We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow, bad and expensive cafeteria food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of le nid'poule

le nid'poule
rue Adrien-Lachenal 26, Geneva 1207, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 1,251 Restaurants in Geneva
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slow, bad and expensive cafeteria food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I went here with some friends based off of the tripadvisor reviews. I can safely say that this was the worst price-quality meal I've had.

The waiter is very amicable, and you can tell that he is working hard trying to accomodate everyone -- but it took 1 hour and 30 minutes to finally receive our plates.

We all got separate dishes, about 38 CHF each, and quickly noticed that everyone's sides were the same: mixed veggies (either severely overcooked or frozen) and an average potato side.

The scallops were cooked well, but the pork and chicken were completely overcooked -- and we even all had the same overly-creamy mushroom sauce! Let's just say that 2 of the 3 of us had a nasty time recovering from it afterwards.

By the time we had finished, we had been there for over two hours, and I still hadn't gotten desert that came with the meal! So I asked for them to just bring the check.

I would have been dissapointed with this meal if I got it at my old high school's cafeteria -- but to have waited an hour and a half and paid 50 CHF for it is just ridiculous. Sorry nid'poule!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cosy, lovely hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I, US expats living in Geneva, dined here Saturday night and had a lovely time. Be prepared to spend some time there (at least two hours) and you must make a reservation -- all because the small room is service by one very sweet man. They have a full menu but the 'formule du soiree' is a no-brainer, with starter, entree and dessert for 48 francs (that's very reasonably priced for Geneva). The food was worth the price -- rare for Geneva -- being very delicious and tasty. They had a wide range of wine available by the glass, too. All in all, the warm, inviting atmosphere and excellent food really makes this quite a gem. It is very easy to get to, being across from the Museum of Natural History and just up the street from the Rive bus stop, a very busy and central location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, nice ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were taken here by a friend of ours that lives in Geneva. It is a must to reserve. This place is wonderful. Great food with smiling service that is not always the case in Switzerland. Would highly recommend this place. Next time in Geneva we will sure o come back here again. I do not know if they speak much English as my friends were French speaking. Nevertheless I am sure you will enjoy it!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden & lovely chicken nest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

It is a restaurant that you wouldn't come across & decide to go in unless you are specifically looking for it - but such a nice experience once you are in. Very cozy, woth friendly staff & delicious food! Menu of the day is for sure value for money: with a nice starter, 2 main course options to choose from and one dessert plate. For sure a local's choice rather than a tourist attraction. Beware of the chicken decoration inside - they're literally everywhere :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A Special Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

This restaurant , just across from the Natural History Museum, offers a casual sophisticated feel. It is small, one cosy room, and seems to caters to a clientelle that returns time upon time. We have never seen any tourists here. It is recommended to book in advance as there have been times that we had to go elsewhere as all the tables were reserved.

Service is excellent, discreet and very friendly. The one or two waiters keep a vigil eye on everybody and each individual's needs. There is never a feel of hurriedness here though one can have a quick meal as well as an extended leisurely time with friends.

As the name indicates, the decor has all to do with Chickens, but no feel of Disneyland here! While there is a great choice on the menu of chicken, there is an equally good choice of other meats and of fish and they also cater to vegetarians.

We can warmly recommend this as and have returned on various occasions. Unfortunately we were not able to book 1-18 August as this seems to be their summer closure time.

The menu is varied, the portions are the right size and they are presented well. Their wine list, though small, is varied. The price is around CHF 40 for a set menu that includes starter, main course and desert.

Rue Lachenal is a one-way street and parking is not easy to find though around lunch-time spaces free up even in front of the restaurant itself.

If one is unlucky as to not find a space at the Le Nid'Poule, then Rue Lachenal offers many other restaurants. The restaurant will appeal also to teenagers but small children and their parents would probably feel more at ease at the Indian Restaurant down the same road offering a decent buffet.

We have returned on many occassions and have never regretted this. Definitively one to recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le nid'poule also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to le nid'poule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le nid'poule, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.