We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay - two thumbs up.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Save Saved
You added Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 63 hotels in Lucerne
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay - two thumbs up.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Perfectly situated on a hill overlooking Lake Lucernee, with its own private lift down to the lake, this hotel is awesome! The rooms were nice and clean, the bathrooms and sitting areas were spacious, and the lounge facilities overlooking the lake were magnificent. The staff was friendly, including the concierge, who was very helpful in recommending restaurants, amking reservations, and providing very helpful information for day trips, including a trip to Mt. Pilatus - which is a must see for anyone traveling to Lucerne. I would not hesitate staying here again, and would without hesitation recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: You definitely want a lakeview room - it will be worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mark E

Thank you for this outstanding feedback and we are pleased, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

It is always our ambition that our guests are coming back and it’s great to read that you would choose the Montana again.

As you mentioned, the location is perfect. It is quiet, not too far from the city center and you have a wonderful view over Lucerne, the mountains and the lake.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    197
    35
    17
    9
See reviews for
135
514
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed a whole week in Lucerne at the Montana (34 deg.C, so pretty nice).

The staff at the Montana really make the hotel what it is today. Lisa on reception and the legendary Boris, the concierge, with good humour (tolerating my Deutsch) made our stay as good as it possibly could be. Since it was our wedding anniversary the staff went the extra mile with a bottle of wine, a card and the best seat in the restaurant the Saturday night we arrived.

Our room (516) was a hillside view but was spacious, impeccably clean, comfortable and enjoyed a large balcony. The hillside view helped in keeping the room in the shade (which lakeside rooms don't enjoy) and helped keep the room cool(er). Though a fan in each room would have been welcome!!!! You will have to weigh up if the extra cash for a lake view and warmer room are worth it :-)

Boris was extremely helpful with our trips and days out. A top tip was to take the 'Golden Route' to Mount Pilatus in reverse; ie bus, cable car, Mount Pilatus, train, steamer - going the other way would have been a nightmare with the crowds (who for some reason prefer to take the steamer first) as would the queue for the bus at the end.

Aside from how expensive Switzerland is, we would certainly return to the Montana next time we are in Lucerne.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms get the full sun during the day and with temperatures at 34deg.C could get a bit warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mal747

We are delighted to read your great review on TripAdvisor and we are pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay.

We particularly appreciate your very kind comment because the great satisfaction that you speak to us is a wonderful motivation for the entire Montana team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a wonderful week at the hotel. Our superior lake view room had a lovely bathroom with a free standing bath but no overhead shower so we asked if there was another room available with both bath and shower. The reception staff were great and offered to move us the following morning. Our new room was excellent with plenty of wardrobe and storage space and two balconies. The views over the lake were amazing as the hotel is in an elevated position.

We dined on three evenings in the beautifully appointed Scala Terrace restaurant. Great food and excellent service. Breakfast was also very good.

It was my birthday during our stay and the hotel staff left a birthday card and bottle of Prosecco in our room and our table at dinner that evening was decorated with ribbons and baubles! Such a nice touch.

We must particularly mention Boris, the concierge, who was really friendly and helpful and gave us wonderful recommendations and advice that helped make our stay truly enjoyable. Thanks Boris.

Our only negative comment is that the temperatures during our stay were in the 30s and although the room had a portable fan, sleeping was difficult. Our suggestion would be to fit overhead ceiling fans that would actually suit the Art Deco design very well and work better than the small table fan provided.

We very much hope to visit Luzern again and stay at the Montana. When you find a superb hotel, why go anywhere else!

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are wonderful and worth paying extra for. I don't think it really matters wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marekting at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear happytourist44

Thank you very much for your superb feedback on TripAdvisor and we appreciate that you took time to write a comment about your impressions.

We particularly appreciate your very kind comment because the great satisfaction that you speak to us, is a wonderful motivation for the entire Montana team.

It would be great to welcome you again soon at the Montana and we wish you a wonderful summer.

Warm regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Through business and pleasure trips my wife and I have stayed at some of the world's finest hotels, often in premier suites. Even though my visit to your hotel was for business, I had a Lake View room, which was fantastic. But what compelled me to call home to tell my wife about what I was experiencing at the Montana, was a two hour stint sitting on your View Terrace looking out at the sail boats plying the lake on a sunny June afternoon, with a light breeze, a Campari and great friends. We shall be coming back later this year to permit my wife to experience dinner on your Veranda dining terrace with whatever the chef has chosen from the freshest available that day. Thanks for the memories and for providing us with a fresh destination for us to look forward to experiencing together.

