We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it in any way, superb hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann to your Saves list
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne CH-6000, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Devon, Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could not fault it in any way, superb hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Travelled as a single traveller as part of a tour for Christmas. The hotel was changed from Hotel Central to this one. I have to say we struck gold dust when we got this hotel. It was first class in every way, cleanliness, room size, service, staff, food, all exceptional. The only down side was that the hotel was very hot. It's location was superb, close to the riverside walk and surprisingly quiet for it's city centre location. Wifi in all rooms, not free but 45 francs for 50 hours, which was cheaper than elsewhere in Switzerland.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    82
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
30
109
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Great location in the heart of Luzern, within walking distance of restaurants, shops and railway station. The room was very spacious, clean and charming. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the free chocolate on our bed every night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed in a junior suite which offered plenty of room to move around in. Beds were comfortable and it was nice to have a large bathroom with a shower curtain. Very clean. Triple pained windows kept most of the noise out, but it would have been nice to keep the windows open to allow some air into the room in the evening. If you opened a window, lots of noise that would come in off of the street. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate.

The only real downside to the hotel is that smoke from their meeting rooms/areas will find it's way up the stairwells into the rooms. The hotel allows smoking in these areas. Good news is that our room had a second door we could close to help prevent almost all of the smoke from entering our living area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Every aspect of our stay in Luzern was enhanced by the superb staff and facilities in the hotel. There was no aspect of our stay that fell short of expectations. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel on another visit to Luzern.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Stayed at the Wilden Mann, nice location, clean hotel with nice beds. Staff was great. Hotel proximity was easy walk to old town, and close to most bars and restaurants. Would stay again, though next time i think I would consider even closer to Old Town. Stayed 3 nights and included breakfast. Was good and plentiful. Our room overlooked cobbled street and was very nice. Only drawback if you are a light sleeper in the morning, since the hotel does not have air, you have to leave the windows open and you will hear trucks unloading produce etc in the morning. No bugs though....weather during our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This place is fantastic from the second you walk in the door. It is absolutely charming and the staff is warm and welcoming. Each room is completely different. So if you don't like your room and want something else, the hotel staff is more than happy to help you find the perfect place for your personality. If you are looking for the most modern up-to-date hotel, than this is not the place for you. The rooms are cozy and the bathrooms are all brand new and very spacious. They serve an exceptional breakfast in the morning. You can choose from a wide range of cheeses, to freshly baked croissants, to eggs and bacon. If you want to be a little healthier they have freshly picked fruit and many types of cereals.

On every other floor they have complimentary teas and coffees available. They also have complimentary shoe shine everyday.

Anytime we needed advice on where to go the staff went over the top to help you. The restaurant in the hotel is fantastic as well!!!

I would highly recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

It was my birthday. Just one day in Luzern. The hotel very, very beautiful! It's like a house of the local people - everything is clean, fresh and there is a special smell like in a fairy tale. Yes, it is a fairy tale hotel. I cannot add any bad thing.
Extremely well!!!!!!!!!!!! Don't forget to visit the restaurant in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne CH-6000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.