We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Pickwick Pub

Mr. Pickwick Pub
Rathausquai 6 | 6004, Lucerne, Switzerland (Formerly Mr. Pickwick's)
+41 41 410 59 27
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 277 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Hamburgers, British, Gastropub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the, "place where people meet" and the, "oldest pub in town". Two great reasons to visit us! We offer great quality pub food, English & Irish beers on tap and much more! Our staff strive to offer an authentic pub atmosphere to ensure our guests feels at home.The pub (above the pub is the Hotel Pickwick) is located on the banks of the river Reuss overlooking the famous wooden chapel bridge and Mt. Pilatus. The pub really is a room with a view!Hope to see you soon.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Became our fav hangout in just 1 day! Bartenders Andrew and Hannah were great, down to earth people. Sitting at the bar is key, you have to go to the bar to order anything anyway and they will keep your glasses full while getting to know you and sharing about their experiences being British living in Switzerland. Not the cheapest, but a great place to feel at home even when you're not.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    52
    27
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Another crowded bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It's just another crowded bar along the river in Luzern. Nothing special, perhaps one or two UK beers (Boddingtons, Guiness?)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH AFRICA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If down to honesty ............. this restaurant is excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After a long day of walking we went to eat at Pickwick's. EVERYTHING in Lucerne is expensive ... we paid approx Euro10 for a plate of onion rings!! The food was nice but my sister left her handbag with lots of Euros in it, in the restaurant.
We went to the restaurant the next morning and the handbag was handed in by the staff. A HUGE thank you to the staff for being so honest - it is so appreciated to know there are still people who care.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint John, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very expensive pub food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped in here for an alternative to german food and were very disappointed. First, it was very expensive for pub food...chicken fingers or a burger with fries for 22 euros! Especially since you order at the counter. Second, it wasn't very good. The burger looked good, but didn't taste that way. The chicken fingers were very overcooked and almost hard to eat.

The only plus is the location (center of Lucerne and on the waterfront by the bridge) and the atmosphere (we were there with a lively crowd watching a soccer game). I'd go back for a beer or two, but not for a meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Best burger I have had in a long time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

It was pouring rain in Lucerne and we were nearby the river. Not wanting to eat another schnitzel, we wanted some pub grub. This was the place. Portions are very large (be warned as we over-ordered), there is a variety of beer on tap (and you can get special drinks like a snakebite, lager and lime, etc.). It is an 'English Pub' - so you order at the bar and it is very casual. You can watch sports on their TV, play the slots if you choose and relax into the tables as you wait out the rain. The prices are high, but this is Switzerland where prices are higher. I ordered their basic burger and it was delicious. My husband the club sandwich and he enjoyed that as well. The menu is basic, so if you want burgers and pub grub - this is a good alternative.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Pickwick Pub also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Mr. Pickwick Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Pickwick Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.