We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food and good service! Best chips ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zunfthausrestaurant Pfistern

Zunfthausrestaurant Pfistern
Kornmarkt 4 | 6004 Lucerne, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
+41 41 410 36 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 307 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $21 - $64
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Yummy food and good service! Best chips ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Another lovely location on the waterfront on the River Reuss. We sat outside initially but when it began to rain the waitress dashed outside to help us move undercover! Nicely done. There's also a self serve selection of fresh bread, so it's an interesting thing to have and  you get as much or little bread of your Choice. Daniel had the sirloin steak with cafe de Paris butter, fries and veggies. It was a very good cut of steak and it wasn't cooked how he  asked but it was still nice, the chips were cooked to perfection and the best we've ever had! I had the dish, which I will describe as I can't remember the Swiss-German name for it, it was pasta with potatoes and a cream sauce with onions. And also apple sauce. Sounds different! So I tried it! It was filling and nice, though I'm not a fan of the overpowering smell and taste of Swiss cheese. For me the highlight was the delicious apple sauce! To add to the good service when we asked for the bill It was brought straight to us and taken care of straight away! A nice change. Still expensive but that's what you get in Switzerland! 

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    90
    53
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Location excelent food and service not very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We went to have the out of the season fondue with some friends and were not impressed. We asked for a large beer got a small one and never got the other the waitress promissed. Charcuterie is good but same as in the market. In esscence i would go for a drink and perhaps an appetizer? Lucerne is not a gourmet spot but a spot in the road for many trips as it is jus beautiful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Food is below average. Nice location so that's too bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

This was the worst German/Swiss food that we had on our trip. It was expensive also. The waitress couldn't speak any English and actually looked annoyed when we asked questions about the wine list and menu. (Every place we have been to the waitstaff speaks English.) She kept bumping into me as she squeezed in to serve the table next to us who by the way asked questions and got the same baffled looks!! Bad place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“great location, okay food, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Ate here recently - we were lucky to get a table, one had just been vacated as we arrived. Very busy in the restaurant and outside, the waiter said it is always like this in the summer season. We had 3 glasses of wine, 2 main dishes, and a shared salad and the bill was 102.50CHF which included a 8% service charge. Just as well we don't eat out all the time is all I can say. The meal was okay but not super dooper. I'm sure if we had have looked for longer we would have found something which offered better value, but it is Switzerland. Service was very prompt, and the bread which you help yourself to, was fabulous.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Fabulous location with photo ops everywhere. Overpriced but most all is in Lucerne. The forelle which is trout I believe was unbelievable. Service was slow but we didnt care. Would suggest a reservation.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zunfthausrestaurant Pfistern also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Zunfthausrestaurant Pfistern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zunfthausrestaurant Pfistern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.