We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very difficult to fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spannort Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Spannort Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 28, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very difficult to fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed for three nights on my own, and was very impressed with the hotel. The single room was superb, perfect to relax in. Staff were very friendly, service excellent and food superb. Just another towel rail in the bathroom and it would have been perfect!!

Green Features: Full of environmentally-friendly features, which are detailed in their room information.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Backpackersteve,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay with us in July. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and especially that you mention our "Green Features". We try to work for a more environmental hotel and always like to try out new ways to give back to the nature.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the tower rail in the bathroom. We have put it on our list for potential improvements. Your feedback is very important to us, thank you very much!

We are looking forward seeing you soon again and hope that you are doing well!

Wish you a great Autumn and see you soon in Engelberg

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
60
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and it was absolutely the perfect home base for exploring Mt. Titlis and the Engelberg area. The staff is warm and welcoming and we didn't want for a thing. British Airways unfortunately lost my bags and the staff was so nice to make special arrangements for our later than expected check in, pointing me to a couple nearby shops, and checking in with me daily even though my bags never did arrive. The staff recommended nice hikes as well as found out places where we could watch the World Cup games.

The decor is modern chalet style, could be out of a magazine. The rooms were well appointed w/ comfortable beds and nice linens. My room had a nice balcony with a view of the valley and mountains - breathtaking way to start the day. The breakfast that is included is lovely plus there is good coffee and a wide selection of teas. Again, the service, prompt, professional, and friendly. There is a nice sauna plus shower as well that the hotel was super kind to turn on for us to use after we checked out so that we could shower post-hike. The internet worked well the entire time in the room as well as in the shared spaces (i.e. lobby, breakfast area).

It's a short walk from the train station which makes it super convenient to get to/from.

Though we are told Engelberg is predominantly a winter town, we've loved our stay and would come back in any season. I'd highly recommend this hotel to family and friends and would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the valley / mountains (I loved mine #33).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Brianna R,

Thank you very much for taking your time reviewing your stay at Spannort.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Engelberg and especially at Spannort.

Thank you for reviewing all the hotels features, we are really happy to hear that you enjoyed all of them.

We are looking forward seeing you soon again and hope that you have a great autumn!

Take good care and see you very soon!

Kindest regards from Engelberg

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We first visited this hotel in June 2011 and wrote a review indicating we were very impressed. So we decided to pay a return visit this year. And I have to say we were not at all disappointed. The owners and staff are so friendly and helpful that it almost feels you are part of the family. Check in was done with a welcoming smile in a very attractive lobby. We had a junior suite and it was large and airy with a very comfortable bed and nice lighting with little spotlights at each side of the bed for easy reading. The room had a little dressing area with open type wardrobe and a safe deposit box. Dressing gowns were also supplied. The room also had a small table and chairs and a little fridge and a coffee making machine, which meant you didn't always have to eat out. There is a small balcony at the room but it never seemed to get the sun although in compensation the view from it was amazing!!
Although the hotel is on the main street it is very quiet at night and we can honestly say we never heard any noises of traffic or even any other guests at all.
The hotel is very eco-friendly using low energy light bulbs throughout and showers and taps which use a minimum of water but yet do not lose there effectiveness in the process. The bathroom was great with a separate door for the toilet and two sinks which are a good features.
( Interestingly the mirror in the bathroom never once steamed up even after baths or showers. I wonder what the secret is??)My one criticism is that the bath is very high to climb into and out of for those of us of advancing years!!
The whole hotel is so clean and attractive in its decor. A lot of recycled old wood has been used tastefully. The dining room is a delight as are the breakfasts and the range of herbal teas is second to none. Everyone who served us at breakfast made us feel that we were friends rather than just guests as they took an interest in what we had been doing each day.The management operate an "honesty box" system for drinks and goodies etc in the lobby rather that filling the fridge in your room. This seemed to work well. They also supplied complimentary tea and coffee in the lounge in the afternoons which was very welcome.
There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel and we ate there one night and had a really lovely meal served by a very friendly and helpful young waiter.
Engelberg is predominately a winter resort but it also so worth a visit in the summer and this hotel makes an excellent base for walkers or train travellers or relaxers or indeed all three as we were!!

Room Tip: The junior suites are very nice and worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Richardson5ca,

Thank you ever so much for your kind words and for taking your time reviewing your stay with us this summer.

We are very glad to hear that we "still" keep up the same service-level and standards as your last visit in 2011. Thank you very much for those kind words!

