We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern to your Saves list
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I'm delighted and not surprised to see this hotel at #1. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent elevated location - with the bonus of not having to walk back up the hill after spending the evening in the town. We opted for a smaller room as we were only staying one night en route to a holiday in Italy, but it was big enough for our needs and nicely furnished. I'd happily stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your rating and are happy to read, that you had an enjoyable time in HOTEL MONTANA. Our Team gives everyday the best, to see felicitously guests.
The funicular up the hill, is the shorts in the world, in 60 seconds you can reach our lobby.

We would be very glad to welcoming you soon in our house.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    212
    38
    19
    9
See reviews for
148
583
35
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Firstly, let me congratulate every staff for their warmth & impeccable service during my stay from 25-27 Oct

The hotel is beautiful from inside and outside yet the hospitality is the utmost important.

I truly love Lucerne city & hope to return to Montana.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Simgal,

Our Team thanks you, for your warm compliments on Tripadvisor. We are happy, when we see our guest smiling. So we hope that you turned back safely and we would be very glad to welcoming you again in HOTEL MONTANA.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fantastic food and breathtaking view! We enjoyed delectable deserts here and a priceless view! The service is perfection the food is fantastic but you pay for it all. They have a place you can order drinks and just sit and enjoy the view - outside lounge area!

Best city in Europe and the views and the little city are wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to read, that you had a great time at HOTEL MONTANA, Scala Restaurant and Lake view Lounge. Our Team always gives the maximum to achieve the best for our clients, on a high level.

We would be happy to welcoming you again in our house.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in a corner suite in the Montana with view over the lake city and lake. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Perhaps a little pricey but it was very nice.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was just superb. The atmosphere was friendly and the service was very attentive. I would highly recommend the restaurant and would definitely dine there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback and are very pleased to read, that you had an amiable stay in our house. Our team always tries to offer a special all round service for everyone, which keep in mind.

The HOTEL MONTANA Team would be happy to welcoming you again in our house.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Kings Lynn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent nine nights at the Montana with my Aunt and cannot fault a thing the view is amazing the food is equally amazing the staff friendly and courteous, it is how a hotel should be run. Would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Vicky,

We are pleased to read, that you and your Aunt had a marvelous stay in our House. Hopefully you had a good trip back home and a lot of lively memories from Switzerland and HOTEL MONTANA.

The HOTEL MONTANA Team would be very happy to welcoming you again.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We only had a night here and it was a foggy one at that so we really didn’t get to sample the spectacular view that everyone raves about. And with such a short time we also didn’t experience all of the amenities the Montana has to offer. But we loved our short stay, the spacious and comfortable room, excellent breakfast and friendly and helpful staff and highly recommend this place. We also loved the funicular as a means of accessing the street below.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Ute,

Thank you, for your rating on Tripadvisor. Hopefully we will see you soon, for a longer term in our HOTEL MONTANA, when the sun is shining and you can enjoy the marvelous view over Lucern. We are contented to read, that you had e good time and returned safely back home.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent two night at the Montana. Spectacular view, of course, but a spacious room, wonderful shower and amazing restaurant and bar as well. The food was fantastic. The bar has an inch-thick Scotch menu (no kidding) and the wait staff is very knowledgable. Loved our visit and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing & Sales at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your commendations. The HOTEL MONTANA Team tries to give always the best to make our clients stay comfortable and unforgettable. Soon we will open our new Hemingway rum lounge. So we would be glad to welcoming you again in our house and new bar.

Best regards
The HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.