We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip Top Steak Shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Entrecote Couronnee

L'Entrecote Couronnee
5, rue des Paquis, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly L'Entrecote Couronne) (Pâquis Navigation)
+41 22 732 84 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,134 restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $28 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pâquis Navigation
Geneva
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tip Top Steak Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent an amazing relaxed evening here with some new work colleagues for a get to know you session. The chef/owner had prepared us a special four course menu which impressed everyone and, in particular, the perfect filet beef with foie gras was simply heaven.

I have dined here many times and never gotten round to writing a review, so all I can say is there are may reasons I have eaten here so much: Friendly personal service, a pleasant and comfortable ambience and of course a great menu of which the namesake entrecôte is the piece de resistance. Of course, I should also mention it’s a great place to chill over coffee and a digestif (or three).

I would recommend to go relax, have a great meal, a nice bottle of wine and perhaps a cheeky armagnac to round it all off. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    100
    62
    24
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A nice meal in a nice city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to get the final table on a Friday night without a reservation. Service was prompt and we felt like we were in a friend's home having dinner in familiar surroundings. Cosy and bustling with the right atmosphere of a bistro that was not too noisy. The entrecôte was no let down and wonderful with some local red wine. A must try for anyone visiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best "entrecôte" in Geneva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are looking for an "entrecôte", there are many places in Geneva. Some are very well known such as "Le relais de l'entrecôte" ou "Le café de Paris", but none can serve you better piece of meat. Especially if you are looking for something less "industrial" and more intimate. The "sauce maison" is done in-house and you can definitely taste it. I havn't tasted much of the menu as I am a big fan of their "entrecôte". The restaurant is really small so it can be noisy and the decor is cosy but nothing exceptional. But you will be delighted by your food. The wine menu is carefully selected and every single bottle is a little surprise.
If you want to end up your meal with some kick, ask a glass of their "vieille prune".... ;-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food to value is spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal here. Service was excellent. We got carpaccio then i got the chicken and husband got the beef medallions. We also got the dessert to split. Amazing! Not crazy pricey, for a bottle of wine, carpaccio

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Poor start but improved as it went”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A typical French-style small restaurant with cosy decor. Initial interaction with one of the waiters left a bit to be desired - suspicious as to whether I had a booking (I had) and lacking graciousness. The bowl of bread had been sliced a few hours before, so was a bit stale on the outside slices. And on asking for some butter or olive oil, I got grudgingly given a plate with a single foil-wrapped pat of butter adrift in the middle. Things looked up with the complementary small glass of rose (which was excellent) and the l'amuse bouche of couscous. The entre of honey and pepper marinated duck was good enough. The mains was mixed however, with the veal being very tough and the vegetables (courgettes and carrots) slightly overcooked. The sauce of red lentils and fresh field mushrooms was good however as was the potato rosti. The wine by the glass was disappointing (a Gamay) with an OK nose but lacking flavour and too acid on the palate. The Peruvian waiter was a delight and it was the final interaction with him about my poor Spanish that meant I left the restaurant with a smile.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Entrecote Couronnee also viewed

 
Geneva, Switzerland
Geneva, Switzerland
 

Been to L'Entrecote Couronnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Entrecote Couronnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.