoke to 3 or 4 people at front desk, all smiling and willing to help, very polite.

Restaurant, breakfast included in our stay, not bad. Three stars.

Waiter, very friendly and GREEDY. Usually restaurants in Switzerland include service/tip. When we presented our voucher for our dinner bill, he said service was not included. Greedy and not honest. Zero star.

Overall, if it would be a true 4 star hotel if it has pool and whirlpool.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern

Address: Seidenhofstrasse 5 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameron Hotel Flora is in a prime location, 500 ft from the Chapel Bridge and 320 yards from the train station and Lake Lucerne. It has stylish rooms. You can park your car on site and reach the historic Old Town or the KKL Culture and Congress Centre within a 5-minute walk of the property. The modernly furnished rooms feature air conditioning, minibars and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Flora
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.