We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the old part of the town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weinmarkt 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location in the old part of the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is centrally located, very close to the river. You can walk everywhere from this hotel to all the sights. Plus it is lovely for the tourist to stay in the old part of Lucerne that's a must, the rooms are plain but the location makes up for this. At night a bit noisy but Lucerne is a vibrant town and around midnight it does settle. A little bit difficult to find get good instructions.

Room Tip: A quiet room. Do not worry about the view as you will be out most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    102
    47
    13
    10
See reviews for
59
91
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We book a room with 3pax on our Europe tour in mar/apr 2014. The room was clean, cosy and big as compared to other Europe hotels. The staff are friendly and willing to answer queries on food and sight seeing. The breakfast variety was not much, but consider a decent one with ham, cerals, breads. The crossiant was very nice, crispy and buttery, u hardly find crispy one in Europe hotels.

Location wise, it's jus about 8-10min walk from the main train station, as the hotel was located within small street, we took some time to find the main entrance.

Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location
It is located at fountain square of old town and surrounded with shopping area. So easy to find what to eat. Let say it's best location for people who stay min 1 night because you can spend nighttime to walk around old city and take photos There are so many places for photo-lovers. It's place for people who love shopping and photo-taking It's also easy-access to railway station, we can walk from station to this hotel. Road in old city area is only for walking, traffic-free. In my opinion, if visiting Lucerne, to stay in old town is more interesting and more worthwhile

Hotel
Lobby is a bit small but staff is so nice and helpful with service-mind. room is not big but good view because my room is facing fountain view ( nice to stay with this view). Breakfast is not big but tasty. Buildings around hotel are old and picturesque spot

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

It's located in the old town and next street to the Kapellbruke/lake. The room I rented was standard room, it's small and shaped like a parallelogram, but I have no blame as the price of the hotel is not expensive in terms of its location. Wifi was quite weak for my room. The drawback of the room was quite noisy at midnight and early morning. My room was facing the fountain and back entrance of nearby restaurants, I could hear the laughs and chats of dinner patrons at midnight and worst of all, I got awaken every morning (usually before 6.30 am) by rubbish/glass collector for pulling items on trucks.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

It is great location in the old town, very close to the train station and other attractions. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The breakfast was good and it had a lot of choice.

The only issue was wifi was not working in the room.

We did not face any noise issue.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

It is in a great location and the staff was above and beyond helpful. The included breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The room was clean and adequate and there is a mini fridge and safe in the room which was very useful.
On the con side -
The room felt like an improved dorm room. Light faux wood Ikea style furniture with two twin beds pushed together, a tiny television gives the barest minimum of comfort. A small shower stall with curtain but there was plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and it was quite loud at night. It would probably be loud at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

The hotel is located at old town area, close to the river, but no river view. Actually, no view at all, either close facing to the wall of another hotel, or facing to a mess street. We could clearly hear people talking on the street at late night, and heard garbage truck around 4-5am in the morning. We did not even have a single peaceful night.
Very small room, coffee machine is leaking.
I would not recommend this hotel to any friends for sure.

Room Tip: No good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone

Address: Weinmarkt 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krone
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.