We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasent surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woods at The InterContinental Hotel

Woods at The InterContinental Hotel
7-9 Chemin du Petit Saconnex, Geneva 1209, Switzerland
+41 22 919 39 39
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Woods at The InterContinental Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 1,251 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $51 - $203
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: You’ll sense the harmony that exists in nature in Woods, a classic restaurant offering contemporary cuisine. Home to the best business brunch in the city, the space is also ideally suited for informal get-togethers with friends. Our Chef and his team present a dynamic and creative menu of delicacies, prepared with seasonal and first quality products, while our Pastry Chef will thrill your palate with fresh, smooth and decadent flavours. Teaser, Chef’s signature dish: crispy calf’s sweetbread, artichoke and black truffle macaroni highlighted with a veal juice and morel sparkles. To try without waiting….
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A pleasent surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Went at Woods after reading the positive reviews from Tripadvisor. Very good restaurant, good wine list, good service and a knowlegeble sommelier.
My wife had the viel which was perfect!
Overall very good restaurant and decently priced for Geneve standard. Just lacked a bit of atmoshere.

Defently will suggested it if you want to stick to a well executed cusine

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Woods at The InterContinental Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Woods restaurant with the Trip Advisor community.

It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you and your spouse enjoyed your first visit at Woods and that everything was up to your expectations. You may rest assured that your positive comments have been forwarded to the service and kitchen teams.

Should you wish, since it seems your wife has really appreciated the veal, our Chef will be delighted to give her the recipe when you will come back.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the restaurant or the pool soon, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect - if you can afford it ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went here as we were using special offer (Geneva restaurant week).

Food was delicious with original options. Setting is very classy.

Overall a very good experience - if you can afford the bill! (we had a half price offer)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Woods at The InterContinental Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Woods restaurant with the Trip Advisor community.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cuisine as well as the service and the restaurant atmosphere.

Good comments such as yours are quite important and have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Truly outstanding restaurant. We arrived in Geneva after many days in Lyon which most know has some of the best food in the world. Our dinner here was superb. I can still taste the very, very best white asparagus soup that I've ever had. The wine list was delightful and both of our meals were truly outstanding. I don't usually find hotel restaurants particularly worthy of review, but this is an exception. Even if you are not staying at the ICH, you should make a special trip to the Woods. You will be glad you did.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Woods at The InterContinental Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Madam,

In addition to your great comments left on the main hotel page of Trip Advisor, we really thank you for your most positive note concerning the Woods restaurant. It has been for sure dispatched to our service and kitchen teams.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the InterContinental Genève, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food. Great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Superb restaurant.

I've eaten in several michellin stared restarants and the qaulity of the food here is up there with some of the best.

The wine selection is exemplary and the service is first glass. Try the Iberian Plume.

Steak tartare appetisers were a lovely touch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Woods at The InterContinental Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

In addition to your great comments left on the main hotel page of Trip Advisor, we would like to thank you also for your positive remarks concerning the Woods restaurant. They have been for sure dispatched to our service and kitchen teams.

Should your plans bring you back to Geneva and if you wish so, our Chef will be delighted to give you the recipe of the Iberian Plume you liked.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the InterContinental Genève, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Exquisite flavours beautifully presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The deco of this restaurant is well thought through and tasteful. The staff is very professional and smiley without that pretentiousness that some exclusive hotel restaurant insists upon. The red tuna starter was perfectly seasoned and the semi cooked salmon with its quirky carrot puree sauce I had for main course was simply divine. The lemon tart dessert was to die for and served in a original way.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Woods at The InterContinental Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Woods restaurant with the Trip Advisor community.

It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your last visit at Woods and that everything was up to your expectations. You may rest assured that your positive comments have been forwarded to the service and kitchen teams.

Should you wish, since it seems you have really loved the lemon tart, our Pastry Chef will be delighted to give you the recipe when you will come back.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the restaurant soon, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woods at The InterContinental Hotel also viewed

 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Woods at The InterContinental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woods at The InterContinental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.