We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eastwest Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Pâquis Navigation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Room very well appointed. Good price. Very welcoming.
Two minus point:
1)Noise from the street. Make sure you get a room NOT facing the street. It is facing the red light district and on a Friday night it can be noisy .... although windows have good insulation we could hear people talking on the street in the middle of the night.
2)This hotel is NOT entirely not smoking. The cigarette smoke from the room next door to us was infiltrating below our door. Not cool at all.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the courtyard - quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    136
    26
    1
    4
See reviews for
78
192
48
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. It is a small hotel but the rooms are big and very convenient. It seems that the palce was renovated or decorated recently. The service was very good and polite. The hotel is not located in the old city but it is quite near - within . Breakfast seemed a bit expensive but since Geneva is very expensive in general, it might be the customary rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global Traveler
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

That's what we were looking for, and that's exactly what we got at the EastWest. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite under the eaves on the top floor, facing the courtyard. At that height we could glimpse the top of the Jet d'Eau fountain spraying into the sky - otherwise, it's rooftops and the neighbor's living rooms. Being at that height also cuts down on the noise, I'm sure.

We ordered room service for a snack and then dinner, as the dining room of the restaurant had not opened. The snacks were great, a house-smoked salmon and delicious soup with some crisp whites. Dinner was a little over-produced and I would have traded a bit of style and presentation for taste and proper serving temperature. The restaurant needs to alter their offering slightly for service in the room, rather than sur la table. Ordering had its challenges despite our fluency in English, French and German. Double confirm all your orders!

The bed and bath are highlights - and for a romantic weekend, well, that's a great thing.

The turn-down service brought by some chocolates and a little atomizer of spiced room spray. I quickly found my answer to the 'why the spray' question as the restaurant kicked into busy mode and the atmosphere was inundated with grille exhaust. If you like the smell of grilled meats - this is heaven for you. Opening the window didn't help...equally smoky.

The in-room ventilation system doesn't respond very well (as others have noted), so kitchen odors aside, being able to open the windows is a requirement to cool the room.This is a problem.

All in all we had friendly service in a stylish boutique hotel. I'd probably forgo room service and go to the restaurant directly. There are also a number of nice and varied restaurants very close by. Go for a high floor, facing the courtyard, not the street. And I think the deluxe room is probably just fine - we didn't end up using the sitting room part of the suite - but that's part of the joy of the romantic weekend, isn't it?

Room Tip: Higher floor - courtyard side. Maybe floors 4 and 5 don't have the kitchen exhaust problem that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here at the start of January, we had got married on the same day in London and arrived tired but happy and quite late in the evening. The welcome was very friendly and we were upgraded immediately, we were delighted. upon entering our room we were surprised to see that the hotel had scattered fresh rose petals all over our room, bed and bathroom- and what a bathroom it was! Separate walk-in shower and huge bath tub with separate loo. Luxury products and proper hairdryer too. Comfortable soft bathrobes and slippers were a welcome addition. The bed was firm but comfortable with perfectly laundered high quality bed linen. Breakfast was a simple, yet elegant, self-serve affair - staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. This hotel was simply gorgeous and well located for the airport, 15 minutes maximum by taxi and positioned less than a five minute walk to the lake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Eastwest for 2 nights before heading out to hike the Tour du Mont Blanc. We contacted many different hotels before settling on Eastwest. We were so pleased with Eastwest's responsiveness via email. They responded promptly and answered all our questions thoroughly. That, combined with Tripadvisor reviews convinced us Eastwest would be a good choice. We were not disappointed. We took the free train from the Geneva airport and walked the few blocks to the hotel. After our overnight flight from the U.S., we arrived at Eastwest around 10am hoping we could at least leave our bags until check-in but they let us check in right away which was really great. We were able to shower and nap before we went out to explore Geneva. Front desk staff all speak English well. Our room was small but clean and we liked the separate closet room where we could stow our bags. Even though we received the free tourist transit pass at check-in, we really didn't use it as we walked everywhere. We really enjoyed Old Town and spent much of our short stay in Geneva there. We were in Geneva in August, holiday time for the locals, so we did not get to dine at Bistrot du Boeuf Rouge, but it is conveniently located right across the street from the hotel! A word about the neighborhood--the street Eastwest is on is perfectly fine, lively, and has many restaurants and cafes. We had read that Eastwest is located in the "red light district" but didn't really picture what that meant so even though we were aware of this, it was still surprising to see prostitutes actually standing on the street corner (at 10am!) on many of the side streets just near the hotel. They weren't aggressive but it still felt kind of creepy. So if you stick to the main streets, you should be able to avoid them. Eastwest was a really good value as it was clean, stylish, convenient to transportation and attractions, and customer service was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent location in Geneve, very cool design, lovely little back yard garden and great, spacious rooms are my highlighs of the EastWest hotel in Geneve. Rooms are great: spacious and with all the comfort one could think of. Loved my little Nespresso machine and the big shower! Staff quite friendly and the bar food really good. My red wine was too chilled - but trust me, not a big issue at the end of the day! Would absolutely book again if travelling to Geneve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I used this hotel many times over the last 12 month. I like the location, the rooms, the personnel and the food. I can only regret that they don't offer free parking as it's almost impossible to find a spot in this neighborhood. Will return anyway!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Address: Rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastwest Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastwest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.