We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoheneck Revisited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hoheneck

Hotel Hoheneck
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hoheneck to your Saves list
Hotel Hoheneck
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 4, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Saltsjo-Duvnas, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hoheneck Revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had the opportunity to come back and visit the Hotel Hoheneck in Engelberg during a weekend of skiing in the pre-season 2013-2014.

Owners has invested slowly and carefully upgrading the hotel. Guest-rooms has got a considerably higher and smarter look and feel and last summer they obviously did a total makeover of the bar and the guest-lounge both now super smart and nice. The Hoheneck has the best after-ski in Engelberg.

I will never stay anywhere else, there is simply not a hotel in Engelberg where you will get the same value for your money. And to top it of, a great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room overlooking the main street or a room facing the monastery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

During our tour to the famous Mt Titlis, stayed here.The location of this hotel at Engelberg,the ski resort, is excellent against the back drop of the snow-clad Alps mountains.And the serene and scenic sorroundings in fact adds to the advantage of this hotel to attract more guests.Well, the interior of the Hotel is also quite appealing.The cleanliness of the Rooms are excellent.Beds are comfortable.Washrooms with handheld showers are very good.Staff are very friendly and cooperative.The windows of my room offered a beautiful poetic view of the outside environ with a Church and monastery in close proximity.

The food was really palatable and delicious.The hot beverages,like tea,coffee,milk and chocolate were really tantalising.They say the milk in this part of the world is the best and I realised it.And also I enjoyed my hot cuppa of chocolate.The Buffet breakfast was simply amazing.One nice thing which I observed at the Hotel is that they have a dedicated display PC terminal depicting the weather conditions realtime at top of Mt Titlis to enable guests to plan their trip to the top accordingly.

I recommend this Hotel to all those who visit Engelberg and Mt Titlis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I really loved the location, the hotel, infact everything about the hotel and Angelberg. :)
its such a Beautiful and Peaceful place. Really enjoyed my stay there. The Hotel Staff was very hospitable and caring. Do visit Angelberg and stay at Hotel Hoheneck! <3

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm just reviewing the bar - lovely little place, shared toilet with the hotel so very clean with lots of toilet paper!! A must for ladies!

It was very quiet most of the time when we were there but a live band played on the Saturday night and were amazing and certainly brought the crowd in. There was a very simple game in the corner - a tree stump that you had to hit nails in with a hammer!!! So simple but great fun for everyone. The most massive plus for me being an ex-smoker was this is a smoke-free zone so you don't go home stinking!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

had one of the best time of my life here... we traveled in group of 42people. they also have interconnected rooms . ours and our parents room where interconnected. the location of the hotel was great for me and my group. we use to go out in the night at around 10.30- 11pm in the night , they have night clubs all around them, realy nice ones. there is also a beautiful chruch in two mins distance . the food was great. we stayed from 27th oct 2012 to 30th octber 1202.
there is even a games room in the hotel , me and my group use to play games after our return from the late night walk, its free and the manager never showed any kind of objection to our playing. mount titilis is about 5mins distance from the hotel.
we found the surrounding to be quite safe for all the three nights we went out late in the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is the perfect hotel for skiers/snowboarders. We travelled as a party of 9 friends in our thirties. We often go away together and the hotel was exceptional in handling us. It's only an hour and a half flight from London and then one hour transfer, great for a sneaky ski weekend.

The booking process was easy. When I phoned and got through to Daniela, she spoke impeccable English (as did the others who work there), and was very efficient in describing the reasons this hotel would be suitable for our group. The excellent price was also a factor, yet mostly I just felt I was dealing with someone who would deal with our crew in a professional but friendly manner. To our group this is always really important.

Daniela and the hotel team are always extremely helpful and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble, and they often go above and beyond the call of duty to look after their guests. Petra makes sure your breakfast and bar experience is nothing but the best, there's a super range of quality food and drink, not the budget breakfast we have seen in so many other hotels, it really sets you up for a high energy day. We often enjoyed our coffee outside in the sun, and there happens to be a fantastic bakery right across the road for pre and post ski donuts, yum! :o)

The hotel has an excellent system to make your holiday hassle free. On booking, one person's credit card guarantee is taken but no deposit, so you don't have to fuss around trying to get deposit payments from your friends. A private transfer from the airport (only an hour) can be organised for you, and the cost added to your room bills. Once you arrive ski-passes can be issued at reception at the standard rate, and added to your room. So basically you just book it and pay at the end, the hotel will even split the bills equally if you prefer. I've never encountered a hotel that has made the logistics so simple, it's genius.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. I was in a 4 bed room (room 212). There was ample space, a balcony and two huge extra sinks with mirrors, as well as the sink, shower loo and bidet in the en-suite bathroom.

The hotel itself is very well appointed in the centre of town amongst all the bars and shops. The bonus is it's a stumble across the road to the ski-bus which takes you to Titlis or Brunny, the two main lifts. It was fine for the boarders to walk if we didn't fancy the bus, but the skiers would have struggled a little. Buses run regularly.

The owner Stefan and his family and team have put great effort in to the hotel's ambience. There are many well-thought out details which add to the friendly and fun atmosphere. All the guest areas are awesome, from the stylish and comfortable honesty lounge, to the casually friendly apres-ski bar with great live music. We spent a lot of time off the slopes in the hotel chatting with the locals, the bar was the best value in Engelberg and the drink flows freely.

There's a lovely private sauna which can be booked to iron out any aches and pains and boost the circulation. The whole place is just really well set up for people who expend loads of energy during the day.

But above all the reason we will be returning to this hotel is the friendly team who do their best every day to make sure you are having a great vacation. The fact it ticks the boxes for being close to Zurich, having 3km high world class ski-ing and great bars and shops is all secondary to how well you are looked after by this team of friends!

Room Tip: Room 212 is huge with plenty of facilities to host a family or group of 4 without having to wait for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelberg, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was our first visit in Engelberg and Hotel Hoheneck, we stayed there for one week, we really enjoyed our stay. Hotel Hoheneck is clean and has comfortable rooms. The lounge was a perfect meeting room after a day in the slopes if you don't like the live music in the bar. Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast room must be on of the most beautiful in the alps and they serve a perfect breakfast before a day in the mountains. We will definitely be back and also recommend it to others. The ski bus to Titlis stops just outside the door, and 5 minutes later you are at the cable car.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hoheneck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoheneck

Address: Dorfstrasse 4, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hoheneck 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hoheneck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoheneck Hotel Engelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hoheneck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.