We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel in a Charming City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Balances

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Balances to your Saves list
Hotel des Balances
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Weinmarkt, Lucerne 6000, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel in a Charming City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As you enter the hotel, you see that the exterior is covered with gorgeous murals from 600+ years ago. The location is perfect, right next to the river. We had a suite facing the river and the view was really beautiful. On New Year's Eve and Day, we were able to watch the fireworks while sitting on our balcony.
The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. To our surprise, they graciously allowed a late check-out without charging us.
The suite was quite large and comfortable. A surprise was the amazing shower with steam, rain bath, multi-jets. And L'Occitane toiletries were quite impressive!
Overall, this hotel is top-rate. When we return to this wonderful city, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    141
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
88
295
37
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Center, Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I read about this property in one of the travel guides and it sounded like the place to be. The location is in fact terrific, right on the River Reuss. As noted in other reviews, the walk from the train station is not difficult, even when burdened with a fair amount of luggage. The hotel is located directly on the "promenade" along the river, a lively place with many restaurants and in fact, the site of the weekly market which we were lucky enough to experience on a Saturday morning. At the conclusion of our walk from the train station, we arrived at the entrance and found no one in attendance. The lobby, being a full flight of steps above street level, was difficult to reach given the amount of baggage we were carrying. I am by no means averse to carrying bags up staircases; however, I feel that at a hotel of this supposed stature and for the price I was paying, it was not unwarranted for me to expect the presence of a door attendant. My wife and I wrestled our bags up the stairs as a number of staff passed right by us, until a waitress offered to help us. Upon reaching the lobby, I found the desk staff to be rather distant and quite different from what I had experienced in other Swiss hotels on this vacation. Very disappointing. I had read in the guide book that rooms on the 5th floor tended to be small, and that was indeed the case. It was in fact cramped. The bathroom was tiny-- you couldn't get into the bathtub and take a shower without bending over, and a window over the tub could not be opened without banging into the ceiling. Now the room did have a nice balcony which looked directly on to the river and across to Pilatus. We actually found it necessary, in the absence of A/C, to leave the door to the balcony open in order to provide some ventilation, it being a rather warm early October.

In summary, I think this hotel is superbly and centrally located, but the level of service and amenities do not warrant the cost.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Well, if you don't get the river view with balcony, forget it. Stay home. This was really impressive especially when the bells ring and sun rises.

The bed - just ok to be honest but that was ok. The breakfast made up for it. Best we had all trip. Eggs cooked to order, all kinds of juices, pastries, cheeses, meats. Making me hungry just thinking about it. Really nice dining room also with a ruin showing right through the wall. The complimentary drink was great. Just don't expect the bartender to chat you up because he won't.

Really like this hotel. We were there three nights and ate at three different Italian restaurants close by. Bus is close. Train is close. Boats on Lake Lucerne are close. And The Wall is close. It's just the nicest location you can imagine. We will surely be back.

Room Tip: Hands down, Lake/river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Super loved this hotel though slightly more expensive. 5-star. We had 1 room facing the town and 1 facing the river! Room size of both were brilliant. Close to train station - 10mins walk, and other attractions. Restaurants/Food/cafe were all very close by. L'Octaine toiletries were excellent! chocolates/sweets were on table in room on check in, "turn-down" service every night. Beds were very comfortable and cosy! Am already missing it as I'm writing! Will be back soon!!

Room Tip: Take the room with view of river/mountain!! Definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McClellanville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent the weekend of 12-7 in Luzerne. We LOVED Des Balances. The location is perfect. It's an easy walk from the train station even with bags and a 3 year old. I had requested a room with the best view and we got it. We were on the top floor and had a huge balcony. My son had plenty of room to play in the snow on it, was super.
The hotel staff was very helpful in making dinner reservations for us and helping with sightseeing recommendations. Very professional. The welcome drink was a bonus and yummy. I chose the apple strudel martini-excellent.
The breakfast was very good and they make eggs to order included.
If I had to say anything negative it would be that the room was slightly smaller than I hoped for. However, all of the luxuries and the location more than made up for that.
Great trip and I would stay again without a doubt.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor have HUGE balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a really good hotel. We found a nice sweets platter and wine in our room awaiting us. The room was at a comfourtable temperature despite the snow. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom was really pretty. The location overlooks a nice river and is very relaxing. The breakfast is however limited and not what we are used to for buffet breakfast spreads. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in an ideal location, right in the heart of the old part of Luzern. Our room faced the square in front of the hotel, but we heard absolutely no noise, even on the night when the booths of the Christmas Market were being put up! The room was spacious and well equipped, at an ideal temperature despite the cold outside. Staff were friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed a wonderful meal one evening - the restaurant was fully booked, but in company with several other couples we were accommodated in comfort in the bar area, where there is a great ambience with an excellent pianist playing live most evenings. Our free 'welcome drink' was not, as is so often the case, a dubious and watery concoction, but a well-made Sidecar cocktail. The bathroom had lovely L'Occitane toiletries... I could go on, but you get the idea - it was perfect for this special birthday weekend. Only tiny gripes - fancy coffee-makers don't make decent tea (at least not for English tastes), and it would be good to have another English-language channel (BBC News 24?) in addition to the ubiquitous CNN.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Balances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Balances

Address: Am Weinmarkt, Lucerne 6000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Balances 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Balances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Balances Hotel
Des Balances Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Balances, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.