We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night treat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GourmIndia

GourmIndia
Baselstrasse 31, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
041 250 4343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 278 Restaurants in Lucerne
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Kirribilli, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Friday night treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Somewhat ethnic food deprived in Luzern, we have had hopes raised and then dashed so many times, but finally we found an indian restaurant we are happy to call our local! Now veterans of 3 visits, we love the mixed tandoori platter (full of interesting bits, all differently spiced, best range I've seen anywhere) and the chicken makhani is also a favourite. True test for us are the quality of breads, and here they are great, as well as the rice. One tip though - despite the huge quantity of food provided by the Kings Feast, we do prefer to go our own way with the a la carte. Im surprised by some of the comments regarding the staff, as we only have been treated with courtesy, respect and good humour by all, especially Patricia and Singh, even when the place is going crazy with the groups being accomodated. Sick of tourist ripoffs and half hearted Italian in Luzern, we are happy to have something to lure us out to start the weekend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    43
    0
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ok Food , arrogant staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

looking for indian food options in luzern ,we happen to somehow locate & reach this hotel, the lady who took our order probably mistook a part of breads order & got us an additional one,
when we tried telling her that , she was like I very well remember sir that you ordered for this , No use arguing with a fool , so we left it there & hence the leftover also had that roti left behind.

The food was strictly ok , not worth the long drive we had to take to reach here , probably won't suggest any of my knowns to try this place , Kaanchi has been a winner for us in all terms.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourmindia, Manager at GourmIndia, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Batra Ji

Greetings from GourmIndia Luzern !!!
We wish you and your family a very "Happy Diwali"
Thank you a lot for bringing your complain to our notice. We have taken a measurable step to improve our service & standards, and would really appreciate you to visit us again when you come to Switzerland.
We look forward to see you soon.

Thanks & regards

Gurjinder Singh
Restaurant GourmIndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better to avoid, not sure how it's ranked 3”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nothing great about this restaurant. Being Indians, we had high expectations about this restaurant when we saw the ranking for this restaurant - 3 of 172 in Luzern. But honestly, it's one of the worst I have experienced in Europe. We went there without a reservation and the lady didn't know whether to give us a table or not. She checked with someone else before telling us that we could dine there - as if they were doing us a favour !! After finishing the meal, we requested that the excess food be packed. One of the guys in the hotel said that it wasn't a problem. Then another guy came around and told us that they normally don't pack but he'll do it for us - again, as if they were doing us a favour. When we opened the packed food next morning, we realised that only half of what was left over had been packed. A total rip off. No spoons or forks to eat the packed food either. And the prices were too high. Overall, a not so great experience. I'd never return to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourmindia, Manager at GourmIndia, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Sir

Greetings from GourmIndia Luzern !!! We really appreciate and thank you for your feedback.
We would definitely take a step to avoid this kind of situation in the future.

We would also like to share few points from restaurant perspective,

1. We always would like our guests to feel comfortable while being here, and try to give them the best place especially when we have group reservation in the restaurant.
2. We really like to see our guest enjoying their entire meal at our restaurant, However we are also happy to provide take away boxes at free of cost which is generally not a trend in Switzerland, same goes with knife and fork for takeaway, provided to our guests on request only.
3. We have taken much care while designing our Menu and its pricing which might be very expensive compared to what we get in India, but it is very reasonable & competitive in Switzerland.

We again apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, However, we are disappointed on ourselves that we did not fulfill your requirements as per your expectations. and We would be really thankful to you for providing us one more opportunity during your next visit to Switzerland.

Thanks & regards
Gurjinder Singh

GourmIndia Luzern
Baselstrasse 31
6003 Luzern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Fresh Homemade Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Another great tip from trip advisor.
We checked out the menu card on line first and decided to take the Kings Menu.
If you reserve your table online you get a discount and a free glass of prosecco with your meal. I called to reserve our table and we became the same deal. Friendly.

Kings Menu.
As a starter you are served a giant platter with six different types of starters. Look online to see the complete list.
Everything was home made and fresh, no convinience products! It is quite a meal in its self with all the food you get.
The main couse.
It consists of seven items including Rice and Naans. Each served in its own little pot. As well everything hot, fresh and homemade.
(By homemade I mean made by the restaurant itself and not convinience products made in a factory.)
Something for everyone from fish to chicken, Dal to Lamb.
Dessert surprise was she said was always ice cream.
There was really lots to eat, so price one paid was worth it.
The atmosphere was quite plain and minimal, one would hope for more decoration to get more in the frame of mind.
Overall the food is very good, we will come back again with friends. Its worth the trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't let the Location/Neighborhood Fool you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

You couldn't desire anything better!

This restaurant is well worth the driving and looking for parking. I have rarely found a place that serves such fantastic authentic Indian food! The flavors !!!!

And the service, oh the service.... I need to move to lucern, would eat here everyday if I were a millionaire! Thank you GourmIndia for an excellent experience with my friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GourmIndia also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to GourmIndia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GourmIndia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.