Room Tip: Just let the receptionist know what you would prefer when you check in. she will do her best to pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Robert P

We really appreciate your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor very much and we are happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you with your wife the next time.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

What can I say !
It's an awesome property with great views. But the staff definitely can be a more professional. 2 instances that I didn't particularly like:

1) During check in I was asked for the full payment upfront. Why? None of the quality hotels do that these days...they take an auth on your card which protects them against any kind of deviation from payment.
Upon asking why - the lady checking me in stated that they do it for all first timers staying at the hotel and if I decide return again they will not take an upfront payment. Weird !

2) I went down to the reception and asked them for some information on trains to the airport - pretty standard ask. Not that I was asking them for flight schedules to Heathrow.
I was curtly pointed to the computer in the lobby and told to figure it out myself ! Well, I don't mind that but in a hotel where you pay 300 GBP a room...you expect a bit more.

On the +ves - super rooms, nice restaurant and a well stocked whiskey bar with a friendly bar keep (thank god for that)

Room Tip: go for lake facing superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear teddy374

Thank you very much for your honest evaluation on TripAdvisor and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Due to security reasons and bad experiences in the past, we charge the room rate to first time visitors already in the beginning. Thank you for your understanding.

The second point you mentioned is definitely not our standard and we already informed our Front Office Manager. We really apologize for this bad service.

Nevertheless it would be great pleasure to welcome you again soon and we wish you a great summer.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

From check in to check out, this hotel and it's staff proved to be first rate. Our lake view room was lovely and the views from our balcony were knock your eyes out beautiful. We had breakfast every morning and the buffet was terrific. We also enjoyed their live music in their cocktail bar in the evening. My only complaint about the bar would be they allowed cigar smoking which I think is horrible to be around. We were able to go into the next room, but we weren't able to watch the band.

The location was also perfect for us with a short 10 minute walk to their old town and the famous Chapel Bridge. You could even see the bridge from our balcony!

Room Tip: The views from the upper floors with a lake view are fantastic. Panoramic views of the lake and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marekting at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear ijayp

It is a real pleasure to read your feedback and thank you very much for your great comment on TripAdvisor.

The view from our rooms facing the lake side is terrific you even are able to enjoy this view from our Scala Restaurant, the Louis Bar and from the terrace.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This Art Deco hotel perched on a hill has an unparalleled view of the lake, and the city. We stayed in a deluxe room with a lake view which was heavenly. The room was very elegant and loved the art deco decor of the room and throughout the hotel. The room was very spacious, with a large desk and comfortable couch. Very good closet space, lots of removable hangars and a good size fridge. We had a small balcony which was perfect for breakfast. We picked up some provisions at the Coop store at the railway station which is a 15 minute walk and kept it in the fridge. Tea and coffee brewing options in the room. It was so enjoyable to have a continental breakfast on our terrace while enjoying the view. We did the hotel breakfast one morning (25 euros/person). It's a beautiful dining room with a full view of the lake and mountains and the breakfast assortment was excellent, but usually we just wanted a quick bite before heading out for the day and didn't want to spend $50 for breakfast every day.

Good lighting for reading or working and lots of sunshine during the day. Only a floor fan, so if it’ s warm the room can get a bit stuffy and you need to make sure the lights are out before opening the window at night so the bugs don't come in. Free wifi.

One surprising irritating flaw - the bathroom was very large with a big soaker tub, (with a rubber ducky to play with that you can take home as a souvenir) and separate shower, but terrible lighting and you have to create makeshift counterspace with chairs.

The concierge was extremely helpful. I contacted him a couple of months before our arrival and he first provided a list of restaurants and then made reservations for us. He also saved the day when he made a point of highlighting the unusually early concert start time as we had gotten tickets for the closing concert of the Lucerne Music Festival. As we were arriving in Lucerne that day, had he not alerted us to the early time, we may very well have had a disastrous evening instead of a wonderful evening at the concert hall followed by dinner in the hotel restaurant, Scala. Definitely have dinner at the hotel at least once - expensive but excellent in all respects – very romantic setting.

The funicular was a fun and easy way to get up and down the hill. The hotel was within easy walking distance of all the sights. Highly recommend the train trip to Interlaken and Wengen for a great hike and views of Jungfrau. Wish we'd known about the train trip to the summit to Jungfrau as it sounds amazing, but that can’t be planned on the spur of the moment.

Room Tip: Spend extra to get the Lake View - not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear alwaysplanahead

It seems like you have enjoyed your stay in Lucerne. We are happy that we could contribute with our service and amenities to your fabulous stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.