We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Angels Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Angels Lodge to your Saves list
The Angels Lodge
Alpenstrasse 1, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Sunnmatt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was fantastic .we were made to feel really welcome the hotel was outstanding with perfect views and facilities .The bedrooms were lovely with everything you needed really comfortable beds .The breakfasts were spot on loads of food high standard.no negatives and will hopefully visit again .Take plenty money expensive to eat out in restaurants but beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed five days in this wonderful hotel and could not have been more pleased. The room for three was spacious and cosy and the beds were comfortable. Our room was facing the construction site on the next lot, but there were no sounds or disturbance and the view to the mountains was beautiful. The breakfast was much better than in other B&B places we have been in and does well in comparison with many hotels, too.

The jacuzzi was great to heal the aching feet after the long days in the slopes. It was convenient to park our car in the parking lot under the cover. The ski-storage room was practical and the ski boot heater was handy. The ski buss stop is right in front of the hotel and it was only 2 minutes to the Titlis valley station.

The service was excellent and the staff was really helpful and even made dinner reservations on our behalf.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Angels Lodge is a perfect place to stay in Engelberg. The service is excellent; rooms are big and with good standard. The breakfast was very good and a nice start before a long day of skiing. If you want a guide they have good connections and can help you book the best guides in Engelberg.
Angels Lodge is located a few minutes’ walk from town center, and a short walk from the gondol to Titlis. There are bus-stops just in front of the hotel.
This is my favourite place to stay in Engelberg.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Angels Lodge for two days while traveling around Switzerland. The lodge was wonderful. Warm, inviting, clean and good views of the mountains. For the skiers there is a storage closet in the basement and a boot warmer. The lodge is a 5 minute walk from town so if you are renting skis it is easiest to rent at the base, rather then in town. Less of a walk when to return your skis! Breakfast was great, and the staff was amazing. They were knowledgeable and friendly. I left an expensive ski layer in the room, and when I returned had counted it as a loss. Well most recently I recieved a package from the Angels Lodge.... My lost shirt! Thank you Angels Lodge for going above and beyond! I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after Christmas and over New Year. It's a great place to stay. The cozy room with balcony had great views of the mountains. The staff are all lovely, really helpful and extremely knowledgeable about things to do. Great breakfast. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from everywhere. Busses were free to the ski runs and stop just outside the hotel. We were very sad to leave indeed

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our stay at the Angels Lodge was absolutely lovely. The staff were extremely friendly and very welcoming. They were people who were always open for a chat and it was nice to get to know each other during the few days we were there. The rooms were fine - very clean and tidy. The beds were also very comfortable. The location of the hotel is also fairly convenient since it is on the same level as the village center. It is a walking distance to almost any part of the village. We found the walks to and from the hotel very enjoyable. There is a shuttle bus stop right by the hotel which was extremely helpful for our trips over to Brunni and Titlis for skiing and also to the train station, all which were times when we needed to carry a lot. The best part of the Angels Lodge was the personal touch it brought with it. The overall atmosphere was great and we felt very comfortable during our five-day stay there. We will definitely return if we ever come back to Engelberg.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the family rooms, which was very suitable for a family of four. Would definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found the Angels Lodge a friendly hotel with a very helpful proprietor and staff. When we asked about local restaurants or sites to visit they gave us so many selections including menus to look at that we couldn't visit all of them. We stayed five days at the hotel, which has been recently remodeled, and everything was exceptional. The location is only a short walk from the train station and the center of Engelberg. The free city bus stops right the entrance to the hotel so there is no problem getting around. If we visit Engelberg in the future we would definitely stay at the Angels Lodge if they have an opening. We didn't use the sauna and hot tub but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angels Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angels Lodge

Address: Alpenstrasse 1, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Sunnmatt)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Angels Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angels Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.