We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old CdP!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Rue Mont Blanc 26, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Cornavin)
022 732 84 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 1,252 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $41 - $81
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cornavin
Stockholm
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good old CdP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is such a place that always keeps up to what they promise. Not more, not less. I visited first time 40 years ago ( !! ) and I still think it's a must when i Geneva.
Simplicity, quality of food, service with charm and, important, a crowd of guests that very well represents the Globe and The United Nations. Just go there and enjoy! But make sure you go to the original one: Café de Paris, close to the Train station - not l'Entrecôte on the left side of the river.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    183
    85
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Entrecote lovers, here's your place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Living in GE for almost 4 years, Cafe de Paris is indeed one of the not-so-many-places in GE where almost everybody loves to go to..

Well, as my hubby is a true carnivore, we love to come here for dinner...lunch will be a bit weird for me as the idea of eating rare entrecote covered with herb butter in the middle of the day is not appealing :D..

But, I love the food...fresh meat, delicious butter, et grapillon (grape juice, as I don't drink alcohol)..the best way of eating it is rare, so it's juicy..they only have one single menu; salad verte, entrecote and french-fries. So choose your drink(s) or dessert for later if you want..

The resto is usually packed with people eventhough they open non-stop (no cuisine ferme)..the service is pretty efficient, might feel a bit unfriendly to some...but as I keep coming back, some waiters are pretty funny and friendly..avoid busy lunch time and try early dinner..and we ccan make reservation as well, as long as it's not during Salon d'auto in March :D..

Some say when you visit Geneve, it's not complete unless you eat here :D..

Well, well..you decide ...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

we liked this place more than the previous reviewers, but agtree that it is a bit noisy, that was OK for us, but you would not want to come here with a hangover or for a business meeting

meat lovers will enjoy this place

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc,ny
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Where you go to get your steak on!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I visited Cafe de Paris while in Geneva during my "around the world in 90 days trip" (see my blog: www.toscanoworldtrip.blogspot.com). If you are a steak lover, this is the place for you (and perhaps if not a steal lover, it will make you one.) Their menu is simple, primarily steak frites. The steak comes sliced on a hot plate with a heavy helping of delicious fries. they also give you a delicious lettuce and tomato salad and hot rolls to die for. But what you come here for is the mouthwatering steak they serve. It was among the best I ate on my around the world trip!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crowded, noisy, food makes me sick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you don't like feeling like an anonymous customer this is the place to avoid. Hordes of people come here, tables turn with incredible speed and the waiters are not friendly at all. The menu is the same for all (entrecôte with fries and salad), you just choose drinks, type of cooking for the meat and dessert if you want it. The food is good, but the problem is that I have eaten there three times and all of them I ended up being sick afterwards. It never happens to me in other restaurants with the same menu, and then I figured out why. The meat is covered in herb butter and brought to you on a metal tray that stays on your table the whole time with a candle below. As a result, unless you put all the meat on your plate at once, that which stays in the tray overcooks, and so does the butter, making the dish incredibly heavy to digest. In those other places where I eat the same but do not get sick they give you half portion first, and they keep the other half aside, covered and kept warm but in such a way that neither the meat nor the butter keep cooking. For me this place is a tourist trap.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.