We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schlussel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schlussel to your Saves list
Hotel Schlussel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Franziskanerplatz 12, Lucerne 6003 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Tiny hotel, 30 meters from the river, right on a quiet square. The staff was very friendly and helpful, including finding information for us on the music festival going on. The room was clean and fairly roomy, with a comfy bed and a small veranda looking over the square - we sat every morning with our first coffee, looking at the people going by.
The location was great - not in the old city, but right on the other side of the river, so that we were a 5 minute walk from everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Really bad room! First the room was dirty, hairs on bath floor, mold in the shower, stains on sheets and walls, and carpet. Very low ceiling at most 6.5 feet! Only one small window. Bar downstairs was really really loud until 2am on weeknight! Bright Lights from parking garage were so bright even through drapes! Night stands ready to break at any minuet! Really needs an update! With that's said, the staff was great and very friendly! They brought us fans and even an adapter for our phone. When we told them we did not want to stay the second night they were quick to refund us! We found a much much nicer Hotel in the city for just about 20 dollars more

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surat, gujarat, india
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed as tourist and it is perfect hotel as station and lake are walking distant. moreover, it was very clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. The only setback in this hotel was there was no safe deposit box and hair dryer. toileteries was very basic. Otherwise a good experience.

Room Tip: My room was 201, facing parking facilities. So if yo are light sleeper than avoid rooms facing that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Considering the price of most hotels in Lucerne - this place it a BARGIN. Don't expect the Ritz and you will be gladly surprised. The room we stayed in overlooked a small plaza and was quite big. The hotel is in a great spot (not too far away from everything). Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here for business last month and found the hotel excellent in every term. Rooms were wonderful, food was fantastic and services were excellent. Great hospitality and friendly staff at this place impressed me a lot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a basic, budget hotel (by Swiss standards). If you are just looking for a place to crash at night without breaking the bank then look no further. Wouldn't take much to make the rooms nicer, the furniture is a bit 80's but it's clean, staff are helpfull and the location is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It is a small hotel in a beautiful old building from outside, in a nice quiet courtyard next to the chapel, a 3 minute walk from the old town (bridge Kapellbrücke‎). Very convenient location. Public car parking (24 Fr/day) on the next street. Unfortunately, it is all advantages of hotel.
Inside the hotel, there is no historic charm atmosphere we wanted to see. Simple decoration with old furniture and low ceilings, not cozy. I can't say that reception was welcoming and hospitable, just average. Breakfast wasn't prepared, as none of the guests ordered it in advance.
If I'll go to visit Luzern again, I would choose better hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schlussel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlussel

Address: Franziskanerplatz 12, Lucerne 6003 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Schlussel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Schlussel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlussel Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schlussel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.