We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service/Amazing restaurant/Rooms okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern to your Saves list
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding service/Amazing restaurant/Rooms okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First let me commend Friederike (Management) and Boris (Concierge) - two people who know ultimate service. No request was too small or too difficult. They were there to help EVERY step of the way. Friederike was kind enough to email me before arrival, helped me onsite, she made the stay special. Boris was so helpful in our departure transition. Just outstanding employees of Art Deco Hotel Montana and hope they are recognized.

Pros of this hotel:
* great location, easy to walk to the lake
* food and wine great....the restaurant was divine...outstanding view, great food
* nice decor and warm feeling

Cons:
* no a/c and we had a basic room on the street....was really noisy so didn't get much sleep
* wish they served food up top at the bar lounge area, ordering was a bit cumbersome up top
* ask for extra pillows

It is a beautiful hotel. Price was right at 280 francs, however, I would probably look at other hotels in area if it weren't for the outstanding hotel staff.

Room Tip: Room away from the street (too noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear ArizonaTraveler_11

It is a pleasure to read your comment on TripAdvisor and we feel very honored that you point out the Montana team so much. Thank you.

The missing A/C in our rooms has already been discussed in the management and we will find a solution as soon as possible. Thank you for your understanding.

Please note that we do serve a small variety of food on our Lake View Lounge. Nevertheless we will consider your point in our next F&B meeting.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Best regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    230
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
654
37
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Upon arrival we were upgraded. View from the balcony was nice. Location is good if planning to go to the hotel by bus look for bus number 6,8 or 24 and get down at casino. 2 mins walking distance from the hotel. Good Breakfast as well. Room key is unique and difficult to carry around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Willis W

We are delighted to read your feedback about your stay in our hotel on TripAdvisor and that you enjoyed your stay so much.

The location of the Montana is very convenient and with the shortest funicular of the world you reach the hotel within two minutes from the lakeshore.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I would to commend the extraordinary concierge, Boris, who took enormous trouble to try to help me with a problem which was certainly outside any reasonable obligation/expectation that i might have had.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear admirer1937

Than you very much for your great comment on TripAdvisor which we have directly forwarded to our concierge, Boris. He will be very pleased to read that and it is a great motivation as well.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights our room was very clean, stylish & had a small balcony with a lovely view of the lake. The funicular to the hotel was great as we had anticipated a steep walk to the hotel do was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Amanda S

It is a real pleasure to read your comment on TripAdvisor and we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Our funicular is already an attraction. Within 2 minutes you reach from the lakeshore our hotel and you are able to enjoy a pictures view from the Montana.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went to the Luzern Music Festival this weekend and was excited for lovely Swiss experience in this gorgeous city. The Art Deco Hotel Montana is beautiful with stunning views of the lake and city. The staff is very courteous and pleasant. I really wanted to love this place, but then we went to dinner. I can be happy eating at a pub or an elegant restaurant, but I expect to get my moneys worth. First, the bread was truly amazing, and probably the best part of the meal. I ordered the gazpacho, which was fine, but when it was brought to me I thought it was one of those little chefs-taster-treats you often get at higher end restaurants. The soup was served in a shot glass - thus my assumption that it was just an opening taster. No, I was wrong, this was my soup. If it was 3CHF I wouldn't complain, but it was 12CHF-not expensive for soup, but a tequila shot would have been more satisfying. I almost thought it was a joke; I was annoyed. The main meal was fine and the dessert was ok. The meal was outrageously priced and I know Switzerland is expensive, but I would have rather driven into Zurich and eaten at the Park Hyatt or Dolder for the price and better quality.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear dannyhernanny

Thank you for your honest evaluation on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel itself and we appreciate your satisfaction about our staff. On the other hand we deeply regret that you could not enjoy our Scala Restaurant. Your feedback has been forwarded to our Chef and to our F&B Manager and it will be discussed internally.

Nevertheless it would be a great pleasure to welcome you at the Montana again so that we are able to prove you otherwise.

Kind regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our rooms had spectacular views of the lake. breathtaking. No AC was the only complaint. altho they do provide fans. stay away from standard rooms....we had three rooms - and the suite and superior were far nicer than the standard. good location - you can walk to train station (15-20 mins), the covered bridge, shopping and restaurants...... we had lunch on their balcony. excellent views and the food was wonderful Breakfast each morning was also wonderful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear jennifer1NY

It seems like you have enjoyed your stay in Lucerne and we would like to thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy that we could contribute with our service and amenities to your fabulous stay.

The missing A/C in our rooms has already been discussed in the management and we will find a solution as soon as possible. Thank you for your understanding.

We would be pleased to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards
Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We opted for a superior double with view over the lake for our family of 4, and stayed for 4 nights at the Montana. I was very pleased I shelled out the extra cash for the lake view - made all the difference to be able to walk out onto the balcony early in the morning / evening and enjoy a cup of tea / something stronger with a fantastic view! Found the staff to be very helpful, particularly with dinner reservations. Room was a good size and decor / facilities were as I would expect for a high quality 4-star hotel. We breakfasted away from the hotel as becomes prohibitively expensive for a family - there is a great kiosk for coffee and pastries on the lake, en route to town.

Our only issue at the Montana was with the sofa bed which squeaked very loudly with any movement. Given our 11 year old daughter does not stay still for more than 5 minutes even when asleep, we ended up putting the mattress on the floor after the first night, which solved the problem. We did of course ask the hotel to find a solution but they did not seem to have any realistic options - I had some sympathy with them as the hotel was supposedly full so did not push the point. Had it been a 5-star establishment I would probably have made more of it.

Overall, would definitely recommend based on location. Kids also loved the private funicular up to the hotel!

Room Tip: The higher your lake-facing room, the quieter it will be - noise can feed up from the dining room of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear HawkenburyTraveller

Thank you very much for sharing your Montana experience on TripAdvisor and we are pleased to read that you and your family had a pleasant stay in our hotel.

We apologize for the inconvenience with the sofa bed. This is definitely not the Montana standard and we already have contacted our engineer.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you and your family again soon and hope you had a safe journey home.

Warm regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, T4B, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.