We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Einhorn - Pizzeria da Tommaso

Restaurant Einhorn - Pizzeria da Tommaso
Hertensteinstrasse 23 | das bild hat mit unsere Restaurant nicht zu tun wir sind keine selbstbedinung restaurant aber eine Spezialitaeten Restaurant bitte das bild zum entfernen. Bestem Dank, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
0414101106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 265 restaurants in Lucerne
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Convenient and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were staying in a hotel very close to Pizzeria da Tommaso and because rain was threatening we wanted somewhere nearby.
Restaurant Einhorn seems to be the restaurant upstairs and Pizzeria da Tommaso the more casual place downstairs. They share a website.

i ordered a large (1Litre) bottle of San Pellegrino mineral water. The waitress brought 2 0.5l bottles to the table. Apparently they had run out of 1l bottles. Nevertheless we were charged the price for the 2 smaller bottles instead of the 1l; not a big price difference but nevertheless annoying and in my opinion, not the right thing to do.

The pizza was very good, service quick and friendly. My dad had the Kalbnaturschnitzel with steinpilz sauce (veal with porcini mushroom sauce). IT was DELICIOUS and I regretted not ordering it; you would also insist that they serve you bread so you can mop up the sauce - table manners be damned!
Pizzeria da Tommaso is in the walking street but still a pleasant place for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    7
    16
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“very good pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we arrived late on a Saturday night - around 10PM with no Reservation. Place was packed, but we managed to get a table for 2. We didnt have any pizza's but the Pasta dish was excellent. Tuna salad also very good. Massive Portion size. 1 Pasta dish, 1 main tuna salad, 4 Drinks total 72CHF. Not expensive for Switzerland....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, NZ
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Stuck in the back room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived, and there were no free tables outside or in the front area so went got sent into the back room. Maybe I should just be grateful that we got service straight away, but it really lacked any atmosphere.

The food was great, (I really recommend the salmon risotto), wine was awesome and our waiter very attentive. verall it was a nice meal, a little expensive (but hey, it is Lucerne - quite possibly the most beautiful city I've ever visited)

Overall a nice meal, but lacking any atmosphere

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
“Good food in a quiet corner of the old town in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance after deciding NOT to stay at the Stadtkeller where we had reserved a table for dinner.

This turned out to be a good choice – a quiet sheltered corner in the old town, with friendly welcome and service and a varied menu including pasta and pizza dishes as well as a few typical Swiss meat dishes. There was an English language menu and staff spoke some English. The food was well cooked and presented and tasted good.

Cost for one spaghetti bolognaise and one pizza, with a glass of beer and a large glass of wine was 55 swiss francs. OK restaurant prices are high in Switzerland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food, service average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the spaghetti with salmon slices in cream sauce and penne pasta with eggplant and garlic in tomato sauce, as well as a minestrone soup.

The food was cooked well, very good. The food was expensive, but so are other restaurants in Switzerland, but it was worth it.

We just found the server a bit discriminating. The table next to us was given a set menu, while we weren't -- if we didn't see the table next to us and didn't ask for one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Einhorn - Pizzeria da Tommaso also viewed

 
Lucerne, Switzerland
 

Been to Restaurant Einhorn - Pizzeria da Tommaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Einhorn - Pizzeria da Tommaso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.