We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Not Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terrace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Terrace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Terrace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terracestrasse 33, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Engelberg
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good and Not Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent two nights at the Hotel Terrace from 30th Aug and was with a group. The hotel is situated amidst a beautiful scenice set. Awesome location. If you are with a group, you will take 20 -30 minutes to reach the hotel lobby. IF you only by your family, then its perfect. From the ground level, you have to walk thru a tunnel for 5 mins, take an elevator to another level and then walk again for 5 to 7 mins, take another elevator to reach lobby level. Its fun when you are not with the group. When you are in a group, everyone hurries and rush to the elevator. Not recommended when you have lots of luggage, although you have a trolley at ground level. When I arrived at the hotel, it was freezing cold and raining as well, so it was quite an adventure. As we arrived at the lobby, I asked one of the hotel assistant,if I can take the trolley upto the room and his reply was, this is not a five star hotel and it is a three star hotel. The GM of the hotel should take note of this to train the staff on how to talk to guests. Sadly room service is not available. I was celebrating my anniversary and the hotel was not ready to bake a cake although I was willing to pay for it. I stayed in room No 321, probably one of the oldest room compared to the other rooms and has an old fashioned 14 inch TV. This room was Quite inconvenient. Remember from lobby level you have to carry your bags again to the room.

Room Tip: no room service, no assistance with luggage. Some rooms are old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    26
    14
    15
See reviews for
54
46
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Terrace as part of a group tour. We shared the hotel with 2 other groups at the time so it got a tad crowded and noisy at night. But that did not stop us from enjoying the amazing scenery from our balcony. The location of this hotel is simply perfect. You wake up to a picturesque view and the sound of church bells in the morning.
The rooms were comfortable and not over crowded. The breakfast was good with nice choices of cheese and warm milk.
It is very easy to explore Engleberg from the hotel. The way down is a bit long with the tunnels and lifts but not too bad.
This hotel will be our first choice for future visits to Engleberg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

great location
has a great scenic view.
the way from parking to hotel is pretty long with many lifts.
food is excellent.
it serves great indian food too!
rooms are medium sized
has dj facilities too
tourist bus cannot be parked in front of the hotel
free wifi facility

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I Stayed with my family on 17th july for one night and oh boy - was taken aback by the arrogant and hostile attitude of Sandy- the duty manager ! It took almost 30 minutes to convince her to send a technician to have a look at the lift which was unserviceable- most of the guests about 15 of them including elderly women -walked all the floors up, with luggage and children !! All she would say was - make a written complaint !! but didnt have the prescribed form either - gave a lost baggage complaint form to make a formal complaint - all she had was a sarcastic smile to offer
Mr Mike Kosters - are you reading- your welcome note in the room has no meaning if you dont mean it -
Have visited over 20 countries - This was my fifth visit to Europe and second to Switzerland as a tourist - take it from me- it cant get worse than this
The lifts are inadequate if the hotel is booked by group tours and there is chaos particularly at the breakfast times- the staff couldnt care less-

Room Tip: Better you board a train to Luzern and enjoy your evening - its just an hours train ride - unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Koesters, General Manager at Hotel Terrace, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Bahlerao,

Each time I read such a review first of all I feel very sorry to not having had the opportunity to to speak with the guest personally and I also feel sorry that this customer did obviously not have the best possible vacation in our hotel (which we always try to provide!).

The fact is that yes, one of our lifts broke down and this is an issue that happens all over the world. Our staff called the maintenance department immediately and the technicians started to work on it immediately. Then this guest arrived at the reception and asked a (little impatient from the beginning) that we should call a technician immediately and we explained that this had happened already. But obviously this was not an answer that could satisfy him: He wanted to see the technicians work on the issue which they did in the maintenance room of the lift and we could not allow these technicians to stop working and just show up at the reception to make a guest feel that it has been taken care of the matter. We had offered this customer to guide him into his room with the luggage which he refused - he wanted to "take care" of this matter rather than relax and enjoy his vacation. We had offered every single guests to take care of their luggage and for some of them it was just not a problem to take their own luggage and get to their rooms on their own - these customers took their luggage and went up to their rooms and it was no problem for them at all - but obviously for this guest. He continued to clam to see a technician and started to complain pretty loud that in case of arrival of a group the amount of lifts would not be sufficient. Our duty manager explained that the hotel was licensed exactly for the circumstances the hotel would need and he apologized and told the guest he would have to take care of the rest of the arrivals which this guest did not want to accept.

It is exactly our promise for service in the welcome note - a promise to take care of every single customer - that made it impossible to leave all the arriving guests alone, not take care of them and instead follow up on some (for our impression) impatient issues and the demand to see the technicians.Our technicians had to fix the lift and we had to continue to register and check-in the new arrivals and could not respond to this guest anymore as we felt he didn't allow us time enough to solve the issue. Sorry for this, but our promise for individual service is valid for all customers and - yes, I mean this promises - it has a real meaning for me - and that's why we had to continue to take care of all the arriving customers, of the luggage and the lift issue instead of trying to deal with just one person who would not want to give us the chance to proceed what we had to do.

Believe me: We used to have hundreds of groups in our beautiful hotel already and we could manage them all - but let me ask you a question in the end: Why would it be a problem for any guest's vacation if in the future we would have any group tours booked and weather or not we would have chaos particularly at breakfast time. Instead of making a stay difficult while speculation for such an option we would have felt much better if this guest would have started to enjoy his vacation and given us a chance to provide him with the best possible stay at Hotel Terrace.

KInd regards

Mike Kösters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is nice and friendly.We stayed t the hotel as a part of an escorted tour and were 20 people.It caters to a lot of tourist groups so can be crowded.Rooms are nice and comfortable and staff is helpful.It is within walking distance of the train station.Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for three days at the palace turned hotel. The corridor's had these beautiful old pictures of the palace. The entry to the hotel was great - thru a tunnel and lift combination. The view from the room window was fantastic. Although the room and bath were average but the other things surpassed them. Restaurant was also god. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I found Hotel Terrace at Engelberg, Switzerland a real good place to stay for any indian tourist. It's location is beautiful near hill side. Stay in this hotel is nice & comfotable.They take care of all your needs. They serve beautifully cooked Indian food. the views from the trrace of your room is simply awesome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrace

Address: Terracestrasse 33, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Engelberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrace 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Terrace Engelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.