We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night sleep you will ever have!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Lodge Lucerne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lion Lodge Lucerne to your Saves list
Lion Lodge Lucerne
Zurichstrasse 57, Lucerne 6000, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worst night sleep you will ever have!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel/ hostel is very cheap and only about 2 minutes walk to the city but everything else is bad.

Check in is from 4pm onwards and not a minute sooner, you have to pay 5 CHF to rent a towel and get you get a bond of like 2-3 CHF back when you check out and 10 CHF as a bond for the room key.

The rooms are pretty average, we had a twin room with our own balcony facing away from the street so that we thought we wouldn't have to worry about the noise but we were wrong. Managed to get about 3 hours sleep that night, the walls are paper thin and when people are talking in the hallway it sounds as if they are right next to your door, also when someone shuts a door,it slams and echoes through the whole floor.

There are two bathrooms in on each floor, one male and one female each with a shower cubicle and a toilet....There must be about 10-15 people on the floor so not really adequate facilities for everyone although we never had any problems when we were there.

Unfortunately we booked this hotel last minute so we had no choice but next time we would not come back here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. Thanks for coming to stay with us. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    24
    18
    10
See reviews for
6
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The location of the hotel is very nice which is near the Lion Monument and also the price is very reasonable, but the service provided is very poor. However i can recommend this place for bachelors without any problem.

Room Tip: Rooms are not suitable for family people as most of the rooms are dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Lion Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took to fill out a review. Hope to see you next time you are in Lucerne ;-)) Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I stayed there for two nights in Lucerne and my summary of the place was that everything was just "passable". The location was not too bad (but not ideal), it was beside the lion monument and was 15 mins walk to the old town.

We booked a 4-bed dorm with shared facilities and had the room to ourselves for the first night. No complains about the room, it was spacious enough for four person and had a small little balcony for some fresh air. However, our room was located by the main street and it gets really noisy at night with the cars zooming by from time to time.

The toilets were all well-kept BUT there was only 2 (1 male & 1 female) shower cubicle that was to be shared among the entire floor (at least 10-15 people per floor). So do your maths and you have 7 to one cubicle. Not a very good ratio. The staff was very friendly when checking us in but the problem lies in that the doors of the reception is always close. So to have any contact with the staff, you gotta ring the bell and wait for someone to come. To me, not really giving out the welcoming signals.

The kitchen was really small but had all the necessary amenities. All in all, a less than average hostel, definitely livable but not even close to being top notch.

Room Tip: If posible, ask for rooms facing away the main rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up all your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took to fill out a review. Hope to see you next time you are in Lucerne ;-)) Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My goodness this place gave me the creeps. But hey, the hostel's location is very near the Dying Lion Monument, and the main train station.

The manager of Lion Lodge didn't impress me much with his "mannerisms."

I had to pay five swiss francs to RENT a bath towel.

The shower stall (down the hall) was not big enough for an adult to bend over and wash one's own feet.

But hey, the hostel's location is very near the Dying Lion Monument and the main train station.

There was no soap holder in the shower. Though I did see a large mosquito buzzing around inside the stall.

The bed sheet I was given was a perfect size for a small child - not for me.

The pillowcase was already on the pillow. I covered it with a bit of the tiny bed sheet. Scary stuff.

The Swiss lady who worked the morning shifts was super nice to me, and she laughed at all my jokes - jokes about my having to pay 5 swiss francs to rent a bath towel.

Seriously.

The bed I slept on, well what can I say.. just only that I was too afraid to look underneath it at knight. Or during the daylight hours.

But hey, whatever.

I would recommend this place to anyone only because of its prime location near the Dying Lion Monument.

I gave 2 high mark ratings only because the young day clerk lady had an awesome thick Swiss accent, and she laughed at my jokes(?)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up all your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. Thanks fo your stay and appreciate the time you took to fill out a review. Hope to see you next time you are in Lucerne ;-)) Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The rooms are ok but the bathrooom is too small.it has only one female shower and toalet per floor.The rooms are turn to the street so you can not open the window as it is very very very noisy.Center of the city is very near.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. Thanks for coming to stay with us. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

The owner is an Indian gentleman. The location is good, only a few minutes walk to the central station, the price OK , a little high. I just was left with impression that everything was done to get the most money from the client for the least provided, so i am not at all surpriswed by reviews of dirty pillow cases etc.
I personally did not experience that but i just remeber it being stingy profit led sort of place, nothing wrong that apart from the fact the Lion Lodge provided as little as possible except the physical location so close to centre and the Lucerne Lion.
I would only consider this place if you are only looking for a central place

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. Thanks for coming to stay with us. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GURGAON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Having booked this place on the net after seeing the pics, we were looking forward to a nice cosy room with 4 bunk beds. What we got was a plain boring looking room with nothing at all - no cupboards nothing - just 4 basic bunk beds...it terribly dull and almost scary. Dont go by the pics posted on their website...the actual room isnt half as good.
The reception manager/owner is unfriendly and unhelpful. The lights in the corridor dont work and the loos are bad too. There are no loos attached to your bedroom and shared loos are not too clean and have very dull lights. In a nutshell the place is unpleasant and not what it promises.

The only good thing is the location. Just a ten min walk from the main train station. They are located right next door to an Indian Restaurant so maybe not a bad option for non fussy Indian travelers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest. Thanks for choosing to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was perfect! Hope to see you next time you are in Lucerne ;-))
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lion Lodge Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Lodge Lucerne

Address: Zurichstrasse 57, Lucerne 6000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Lodge is right in the centre of Lucerne within walking distance from the train station and main attractions like the nearby Lion Monument. The historic part of town, the famous Chapel Bridge, supermarkets and restaurants are just minutes away.You have a choice between two bed rooms, 4 bed dormitories and a 6 bed dorm with common bathrooms and showers.The hostel also has a self catering kitchen, cozy verandas, a large common area with books and games.We offer economic prices for a comfortable stay. Just perfect for ++CITY HOPPERS++ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Lion Lodge Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Lodge Lucerne Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Lodge Lucerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.