We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Swiss food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taube Restaurant

Taube Restaurant
Burgerstrasse 3, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
0412 100 747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 277 Restaurants in Lucerne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Swiss food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I enjoyed the food at Taube very much. It was crowded and we didn't have a reservation. No one greeted us when we walked in and we had to finally snag someone who worked there and ask if we could get a table, even though the bartender was only a few feet away. It also seemed like the service was standard Swiss- courteous and efficient but not friendly, but then again I don't speak German so maybe that was part of it.
The food was very good, though, and if you are looking for authentic Swiss then definitely give it a try!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    73
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beware about the service charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

The food last evening was average. Big salad and the sausage was a monster. However, the credit card machine requests a tip. Unsuspecting clients might not be aware that it is included already in the bill and may tip twice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellence beside the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent place just beside the river. we had a wonderful view to the old town and the "kappelbrücke". the food is very Swiss and tasty and the menu is writren in Swiss german (funny :-)), of course, translated in english too! I recommend to visit this place when you're in Lucerne!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good traditional Swiss food such as roesti or veal and sauce with noodles. I would need to hike or ski a lot if I ate this way every day!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very nice interior, yummy swiss food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a lovely place if you wanna try some traditional Swiss food. We had rösti and meatloaf, both were delicious ! The restaurant's interior is very nice too !

It is a 5-10min walk from the station.

The staff was very polite and smiling. We got there quite late, just after 10pm and they still served us food, although many other restaurants already closed their kitchen at that time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taube Restaurant also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Taube Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taube Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.