We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel... Breathtaking Location :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Hostatt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Garni Hostatt to your Saves list
Hotel Garni Hostatt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schweizerhausstrasse 22, Engelberg CH-6390, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel... Breathtaking Location :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband & I stayed here in February 2012, when we first arrived at the train station in Engelberg we took a bus which stopped about a 3 minute walk from the hotel, you could also take a taxi right to the hotel if you have a lot of luggage to carry etc. The hotel is apx a 10 – 15 minute walk from the town centre or you can also get a bus from the bus stop which would take about 5 minutes depending on where it stops. The hotel’s surroundings are beautiful and just really breathtaking, a lot better than stating in the town I would say. The manager was so lovely and very helpful and kind, the room was clean & comfortable, we booked the standard double room & it has a safe, own bathroom with shower, double bed (or twin beds put together I believe but have a double sheet / blanket etc, TV with English channels, free wifi, cupboard with hangers, plenty of room for two people’s luggage etc. The breakfast buffet was amazing, fresh breads, croissants, spreads, fruit, yoghurts, coffee machine, teas, juices, cereals etc, I looked forward to it every morning !!

I just cant say how beautiful the view was from my room was it was so magical the snow and mountains, we sat there for minutes just looking out the window. We are very happy with this hotel, and would definitely stay there again, the price was reasonable & staff friendly, breakfast amazing !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Eliza, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We had an enjoyable four night stay at Hotel Garni Hostatt, for a winter ski holiday.

Our hostess, Suzanne, was welcoming and very helpful and kindly allowed early access to our room to deposit luggage and change for afternoon skiing.

We had a clean comfortable room with 2 comfortable beds. Reliable Internet access was available for a small fee.

There was a generous continental breakfast with a fantastic coffee machine.

There was a small kitchenette, with a couple of saucepans, a heating element and microwave for reheating food and to make tea and coffee.

Athough there is a free shuttle bus to town, the last bus was at 6 PM, before most restaurants in the town opened for an evening meal. Fortunately, there were 2 nearby restaurants, Gaushaus Helmut that served hearty homely food and Schweizehausstrasse Restaurant for fine dining in walking distance that were sufficient to avoid long cold walks.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Our stay in Engelberg was amazing thanks for the help from Susanne, from Hotel Garni Hostat. She made us very comfortable and presented all the options we had to enjoy the time we would be spending there.
The hotel itself is simple but very well mantained, very clean, comfortable. It is about ten minutes from downtown but it worths the walk.
The view from the large double room where I stayed with my wife and son was breathtaking and the amenities provide by the hotel were just enough. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

ill stayed in the garni hostatt last week with my parents,i must say very lovely and peacefull. its a great place to relax und unwind from your day to day stress.
very well run place the owners try to make the guest every wish come true.
really great to stay there,hope i will be back soon
thanks for all

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I are in the process of planning our vaccation to Switzerland for next summer and we came across this hotel, which seemed to have everything inorder. We contacted the hotel directly to give us a rate but later found a much better rate via booking.com and decided to book through this site. The site did not specify enough details regarding views etc so we called the hotel to see if all rooms a view and the receptionist, Sussanne, told us that if we book via this site we will not be given a good room and did not want to confirm if we will have a view or not when I kept insisting she told us that yes all rooms do have a view so I really do not see why she had such a problem with us booking via the site. She also commented that she can not guarrantee the room we will have when the site clearly stated 'large double room'. I was getting very frustrated as having my 1 year old child with us on the trip, one needs to ensure that everything will be inorder. We went ahead and booked via booking.com when shortly after we recieved an email directly from the hotel advising us that the rates are incorrect and thus the room we booked can not be booked at the rate we locked. I contacted bookings.com who were very helpful in this matter and they confirmed that the hotel did not want to give us the room at the advertised rate and that if we didnt like this then we should go else where, which infact we will. There are plenty of good hotels around central Switzerland so I suggest you do not look at booking your stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here for a long weekend of skiing in Engelberg. While it is a little out of the main part of the town, it is only a 10 minute walk and we found it no problem. There is a ski bus during the day, and because the ski stations have places to leave boots etc it was not an issue at all.
The hotel is rustic and charming, they do a lovely buffet breakfast with local produce. Our room was very nice, my only issue was the tiny shower room / toilet, it was extemely cramped and for the money I would have expected better.
Apart from that it was all very good. There is even a little kitchen you can store goods and purchase beer and wine for much cheaper than the bars.
The lady running the hotel is very helpful and I would certainly recommend this hotel..just check you have a room with a decent size bathroom!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed here as a weekend layover from a business trip to get in some skiing. The owners are very friendly, and the hotel was actually a bit bigger than I had expected. My room was very large, and included 3 single beds.

When we arrived, there was nobody around to check us in. The phone on the desk said to dial a number, and the person who answered didn't speak very good English (which is fine given that this is a german-speaking area). She was clearly on her cel phone, and rushed right over with her daughter to let us in to our rooms. We took care of payment once the owner returned.

The hotel is located in a residential area, and it's a bit of a walk into the center of town especially when it's bitterly cold out. We opted to drive back into town for dinner, and drive to the ski lift as well.

If I were to do it again, I'd probably choose a hotel closer to the center of town but then again I couldn't find any rooms there when I looked. I'm happy with Hotel Garni Hostatt as a place to sleep and enjoy a good breakfast in between ski days.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Hostatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Hostatt

Address: Schweizerhausstrasse 22, Engelberg CH-6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Engelberg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Hostatt 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Garni Hostatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Hostatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.