We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Luzern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern to your Saves list
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Cranbrook, BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Luzern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of a conference, and loved it. While fairly pricey, the service was excellent. The staff were very helpful in an under-stated way, and the rooms had all the comforts needed. Loved the balcony view over the lake and city, and while a bit removed from downtown, it's only a 10 min walk after taking the funicular down the hill. Buses go to the town centre and bus/train only a 100 m from the lower door of the funicular.

Breakfast buffets were expensive, and became somewhat predictable after 6 mornings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side (facing lake), or side facing town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and thank you very much that you commented your impressions on TripAdvisor.

With the smallest funicular of the world you reach our hotel from the lakeshore within 2 minutes. From the hotel you’ve got a spectacular view over Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you again soon and we hope you had a safe journey back.

Kindest regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    223
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
155
636
36
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in July and the location was perfect- on top of a hill overlooking lake Lucerne, with all rooms having balconies with a view. Really easy to get into town on the funicular. Staff really friendly and helpful. There were a few hotels located just by the lake, probably more expensive, but the rooms wouldn't have a view like Art Deco. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

The view from our hotel is fantastic and you are able to see the Lake of Lucerne, the city itself and the mountains.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Arrived to a wonderful greeting from our rep Michael, however our suitcases didnt arrive until the following morning, our rep went to the train station to make sure they were at the hotel by 8am. however, on the return journey we left our suitcases at the reception by 8am and seen them when we arrival at heathrow. We had a wonderful lake view room with balcony well worth the extra to wake up to every morning to this breath taking view of the lake and mountains. the staff were so friendly and always smiling, nothing was to much for them. we booked dinner for the 7 nights we were there and again the resturant staff and our meals were 5*. Everynight in the Louis bar there was music/paino player wonderful to listen to whilst you are having a lovely glass of wine. iI would recommend this wonderful hotel, my husband and i was taken there by my mother in law as she had been there a few years earlier with her husband and she wanted to go back, she was not disappointed. Hope to go back to the Swizerland one day and we would definatly return to The Montana you could walk to the train station and where you get the river boats about 15mins walk everything was walking distance and i would recommend you go on the river and take the cog train to Pilatus and come down on the cable car this is a trip you shouldnt miss....Congratulatons Montana on providing 5* service to your customers and a big thank you to all your staff, there was not one member of staff you could complain about,we asked one night in the restuarant why everyone was so happy.."the reply" we are a happy family and love to come to work.......thank you all for a lovely holiday, you all made it extra special.

Room Tip: we were in room 209 and that was really wonderful, however if it was summer we were right on top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marekting at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear family Peregrine

What a great comment – thank you so much! It is a real pleasure to read your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay that much!

It is true, that Montana crew is like a big family and we give every day our best to make our guests happy.

It would be lovely, to welcome you back again soon.

Regards from the whole Montana-team

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Breakfast at Montana overlooking Lucerne, the lake and the mountains is unbeatable. Great hotel with a lot of details and care. Restaurant is over priced with little choice and students serving. The bar is disappointing with rude service.
Still a gem and a pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: Lake side..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for feedback on TripAdvisor and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the great view from our hotel.

I will forward your comment to our Bar Manager because this is definitely not our Montana standard. We deeply apologize for that.

Nevertheless it would be great to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at the Montana; my wife was extremely suprised by the room decorations and dinners provided as part of the Time for Emotions package. Additionally, the staff was pleasant, professional, and very attentive; in fact when I discovered a small issue with the bill after we had checked-out, they were quick to respond and fix the issue.

It was hard to leave the suite and the view behind, but we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Spa Suite or Junior Suite are the best way to go for couples; nothing like sitting in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

First of all we would like to congratulate for your 10th wedding anniversary and we are very pleased that you celebrated this special day in our hotel.

Thank you for this great feedback on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure for us to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

The Penthouse Spa Suites are very unique and you even are able to enjoy the view from your own whirlpool on the private terrace.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Checked in at night time and found smiling and helpful employee at the registration desk. The hotel is located high above the lake with outstanding view of the lake and opposit mountains. The hotel has an elevator going down to the lake level enabling it's guests a quick approach to a strolling promenade.
Advantages:
Location. Spacious room with 2 balconies facing the lake and mountains. Very clean. Large bathroom. Attentive staff.
Disadvantages:
Bed : Our so called king size bed was eventually composed from 2 beds. I also found the matresses to be too soft hence affecting the sleeping quality.
Lack of vegetables in breakfast: although i would rate the breafast food choices as very good there is no choice of fresh vegetables.
Conclusion: Very good hotel.
Tip: insist on getting a room which faces the lake.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor and we are pleased to read that you were happy with our service and your stay.

All our 66 rooms are very spacious and as you already mentioned, it is worth to have a room facing to the lake and the mountains.

I have noted down the critical points you have mentioned and will discuss in our next team-meeting.

It would be great to welcome you again very soon and wish you a great autumn.

Kind regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stylish hotel with easy location 15 minutes walk from Lucerne centre. Striking art deco detailing throughout. Louis bar refined, allows smoking. Live jazz jam each Thursday and regular live solo piano during week. Restaurant all that you would expect from its grading. Room rates are expensive if booking direct and they don’t offer half board – all meals including breakfast are extra. Much cheaper deals if booking through a tour operator..

Room Tip: Lake view, and try for 5th floor which gives best views of Lake Lucerne and the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

From our hotel you have got a spectacular view over the city of Lucerne and with the shortest funicular of the world you reach the lakeshore within 2 minutes.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.