We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern to your Saves list
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schweizerhofquai, Lucerne 6002 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I simply love this place! The staff are friendly (most of the time) . The food is very nice and the atmosphere is good. Nice selection of drinks and cocktails at the bar!
Great view overlooking Lake Lucerne!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    18
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
65
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Schweizerhof Luzern has done everything right! They have kept the beautiful mid-19th century reception and dining rooms, but up-dated the guest rooms to the best 21st century style. Our very large corner room on the 4th floor and had an unobstructed view of the lake and Alps from two floor to ceiling windows with Juliette balconies. The decor was beautiful. The bathroom was huge and had every amenity. The closets had built in storage.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and very good. Service was excellent. I think the Schweizerhof Luzern was the most beautiful hotel we've ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many very lovely ones.

The location of the hotel cannot be beaten. it is easy walking distance to everything.

We cannot recommend it too highly!

Room Tip: A top floor corner room gives fabulous lake and Alps views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So this was our first time to Lucerne, and I must say what a beautiful city! Amazing scenery, beautiful old town and the Schweizerhof is a fantastic hotel. Service was exemplary, they really took good care of us and we felt right at home! And very well situated. We had a meal on the terrace and it was great, the Wienerschnitzel was fantastic! We really enjoyed the town, and when we visit again we will stay in the same hotel! We also had a blast with my 4 year old son at the Transportation museum, must do if coming to Lucerne!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We originally booked and went in to the Radisson Blu, but once we were in the room we had to leave: it was very modern and we did not like it. We walked over to the Schweizerhof and were greeted by a friendly staff. We booked for 4 nights and loved everything about the Hotel. This was our first visit to Lake Luzern but our 5th European vacation over the past 7 years. Everything about this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyngsboro,MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in during our travels.Very lovely room, comfortable !!! Breakfast is fabulous!!! Great location right on the lake and within walking distance of old town, the wooden bridges and many restaurants

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Schweizerhof is located on Lake Luzern in easy walking distance to the Old Town. Accommodations are very nice and the staff is pleasant and helpful. A added surprise is a room with a lake view. Our stay was booked as part of a Viking River cruise. Prices may be steep, as they are for anything in Switzerland; but I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Schweitzerhof before a cruise. It was the perfect way to start the trip. A beautiful hotel with wonderful staff, a beautiful room with views of the lake and mountains. We found it easy to find our way around, lots of restuarants and bars, shopping and museums all within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSLLuzern, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest! …. and it is a wonderful way to start the 1 May, in many countries a labor-related holiday. We love to serve our guests and to make the difference in our services. Our team is very motivated to continue this way, especially when we read your lines.

Thank you! Clemens Hunziker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern

Address: Schweizerhofquai, Lucerne 6002 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empathy & Excellence at Lucerne's Festival Hotel: Situated near the Old Town and directly on the shore of Lake Lucerne, the Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern is only stepy away from all major points of interest, the KKL, severing shopping facilities and the railway station. The house, since 1861 owned by the family Hauser, offers a spectacular view over the lake and the Swiss Alps. Since 2013 and 2014 we are welcoming you with new rooms and suitss where the Schweizerhof-history comes alive. However, the new design of these rooms is only part of the overall concept: every single guest rooms also tells a story about the visits of famous people such as writers, musicians or actors to the Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern. The 2 restaurants 'Pavillon' and 'Galerie' make for culinary highlights, the trendy Schweizerhof Bar delights hotel guests as well as local pedestrians with daily live music. 9 Different function rooms, concierge service, parking garage, fitness-corner, business-corner and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.