We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beef in a busy atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Rue Mont Blanc 26, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Cornavin)
022 732 84 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 1,230 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $41 - $82
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cornavin
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent beef in a busy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is an interesting restaurant. I have been here at least 10 times. There is no menu since they only serve one thing: Entrecôte. But that is a very good entrecôte. The only question get from the waiter is how you want your meat cooked. The meat comes on a large tray with the meat surrounded by a delicious sauce (Sauce de Café de Paris). With that you get French fries and a small green salad. This is a busy place and you will most likely be seated close to strangers. Service is efficient. This is brasserie style. The main course is around 43 CHF, so not really cheap, but quite typical of good Swiss restaurants. Highly recommended if you are hungry and want some real beef.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    183
    85
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“OK, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A mixed impression.
The good:
- handy location, next to the train station
- good service
- fairly good steak
- they serve until 11pm (RARE in Geneva)
The bad:
- WAY over-priced
- over-seasoned salad
- fries not fresh
- kind of dingy atmosphere.

I wouldn't return, but Geneva is a tough town for restaurants unless you're willing to spend a LOT of money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude and indifferent service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

After many enjoyable meals in the Cafe de Paris restaurant in Geneva I took my nephew and his wife there on Saturday 13th April to sample the exquisite sauce. Despite arriving shortly after 7pm we were instantly made to feel unwelcome and appeared to be irritants to both a lady who appeared to be the manageress and a particularly objectionable waiter. We were shoehorned in to a table by the front entrance and were instantly asked to state our cooking preference for the steak. No opportunities were given to choose an aperitif but were cajoled into ordering wine to accompany the meal. The salad duly arrived but before we had finished our plates these were arrogantly pushed out of the way to make way for the main course plates. Our entire dining experience for which we had specifically flown from the UK to enjoy lasted 43minutes because, as soon as we had declined the dessert, this somewhat obnoxious waiter had literally thrown the bill on to the table, a feat he was to repeat with our credit card once payment had been received. Accepting that Switzerland is an expensive place to live and certainly eat out, we all left completely cheated and humiliated for paying nearly £200 UK pounds for such a short and unpleasant experience. Certainly we will never visit again and I will no longer be recommending this establishment to my friends and colleagues who frequent Geneva regularly.
A very bitter customer from North Yorkshire.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Absolutely amazingly tender beef, with the most delicious sauce you could imagine. The wine is really good too. Tables are very squashed together, tho...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Steaks! Steaks! and Steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Their steaks are really tasty, big and full of love-sauce... If you're a meat-lover, that's the place to go.

Not expensive, good quality, good atmosphere place. In the center...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.