We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some nights in Lucerne” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Lodge Lucerne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lion Lodge Lucerne to your Saves list
Lion Lodge Lucerne
Zurichstrasse 57, Lucerne 6000, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Tata, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some nights in Lucerne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Please choose this hostel , if you would like spend one or two night here.One advantage that the center is near.If arrive you by car , you have to book a "parking area"
The kitchen isn't very clean.You can use the wifi only the common areas. There is one shower every floor, so you may have to wait for good shower.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. We are working very hard keeping the hostel clean so it is disappointing you thought otherwise. Maybe you just reached the kitchen after another guest left it in a mess.Thanks for coming to stay with us. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    19
    16
    10
See reviews for
6
23
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

terrible hostel. i've stayed 6 nights in a 4dorm. it was a nightmare from start to end. my mat had bed bugs! one night their alarm went on all night. this place has nobody on duty at night, so there was nothing to be done. on the friday night, a group of drunken swiss made a mess all night. screaming in the halls, slamming doors, behaving unrespectful of all other people sleeping (well, trying to). customer behaviour it's not the fault of the hostel, but i noticed the group already at check in cause they were clearly intoxicated and dangerous bunch. and they checked them in just the same! again, there's no hostel staff on site at night. located on a very noisy main road, with heavy traffic day and night. this is a terrible place. manager is a very rude person ever. would not accept my complaints for bed bugs, alarm noise and mess. worst place ever!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take their poor rating und complaints against as such, in respect, that you have been our guest. What we don't understand, keept staying for 6 nights on this disgusting place!!!
We have been informed neither by you or other guests, that there are bed bugs in our hostel.
Our expert controls gave no indications for it.
Finally a poetry along the way: where elephants fight, the grass has the shadow.
Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. It's loud, expensive, not very clean, and they nickel and dime you for everything. I stayed here last minute and there weren't a lot of accommodations available. The location is pretty good I'll give them that. I would only stay here if you are young and don't care about noise/cleanliness as much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Google Translation
Herzlichen Dank, für die Mühe die Sie sich genommen haben, um eine Bewertung zu schreiben. Die Anliegen unserer Gäste sind uns sehr wichtig, und darum möchten wir uns für die ungenügende Sauberkeit und Lärm in aller Form entschuldigen. Unsere Crew arbeitet sehr hart, um ein sauberes, gepflegtes Hostel wiederzugeben, und wir setzen alles daran diese Mängel zu beheben. Aus Ihrem Kommentar können wir nicht entnehmen, ob die störenden Lärmemissionen von der Strasse oder Gästen im Haus kam. So können wir Ihnen leider nicht abschliessend antworten.Wir hoffen, Sie hatten trotzdem einen angenehmen Aufenthalt, und es würde uns freuen, Sie beim nächsten Aufenthalt in Luzern, wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
Beste Grüsse, „das Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Put simply, just don't stay here if you can avoid it! Yes it's cheap for Switzerland but boy do you get what you pay for! The whole place is shabby, run down and has no real facilities not even an iron....we got robbed through the night mobiles and cash stolen which apparently doesnt happen in Lucerne (clearly it does) and the building is located right on the main road so you won't get any sleep from the road noise. Pay that bit extra and get a 2* hotel instead

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations.
We apologize in all form for the inconvenience. Please note that you have chosen your accommodation in a hostel with simple furnishings and without luxury for a price from 33.90 in shared rooms. Sorry to hear that you have been robbed, what you can not relate to our house it can happen to you anywhre. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in a four bed dorm. Location is excellent, 5 mins walk into city and to lake, shops close by for food, tourist sites near by as well.

Shops might be close by ... but don't expect to get into the kitchen easily, is very small for the hostel and often one or two cooking large meals and in their for ages, very hard to get into need to be bigger.

Wi fi is free but signal is only in downstairs / lobby area and lounge (not many power points down there either). So no wi-fi in your room.

Balconies are nice to have particularly with the weather which was lovely ... except every time we sat out there someone would come out to smoke ... they are ALL designated smoking areas, not nice when you want to sit and have brekkie or a meal ... esp for non smokers!

Room okay but stuffy with window closed and with window open the road noise through the night is horrific ... dorm next to us were sleeping with their room door open (the one into the corridor instead).

Bedding okay (used own sleeping liner). Only one main light in room ... so when room mates come in and out through the night wasn't nice ... but that depends on your roommates I suppose (we usually use torches if someone is sleeping in the room we are staying in!

One bathroom / one shower / one toilet to a floor ... thats one for the males and one for the females ... we had no trouble with this and always seemed to get in when needed toilet and for shower ... first shower was in the dark as the light wasn't working for the day ... average showing facilities / normal cleanliness for a hostel. No area to change in really shower had a curtain and once you open that you are in front of who ever is standing at the sink .. step out and you are in front of the corridor (door to the corridor constantly left open even if you close it someone else seemed always to come in and leave it open ... again didn't really matter, wrapped towel on and ducked across to room to change etc.

Overall an okay place to stay. Not extremely social but polite.

Room Tip: no pool or fitness center! ask for a room away from the main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Lion Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took to fill out a review. We apologize when not all live up to your expectations.
Hope the rest of your travels went well. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The whole hostel was a chaos, bad smell in all floors, the bathroom had the shower BROKEN! The staff is pathetic, completely unhelpful and the girl in reception even made our trip worst because of the wrong information she gave us. Run away of this hostel, you will not regret, even for the price. I will never come back to this [--]

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take their poor rating und complaints against as such, in respect, that you have been our guest. We work hard to keep our HOSTEL in a clean and tidy condition and make your stay as pleasant as possible. Sorry that you have made such a bad experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great location but lacked decent facilities. One bathroom (toilet/shower) per level for approx 40 people. Was not fun trying to get a shower in. Kitchen is very small and again same problem as of course Switerland is expensive so cooking makes things cheaper. Would stay again in off season only because it's right in heart of CBD.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was cozy;-)).
We hope you come see us next time you are in Lucerne.
Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lion Lodge Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Lodge Lucerne

Address: Zurichstrasse 57, Lucerne 6000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Lodge is right in the centre of Lucerne within walking distance from the train station and main attractions like the nearby Lion Monument. The historic part of town, the famous Chapel Bridge, supermarkets and restaurants are just minutes away.You have a choice between two bed rooms, 4 bed dormitories and a 6 bed dorm with common bathrooms and showers.The hostel also has a self catering kitchen, cozy verandas, a large common area with books and games.We offer economic prices for a comfortable stay. Just perfect for ++CITY HOPPERS++ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Lion Lodge Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Lodge Lucerne Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Lodge Lucerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.