We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ibis budget Luzern City

Save Saved
You added Hotel ibis budget Luzern City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Luzern City
Kellersstrasse 4/6/8, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #34 of 63 hotels in Lucerne
Write a Review

865 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    392
    279
    56
    34
See reviews for
246
402
44
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Room :
Small room and small bath room.

Check-in Reception
The Hotel reception personnel are good and helpfull.
There is no kettle in the room.

Location
In term of location, quite a distance to city center. 15 minutes walk to Lucern Old town and Chapel Bridge. Parking is not free, parked indoor cost CHF 12.00.

Conclusion
Value for money as this is the cheapest hotel I could get in Lucern City. Small room but is fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your honest comment about your stay with us. Its always really helpful to receive feedback of our guests. All the ibis budget hotels are having the similar, modern but compact design. The rooms are specially designed for travelers who don’t want to spend much money on luxury hotels, which would certainly offer more spacious rooms, but rather are looking for a clean and safe place to spend a night. We thank you for staying with us, and hope you will travel back to Lucerne once again. best regards, Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallarate, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It's the cheapest decent hotel I can find in Lucerne and it's just a 15 mins slow walk to the Chapel Bridge and Old Town. Service staff were polite and room was clean. Their parking was also available at a reasonable rate at 8 CHF for outdoors parking or 12 CHF for indoor parking. WIFI was good too. It's definitely value for money!

However, the toilet and shower doors have no locks (toilet and shower area are separate). There's a hole in the toilet door (you can see through it) which acts as the 'door knob' for you to pull the door. As for the glass shower door, the glass has horizontal strips of opaque and transparent parts. The door is also not tight, there are gaps on top and at the bottom, water splashes out when we bath and there's no floor mat given. A floor mat would have solved the problem of the wet room floor after bathing. It might be inconvenient for friends or family travelling together as there's not much privacy because of the design of these doors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our Ibis Budget Luzern. As you may have recognized, we are a low budget hotel, and offer modern but compact rooms, which provide a basic standard equipment. The Ibis budget standard rooms are specially designed for travelers who don’t want to spend much money on spacious rooms with lots of luxury items, but rather to spend a night in a safe and clean room. We still hope you enjoyed your stay and you will once come back to Lucerne ! Best regards, Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good value for the money. Comfortable bed. Small bathroom. Decent size work space. 10 minute walk to train station, so a convenient location. Train station shopping center open even on Sundays, so never far from supplies.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your honest comment about your stay with us. Its always really helpful to receive feedback of our guests, as we strive to keep up and improve our services and quality standards. We thank you for staying with us, and hope you will travel back to Lucerne once again. best regards, Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Was our choice for a night's stay in Lucerne.

Pros: (1) Great location. With no or light luggage, its an easy 10 minute walk from the main train station, Chapel Bridge and Ferry.
(2) Great staff who speak english
(3) Very clean and comfortable beds
(4) Cheap considering its Lucerne (where taxi fares are astronomical!)

Cons: (1) With big luggage(s) there hardly ANY room to move - the rooms are tiny (but that's expected)

Overall, its a good deal for a night's stay and if you are looking for a place to sleep. Would not choose if had to stay for more than one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your honest comment about your stay with us. Its always really helpful to receive feedback of our guests, as we strive to keep up and improve our services and quality standards. We thank you for staying with us, and hope you will travel back to Lucerne once again. best regards, Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Luzern City

Address: Kellersstrasse 4/6/8, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ibis budget Luzern City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.