We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spannort Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Spannort Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 28, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monroe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of Engelberg. Every aspect from the cozy mountain lobby to the extremely comfortable rooms made you feel right at home. Swedish owner with wonderful hospitality makes it all the more relaxing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Tyson H,

Greetings from Engelberg and Switzerland!

Thank you so much for taking your time reviewing your stay with us! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality and your stay with us and in Engelberg.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to Spannort and Engelberg soon again!

Thank you very much

Best Regards

Stefan and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
57
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Spannort Hotel of Engelberg and we were very satisfied with it. The room was clan and very comfortable. The Hotel is located in the very center of the main street, close to all the attractions and stores. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is the classic 'mountains' breakfast: selection of cheese, fruit, yogurt, juices, hot chocolate (I highly recommend it).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Zizza55,

Greetings to Tel Aviv and Israel!

Thank you very much for al your kind words and for taking your time reviewing your stay at Spannort!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Switzerland and we are looking forward welcoming you back to Engelberg and Spannort soon again!

Take good care!

Best Regards

Stefan with his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Spannort hotel was a home away from home for us on our trip to Engelberg. Location A+, family-friendly service and lowkey but very attentive as the Swiss are excellent at all things precise and timely. The bed was perfect in both soft and firmness, and the sauna was a great relief at the end of a day of snowshoeing. They even sent us off with homemade lunches on our day of departure. I would return to Spannort in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Giles G,

Thank you for all your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Great that the lunch packages were yummy and that you enjoyed them! :)

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon again!

Best regards from Engelberg

Stefan and the whole Spannort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed overnight and was so impressed with the ambiance, service, friendliness of the staff, Stephen, Annette. This is truly one of the nicest places to stay in Engelberg. The hotel is an easy few minute walk from the train station, right in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Rene W,

Thank you so much for reviewing us and for taking your time to write about your stay at Spannort.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Thank you very much and we are looking forward welcoming you back soon again!

Best

Stefan and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I love everything about this place! From the relaxing, pristine lobby to the crisp, clean rooms this is a must stay if you are visiting the beautiful town of Engelberg, Switzerland! A family-owned and run establishment that prides itself on hospitality and service! The decor is amazing and creative. Rustic yet modern!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear CarrieDH,

THANK YOU so much for all your kind words and for taking to your time to review your stay with Spannort.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Engelberg.


Thank you for this time and we are looking forward welcoming you back soon again!

Best Regards

Stefan with his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed here twice for two nights on each occasion and both times have been excellent. As per the reviews below, the staff, the decoration, the food in the restaurant, the breakfast, the rooms etc etc are all top notch.

What makes it even better is that Steffan, his mother and colleagues are all genuinely motivated to continue to improve their hotel. They ask you what you thought about your stay and how it could be improved. They listen to what you say and they act on it.

This is one of my top recommendations. Stay here, you wont be sorry.

Room Tip: Go for the Spannort Suite it is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear HKJR,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback!
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Spannort and in Engelberg, it is a pleasure to have you as our guest!

Thank you for a great chat and discussion and for giving us all valuable feedback! It will without any doubt help us to improve our product and service and make it even more tailor made after yours/our guests needs.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon again to Engelberg.

Yours sincerely

Stefan and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Spannort is something special. Stefan and his staff have created a very relaxing atmosphere in this tastefully designed hotel. Attentive, informative and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The the cuisine is first class and, if you can find room for a daytime Kaffee and Kuchen, the chef's apple strudel is the best in town.

We dined in every evening and had a different meal each time, all of which were superb - and that was on the half board menu. The restaurant staff were wonderful and really made our stay memorable.

Length of stay - 9 nights Junior suite

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Les B,

Due to rules on Tripadvisor we are not able to mention your names on here, but let us just say THANK YOU for your review and for staying at Spannort. It was a pleasure to meet you, have you as our guests and of course all interesting discussions :)

Engelberg is now getting colder and the winter is just standing next door. Will be good with some snow and skiing again after a long and beautiful summer.

I hope you are doing well and that we maybe meet again, would be lovely!

Take good care our dear friends, the whole Spannot team says hi!

Yours sincerely

Stefan and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spannort Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Dorfstrasse 28, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Green Hotel in Engelberg
#5 Family Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spannort Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant in Engelberg: a traditional Swiss hotel (20 rooms, 35 beds) and restaurant with a warm atmosphere located right in the centre of the village close to the train station and with its own parking area. The hotel has got high standard rooms with own balcony and alp-inspired interiors which will offer you a good rest after a long day out in the mountains. The restaurant offers a traditional Swiss kitchen with all its culinary thrills served to you in a warm environment. To fulfill the experience we present a broad wine list including a great choice of wines from Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Spannort Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spannort Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.