We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Garden (Gletschergarten)

Glacier Garden (Gletschergarten)
Denkmalstrasse 4, Lucerne, Switzerland
41 (0)41 410 43 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 57 things to do in Lucerne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built around a glacial pothole that has survived since the Ice Age, this museum also displays artifacts from throughout the town's history.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was more than I expected and thoroughly enjoyed the museum, garden, tower, and mirror house. We did not expect much after visiting other museums in town but ended up spending over an hour here. Recommend it highly

BObK

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    93
    26
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Glacier Garden is a must see if you have time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was unexpectedly a lot of fun, both to see the holes made by the Glacier, as well as the museum/house and the mirror maze which was fun for adults and kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Google it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

No for me it was not worth it. There is not much to see and the entry fee is way to high for what is on offer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Glacier Garden is enjoyable. the original owners of a house were going to dig a wine celler and found the glaceir potholes. You can also venture into the old house, and view various other exhibits. Worth the price - and a good rainy day activity since must of this is covered

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I didn’t visit the whole garden due to time constraints. But I still enjoyed it. It was interesting to know a bit about the geology. It might be very enriching to go through the museum slowly, which I didn’t have time to do.

The part I enjoyed the most was the “Alhambra maze”. I was amazed they made such a place with mirrors. It was very cool. But be aware that you might get lost in it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Garden (Gletschergarten) also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Glacier Garden (Gletschergarten)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Garden (Gletschergarten), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.