We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastwest Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Pâquis Navigation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 104 hotels in Geneva
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel sometime in d mid of last year. Stayed in a duplex room. Good ambiance, food is of good quality (breakfast and room service) and room is well decorated. Suggested for classy, yuppy crowd.

Room Tip: Stay in the duplex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    131
    26
    1
    4
See reviews for
75
186
48
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel located near, but not on, the lake. It is about 10-15 minutes from the train station. A lot of effort has gone into the interior design, and lobby, dinning room, lounge, and small out door courtyard are very pretty.

Entering the property is quite challenging due to poorly thought-out design of steps and doors. There is one step at the main entrance, and the second door (ie the one that enters onto the lobby after a very short hallway from the street) does not stay open automatically. If you’re in luck, you can play with a rubber door stopper, if there is one around. This makes bringing your luggage into the hotel somewhat challenging. Although I did see some sort of support staff aside from the people at the front desk, they were absent for the most part, and the check-in clerk did not offer any help. After checking in, there are another six or seven steep stairs to climb from the lobby to the elevators. In all, bringing luggage from street to room is not an easy task.

The rooms are small to medium size, well proportioned, and contain water, tea, and coffee. Bathrooms suffer from two defects: Anne Simonin amenities which I detest (chalk it up to personal taste), and a shower/tub area without a curtain, meaning water sprays all over the floor when washing. (Such open baths with just a small pane of protective glass can be found all over Europe, and I have no idea of the logic behind this poor design.). In past stays, a special herbal scent was provided to spray on bed pillows to induce a good night’s sleep, but this was missing on my most recent visit.

Free WiFi has a strong signal, and could handle some heavy email action. In addition, the hotel provides a free public transport ticket for the duration of your stay, but I’ve never had the chance to use it. Breakfast is a limited affair, with food scattered around the bar area, and costs CHF34.

In all, the hotel is pleasant even when accounting for the negatives mentioned above. But unless interior design is the main goal of you trip, there is nothing extremely special about the place. EastWest has lower prices than the lake front luxury manors that dominate the hotel market in Geneva, and appreciation of that value keeps me coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was really impressed with the Eastwest. It's not a big hotel, but very well-formed. Good-quality free wi-fi, nice rooms, small gym with Technogym kit. Reasonable prices for central Geneva. The restaurant is also very good, with excellent service. I was there overnight for business and spent a lot of time loitering around the lobby. The staff couldn't have been kinder or more attentive. Location is about a 5-minute walk from both the train station and the lake (and the RLD for that matter!). Great find-- definite keeper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked 2 nights deluxe double room accomodation and breakfast at Eastwest for my wife and i via booking.com.

The hotel is situated probably 10 minutes from the main train station, the walk from the train station takes you through Geneva's red light district (of which Eastwest is on the edge of) which can be quite off putting.

Upon check in the receptionist advised that our booking was room only and did not include breakfast, after a short discussion i was required to produce the paper work from booking.com to resolve the matter. We were shown to our room by a very friendly, attentive and welcoming porter.

The bathroom of our room was a lovely size, nicely decorated and well appointed (with the exception of one of the hand basin's which did not drain), the room itself was ok and furnished with a flat screen tv and a nespresso coffee machine (which did not work coincidentally). The room was clean and tidy.

Quality of food at breakfast was very good, however it is served from the bar top and on both mornings there were several items of the breakfast offering missing therefore you were often put in a position were your partners food would go cold whilst you wait for a rasher or two of bacon.

The chamber maid came to clean our room on Saturday evening! As my wife was in the bathroom preparing to get ready for dinner. Due to the time of the maids visit i asked her to change our towels only as we didnt want to be disturbed as we got ready.

I went down to the bar whilst i waited for my wife, i ordered a vodka and tonic and enjoyed the soft back ground music. The drink was served with some bread sticks and olives, a nice touch. I never asked the price of the drink i just booked it to the room bill (I expected it to be around Euro 15 from historic hotel visits). On check out i was quite surprised that my pre dinner drink was CHF 39!!! or circa £26!!! Eastwest can charge like a rhino. A guy once followed a muck cart, he thought it was wedding!!! (so my own fault)

This is the first time i have ever wrote a report on any kind on a review site, i booked this hotel purely because of the reviews i read on here and the fact that it was rated 3rd best hotel in Geneva via trip advisor. We had a great time, none of the aforementioned problems spolied our stay but the standards arent what i would expect from such a high rated 4* hotel, if Eastwest is truely the 3rd best hotel in Geneva there must be some awful hotels around. From my experience i would say its a top end 3* / bottom end 4*.

In conclusion a nice break in an average at best 4* hotel that has had a fare amount of smoke blown up its ar5e.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Eastwest is a boutique hotel situated close to Gare Geneve (train station) and close to shopping and restaurants area. Rooms are very well decorated, spacious and clean. Amenities include Wi-Fi, coffe service in your room, first class toileteries and a very friendly and attentive staff.

Room Tip: the hotel is located close to a red district zone. Just avoid it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently with my wife. The room was great - good size, comfy bed, nice big shower. Even with a room fronting onto the main road it was only ever quiet and calm. The staff on the front desk were always very friendly and helpful. Good location for reaching lots of restaurants and bars and all the main sights if Geneva.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay here on business. It's a great hotel, not cheap but it's an expensive city

Ok the location may be a bit fruity if your sensitive. The Red light is a stones throw away so there are some colourful characters outside. It didn't bother me at all and it felt perfectly safe to walk about.

The rooms are excellent. I had a superior and it was first class with a really cool open plan configured bathroom. I had a 1st floor street facing room and thought it may be noisy with the goings on outside. Slept like a log and never woke me.

Wifi free and fast and fast. I'd definey stay here again when in Geneva.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Address: Rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastwest Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastwest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.