We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastwest Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Pâquis Navigation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 104 hotels in Geneva
Iowa
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Despite concerns raised in the some other reviews, the Eastwest Hotel actually is located in a great neighborhood. You do really have to search for and wander somewhat far afield from the hotel to find the streets of the "red light district" to which some others have alluded. Numerous street cafes and restaurants adorn this fine neighborhood.

It is only five minutes from the train station. Upon check in at the hotel you are given a complimentary transport pass that includes the train to the airport (another 6 minutes away). In addition, it is only steps from the waterfront and less than a 15 minute walk from the old city.

The staff is congenial, offering significant help for a particular travel problem we were facing. The bed was comfortable, the room fairly spacious by European standards, and the shower and bathroom were just wonderful with great amenities.

It is fairly expensive by American standards but well worthy of the high ranking given it by Trip Advisor reviewers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc-Antoine N, General Manager at Eastwest Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are pleased to hear that the time you have spent at our hotel has brought you general satisfaction and we thank you for your comments which are very important to help us constantly improving our facilities and services.

Also, we thank you for the clarification you made about the hotel’s neighborhood.

We hope having soon the great opportunity to welcome you again and assure you already that we are going to do our utmost in order to make of your next stay at the Tiffany Hotel a most rewarding experience.

With our best regards,

Marc-Antoine Nissille
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    132
    26
    1
    4
See reviews for
74
186
48
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

For those accustomed to staying in any of the aging, small, cramped hotels near the Cornavin station, check out Eastwest. The rooms are, as always, a bit small although well appointed. The decor and atmosphere are why you would like this place vis-a-vis its peer institutions. Don't let the red light district location dissuade you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a really bad experience at another hotel and had to find a hotel in Geneva at short notice. I am so glad Eastwest came to the rescue. We booked a deluxe room - a great investment for the room on the fifth floor. The hotel is beautifully close to the central station, is an easy walk to Lake Geneva and the old city. Public transport links are right in front of the hotel too. If you are not keen to venture afield, the restaurant in the hotel is amazing, with matching service.
When booking, I would advise you include breakfast. Finding anything close to the hotel that is even remotely comparable to what you get downstairs would be difficult. Probably one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had in a long while.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are a worthwhile upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel sometime in d mid of last year. Stayed in a duplex room. Good ambiance, food is of good quality (breakfast and room service) and room is well decorated. Suggested for classy, yuppy crowd.

Room Tip: Stay in the duplex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel located near, but not on, the lake. It is about 10-15 minutes from the train station. A lot of effort has gone into the interior design, and lobby, dinning room, lounge, and small out door courtyard are very pretty.

Entering the property is quite challenging due to poorly thought-out design of steps and doors. There is one step at the main entrance, and the second door (ie the one that enters onto the lobby after a very short hallway from the street) does not stay open automatically. If you’re in luck, you can play with a rubber door stopper, if there is one around. This makes bringing your luggage into the hotel somewhat challenging. Although I did see some sort of support staff aside from the people at the front desk, they were absent for the most part, and the check-in clerk did not offer any help. After checking in, there are another six or seven steep stairs to climb from the lobby to the elevators. In all, bringing luggage from street to room is not an easy task.

The rooms are small to medium size, well proportioned, and contain water, tea, and coffee. Bathrooms suffer from two defects: Anne Simonin amenities which I detest (chalk it up to personal taste), and a shower/tub area without a curtain, meaning water sprays all over the floor when washing. (Such open baths with just a small pane of protective glass can be found all over Europe, and I have no idea of the logic behind this poor design.). In past stays, a special herbal scent was provided to spray on bed pillows to induce a good night’s sleep, but this was missing on my most recent visit.

Free WiFi has a strong signal, and could handle some heavy email action. In addition, the hotel provides a free public transport ticket for the duration of your stay, but I’ve never had the chance to use it. Breakfast is a limited affair, with food scattered around the bar area, and costs CHF34.

In all, the hotel is pleasant even when accounting for the negatives mentioned above. But unless interior design is the main goal of you trip, there is nothing extremely special about the place. EastWest has lower prices than the lake front luxury manors that dominate the hotel market in Geneva, and appreciation of that value keeps me coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was really impressed with the Eastwest. It's not a big hotel, but very well-formed. Good-quality free wi-fi, nice rooms, small gym with Technogym kit. Reasonable prices for central Geneva. The restaurant is also very good, with excellent service. I was there overnight for business and spent a lot of time loitering around the lobby. The staff couldn't have been kinder or more attentive. Location is about a 5-minute walk from both the train station and the lake (and the RLD for that matter!). Great find-- definite keeper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked 2 nights deluxe double room accomodation and breakfast at Eastwest for my wife and i via booking.com.

The hotel is situated probably 10 minutes from the main train station, the walk from the train station takes you through Geneva's red light district (of which Eastwest is on the edge of) which can be quite off putting.

Upon check in the receptionist advised that our booking was room only and did not include breakfast, after a short discussion i was required to produce the paper work from booking.com to resolve the matter. We were shown to our room by a very friendly, attentive and welcoming porter.

The bathroom of our room was a lovely size, nicely decorated and well appointed (with the exception of one of the hand basin's which did not drain), the room itself was ok and furnished with a flat screen tv and a nespresso coffee machine (which did not work coincidentally). The room was clean and tidy.

Quality of food at breakfast was very good, however it is served from the bar top and on both mornings there were several items of the breakfast offering missing therefore you were often put in a position were your partners food would go cold whilst you wait for a rasher or two of bacon.

The chamber maid came to clean our room on Saturday evening! As my wife was in the bathroom preparing to get ready for dinner. Due to the time of the maids visit i asked her to change our towels only as we didnt want to be disturbed as we got ready.

I went down to the bar whilst i waited for my wife, i ordered a vodka and tonic and enjoyed the soft back ground music. The drink was served with some bread sticks and olives, a nice touch. I never asked the price of the drink i just booked it to the room bill (I expected it to be around Euro 15 from historic hotel visits). On check out i was quite surprised that my pre dinner drink was CHF 39!!! or circa £26!!! Eastwest can charge like a rhino. A guy once followed a muck cart, he thought it was wedding!!! (so my own fault)

This is the first time i have ever wrote a report on any kind on a review site, i booked this hotel purely because of the reviews i read on here and the fact that it was rated 3rd best hotel in Geneva via trip advisor. We had a great time, none of the aforementioned problems spolied our stay but the standards arent what i would expect from such a high rated 4* hotel, if Eastwest is truely the 3rd best hotel in Geneva there must be some awful hotels around. From my experience i would say its a top end 3* / bottom end 4*.

In conclusion a nice break in an average at best 4* hotel that has had a fare amount of smoke blown up its ar5e.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Address: Rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastwest Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastwest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.