We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glencarse Hotel Restaurant

Glencarse Hotel Restaurant
Main Street | Glencarse, Glencarse, Perth PH2 7LX, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Glencarse
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stopped here after a wedding fayre at nearby Fingask Castle and enjoyed a splendid lunch from a varied menu with specials. I had the beef stroganoff special and my wife the chicken with whisky sauce and both were delicious. Others in our party has the steak pie and fish, also tasty and filling. The desserts were excellent, too. Would recommend this as a good stopping-off point between Perth and Dundee for some good food. We received a warm welcome from Lena and the waitress on duty was very friendly and attentive.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Odd menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We dined here tonight for the first time since the new owners took over earlier this year and the restaurant is great looking, warm and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a lovely welcome. The menu looked good and reasonably priced. Disappointed with a few things though. Mushroom soup and the haddock souffle were heavenly starters, but the main event Tortellini was a very meagre portion barely enough for a lunch never mind an evening meal, & was served with Brussels sprouts, carrots and broccoli?! Tasty as it was, eight small pieces of pasta could not satisfy a hungry man!
The steaks were cooked to our request and tasty enough but meal was let down by lack of sides you expect from a 17 quid plate..only came with chips, small bit of carrot and a tiny broccoli stem..oh and 2 Brussels sprouts! Boys macaroni was given a cheerful thumbs up. Roast chicken was lovely and well presented. Desserts were lovely, although creme Bruleee could have been warmed slightly, and there were no panacottas left :(.. service great and the staff are all wonderful so will return despite little let downs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glencarse Hotel Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I stopped here last year and had an excellent meal. Being in the area again last week we returned for lunchtime, hoping that it would be as good as previously which it was. The menu is a bit different and varied, the food was very well cooked and good value for money; the service was very efficient and friendly in a pleasant dining room with a log fire. We would always try to eat here if in the general area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went looking for something other than a service station meal and was pleasantly surprised to find this restaurant. Good food, good service and good price. If in need of rest from motorway driving pull in here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longforgan, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch with my son and his partner. Service was spot on and the lunch menu had plenty of options to choose from although there were no lunchtime specials regards prices, but food was excellent so at least it felt like we got our money's worth!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glencarse Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Glencarse Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencarse Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.