Funny you mention that "secret feature" with the mirror, I did not even know it myself. I have to try it out myself!

We are very sorry to hear that you had some problems with the bathtub. Please let us know well in advance if you come staying with us so that we might be able to organize an extra hand-rail or so for your convenience. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again for taking your time reviewing your stay with us and we are looking forward seeing you soon again!

Take care and have a lovely autumn!

Kindest Regards from your whole Spannort Team

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend whilst exploring mount titlis, the location is perfect and the hotel in a tradition Swiss ski lodge style. The rooms are cosy and well decorated and the staff friendly and attentive. We stayed out of season and the weather was beautiful! Would throughly recommend going to the top of the mountain but only if you've got a head for heights! It can be a pretty daunting ride on the cable cars !!
We took a ride out to explore the local area and found many beautiful scenic views, it's well worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Tiffany S,

Thank you very much for taking your time reviewing your recent stay at Spannort.

We are so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! June is a beautiful month in Engelberg and I am so happy that you had such great weather during your stay. It has simply been amazing the last couple of weeks. The summer is really here.

Thank you once more for your review, we really appreciate it and your feedback is very valuable to us.

Take good care and we hope to see you soon again!

Greetings from your whole Spannort Team

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

When we arrived we got welcomed by the friendly and helpful staff. The lobby was tastefully decorated and the rooms as well. We enjoyed the cosy sauna, the comfortable beds and the high quality breakfast! The location in central Engelberg is perfect. The staff managed to arrange a parking spot just behind the hotel which otherwise can be tricky to find during new years in Engelberg. We are looking forward to our next visit at Spannort Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear JonasHoegberg,

Thank you very much for your review and for taking your time writing about your stay at Spannort.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Spannort! You are right indeed that it is sometimes tricky to get a parking space during the New Years and Christmas, but we always try to our best to sort that out :)

We are looking forward seeing you at Spannort and in Engelberg soon again and wish you a great start for the summer!

Warm greetings from your Spannort Team

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

You feel home the minute you walk in. Fabulous helpful & kind staff. A lobby I wish I could convert into my living room at home. So cosy and tastefully decorated.

The rooms are a treat. Not the biggest in the world, but we still talk about 3 star hotel... I find the rooms extremely nice in design and little touches of comfort. I love that all rooms have standard non-allergic bedding and no down bedding. The room/hotel totally suits into the ambiance of a mountain village like Engelberg.

B'fast is lovely too. A good choice of several items including a selection of local products. I loved their home made Müssli.

A lot of 4* hotels could take an example of the quality & standard of this hotel. On level of friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, as well as the whole quality of the public areas and rooms. Definitely a superior boutique mountain hotel which I can more than recommend....
Thank you Stef & Team!

Room Tip: Reccomend to book a room facing the backside of the hotel as it is more quiet than the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Crococat,

Greetings from Engelberg and the Spannort Team!

A big warm thank you for all your kind words and feedback, and for taking your time reviewing your stay at Spannort. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your compliments about our hospitality... we promise to share your words and review with our whole team. Thank you ever so much!

Your whole Spannort Team wishes you a great summer and we are looking forward having the pleasure welcoming you back to Spannort and Engelberg soon again!

Greetings and kindest regards from Engelberg

Stefan with the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed in so many hotels the last years but my stay at Spannort Hotel was one of a kind.
Its the type of hotel you feel at home at after just 5 minutes.
The staff is so friendly and helpful - hospitality at its best!
The rooms are beautiful with many nice details and most important: good beds.
Oh and not to forget the perfect breakfast and the great food and wines in the restaurant.
I stayed in a few hotels in Engelberg before but this one is definitely the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Marion W,

Thank you very much for all your kind words and for taking your time reviewing your recent stay at Spannort! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Spannort and that our beds could comfort you with a good nights sleep!

We are looking forward seeing you soon again at Spannort. Thank you so much!

Greetings from the Swiss Alps

Your Spannort Team

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spannort Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Dorfstrasse 28, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Green Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Engelberg
#4 Family Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spannort Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant in Engelberg: a traditional Swiss hotel (20 rooms, 35 beds) and restaurant with a warm atmosphere located right in the centre of the village close to the train station and with its own parking area. The hotel has got high standard rooms with own balcony and alp-inspired interiors which will offer you a good rest after a long day out in the mountains. The restaurant offers a traditional Swiss kitchen with all its culinary thrills served to you in a warm environment. To fulfill the experience we present a broad wine list including a great choice of wines from Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Spannort Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spannort Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.