We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern to your Saves list
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing stay with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a very relaxing and a peaceful stay at the hotel in a suite with stunning views over the lake and to the Alps. The beds are quite comfortable and the bathroom, at least in our suite, very spacious with a bathtub and a shower. The hotel restaurant is located on a beautiful terrace overlooking the lake, the mountains, and the city, which makes every meal an extraordinary experience. The cocktail bar is also a great spot to chill out after dinner. The staff, particularly at the hotel restaurant, are very helpful and attentive. The kids especially enjoyed their rides with the funicular which connects the hotel to the lakefront. We were very satisfied with our stay at Montana and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope that we can welcome you again in our house!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    212
    38
    19
    9
See reviews for
149
586
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed 5 days at the hotel. We stayed the 3rd week in June. First the Pro's. The staff, the facility, our lake view room, the lift and the ambiance was EXCELLENT. The hotel lived up to all of the reviews that it is exceptional. It was our 30th anniversary and they gave us gifts to help us celebrate. We much appreciated the courtesy. The Con's, the weather was hot when we arrived and without air conditioning the room was uncomfortable until we were able to get the it cooled down. They provided fans and the doors to the patio allowed a breeze. We were told by the staff and others we meet in Lucerne, that it was unusually warm and this was not normal. But to us, it was still uncomfortable. Other than the weather issue we were extremely pleased with everything and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The superior lake view rooms are worth the additional expense. To awake and look over the lake is pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Steve

First, we would like to congratulate you once again to your 30th anniversary and we are obviously very pleased that you have celebrated this special day with us.

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and your suggestions by email. It makes us happy to read that you had a good time and colored memories of Lucerne and the HOTEL MONTANA.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Such a magnificent place ! The rooms are beautiful and we had a huge bathtub in the middle of the bathroom. The view is wonderful, you can see everything from your balcony. Awesome ! It is perfectly placed, not far from center of Luzern. I strongly recommend this romantic hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hello! I stayed for 5 nights during second week of June. Lucerne was scorching hot. We had a suberb lake view room so that was amazing. The hotel being a little up -hill has a direct24 hrs lift which gets u to lake and back. Nice beach club ( not the real one ) and cocktail bar. Now the most down side thing - if weather gets hot then God save u. No air - con and no ceiling fan....only a small table fan which is no good. Otherwise there is nothing which I did not like about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Nitin

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The MONTANA team is happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our house on the top of the MONTANA hill.

We would be very glad to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I was looking for a romantic stay away to treat my wife (on a special occasion - so I chose the "Time for Emotions" package). And the experience of the Hotel Montana started long before we arrived. As I was arranging flowers, timings, etc; I was in contact with the Hotel reception. Nothing was a problem. Communication was clear, friendly and always helpful.

When we checked in, the front desk instantly knew it was a special occasion for us, and we're absolutely charming and suggested a quick drink in the stylish bar before we headed up to the room.

When we arrived at the room - this seriously did not disappoint. Amazing views, comfortable room, decorated with romance. It had everything to make the atmosphere exactly as I wanted. It could not have been planned any better. And the views of Lucerne, the Alps and the Lake are stunning.

In the evening, we ate in the restaurant. It was very busy, and in a hotel; so our expectations of what to expect where levelled. But they shouldn't have been. The food was amazing (very close to Michelin quality). The service was better than we have experienced in many high-class places - attentive, but not intrusive. We did not expect such excellent an experience.

Normally, we do not go to the same place twice - but here - we will make an exception. A fantastic hotel - classic but not stuffy. Amazing service - friendly and efficient. If you are going to Lucerne and want to experience the best - this as to be it. You will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: I would think any lake side room would not disappoint. We had room 605.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Lovely that you enjoyed our 15 points GaultMillau restaurant Scala with great view over Lucerne.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were lucky enough to have a superior double room with lake view and the extra cost was well worth it. The room had 2 balconies with one giving a superb view of the lake and mountains. With our luggage delayed by the airline the excellent hotel staff were very helpful in providing an overnight pack and taking messages in connection with our delayed luggage. The terrace restaurant was excellent and buffet breakfast on the terrace was first class. We definitely hope to stay at this hotel in the not too distant future. Hopefully next time our luggage will accompany us! MP & SM

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Michael

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne.

We hope to welcome you again in our house!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Art Deco Hotel Montana in Lucerne for 3 nights in May. We went for the lakeside view rooms and they were worth the extra cost. Non-stop gorgeous views of the mountains and lake! The room I had (a single) was quite nice, definitely clean and comfortable. But some of the singles are quite small. Buyer beware, I guess.

One of the "fun" things about this hotel was the funicular which brings you up to the hotel from the street on the lake. I had originally been a little concerned about the location, halfway up the hill. After a day of sightseeing, the idea of trudging "up the mountain" to get home was not that appealing. But the funicular solved that problem admirably and it seemed...I don't know...quite "Swiss".

We ate at the restaurant (La Scala) two of the three nights we were there. Beautiful view of Mount Pilatus and the lake and very good food. Not cheap, however, I must say. But the waiters were knowledgeable and able to give us some tips on Swiss wine, which was great.

I would certainly stay here again if I find myself back in Lucerne.

Room Tip: go for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.