We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue
Schlossweg 1, Lucerne 6010, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Lucerne B&B and Inns
Chennai
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

This is a piece of paradise on the Pilatus hill.

My package included round trip tickets to the hill top on a funicular rail and two cable cars, dinner and breakfast. The dinner was amazing and the Swiss Cheese Fondue on a candlelight dinner with my loved one for my honeymoon was a dream come true for me!

The staff were very helpful right from the time of my inquiry and we willing to answer all my questions regarding this unusual place.

The hotel by itself is awesome. It is round, so the views are panaromic. I woke up early morning to catch the sunrise and what a sunrise it was!!!!!! With mountains and a lake below, the wonderful colors before sunrise and the rise itself right outside my window was amazing.

The restaurant was decent. The swiss fondue, the soups, salads and the desserts were amazing. The fish was very badly done, but one bad dish did not ruin my dinner as the pre dinner snacks kind of filled our stomachs anyway!

I am not sure I would stay here again, for the only reason that there is nothing much to do here. This is a place that I would stay once in my lifetime, just for the experience and leave it at that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We booked the special deal from the Pilatus website, which included the Pilatus-bahn funicular and cable car tickets, a room in the Bellevue, and a choice of six set menus.

The location really can't be beaten in the area for the amazing view, the only disadvantage being that we felt a little bit cut off from the world as once Pilatus Bahn stops at around 6pm you are very restricted in what you can do - no popping into town! Then again, you know this when you book and prepare for it and there are some nice walks available to keep you occupied. You come here for the natural beauty and the experience, not the nightlife!

There are some nice walks at the top - there are the advertised routes up the Esel (the peak which looks the highest from Lucerne) and the Tomlishorn (actually the highest, but tucked slightly further back) We instead walked partway DOWN one of the main routes to the top from Alpnachstad, just down to the next plateau. A slightly different but still very impressive view was had from here, and the natural peaceful sound of the bells of the nearby cows grazing. Also once the cable car and funicular stop, the only people left are the hotel guests, so you have the whole area to yourself, which feels very privileged!

Pilatus Kulm is reached from two different directions. From Alpnachstad (which can in turn be reached from Lucerne by train or boat) by the steepest cog-wheel railway in the world (49% gradient) or from Kriens (reached from Lucerne by bus number 1 to Linde) by gondola and cable car. Both are exciting journeys with amazing views! En route, at Frackmunt, there is also an all-season luge/toboggan run, and a rope park.

The hotel itself is clean, but I did expect slightly more luxurious rooms. We had a very comfortable bed, and an amazing view down to Luzern. From the bed, looking out of the window, it felt like you were in a floating room - all you could see were the clouds below, and stretching off to the horizon! The TV in the room was a tiny old 14 inch TV mounted in the top corner of the room, difficult to see, and very old fashioned. There also wasn't a book explaining things like how to call reception, what time breakfast was, and so on.

The food in the restaurant was gorgeous, and the restaurant itself is quaintly decorated. The included breakfast buffet also had lots of choice.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, and were happy to send our luggage back to the base station for us so that we could walk down one of the designated walking routes without having to worry about our luggage.

Small issues aside, I think this is an experience not to be missed, perfect for that special surprise treat for your partner!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This place is amazing! As the previous review stated, the whole trip - journey up there and night was truely spectatular! We went up from Kriens by cable car and stopped half way up for luch and taboggan ride. There are also plenty of walks and and climbing frame/zip wire, ropes course up there amonst the pastures of switzerland and the cow bells in the background. We then headed on up to the top via gondola and were amazed at the view all around. There are plenty of 10min - 40min walks up there, one which is called the Rock Gallery were you walk through a passageway at the edge of the mountain with lots of holes to look through down towards Lucerne. All safe for the little ones.

There are 2 hotels up there - Hotel Pilatus Kulm and Hotel Bellevue. We opted for the Bellevue because it is ensuite. Rooms were very spacious and clean. The views of sunset were unreal. Breakfast was included which was very well stocked, it is buffet style overlooking the alps. We happened to be up there on the 1st - Swiss National Day so we had a lot of music and traditional food and torches lighting up outside. The views down to Lucerne with all the fireworks was amazing. Next morning we headed back to Alpnachstad via the cogwheel - what an experience! Do it!

If you are a bit nervous of cable cars you'll be fine. I'm not a great lover of the things but I managed it fine. We will defintely return to Mount Pilatus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Mt. Pilatus with Bellevue Hotel was the highlight of our family two week trip in early June to southern Europe. After staying one night in Luzern NH, we arrived early to Kriens, where you park your car and start the ascent with panorama gondolas. On the way up, we stopped for the great fun with toboggan run.
The final part of the ascent with aerial cableway is just magnificent. We checked in to our family room (two interconnecting rooms), and got just about speechless - what a vista to Luzern!
After high-altitude hot dogs, we conquered two peaks, one marked as easy, one as medium. We felt that the routes were safe for the kids, too (6 & 13).
The whole place got really peaceful after the last descent at 17:15 - there were only us four and four other hotel guests. Beside the ascent/descent, room and breakfast, the package included also a delicious dinner with five courses. The restaurant is in the 1st floor, and the view was as great as in our room.
Next morning the weather was cloudy, so the view was very limited for a while. We took the cogwheel train down to Alpnachstad, where we took the train to Luzern and then a bus back to Kriens, where we had our car and also our luggage delivered by the hotel.
Bellevue hotel treated us so good - I warmly recommend this package to anyone visiting Switzerland near Luzern or Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Schlossweg 1, Lucerne 6010, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.