We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe du Soleil

Cafe du Soleil
6, place du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva CH-1209, Switzerland
022 733 34 17
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,252 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favourite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Useally when my wife ask me where I want to eat, my answer is Cafe du Soleil. Why? Because you feel at home there. Entering the restaurant you will be met by the boss who is a masterful woman.It reminds you of your mother, She effectivly find a table for you and suddenly -after ordeing- the tastefull food is there in front of you. Eat or steak or fondue with happiness and listen to the sound of other happy people. Afterwards you pay willingly the reasonable bill.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    196
    55
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant. Full of character.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This restaurant does the baiscs and does them superbly well.

I had steak and chips which were first class and very tasty, my girlfriend had the fondue.

Both were stunning. The service was exellent, prompt and friendly.

The restaurant is cosy and has a lot of character (bare stone walls etc)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Came here for dinner with friends - the ambiance is typical of Geneva (very diverse and lively), though Geneva is not known for its aesthetism, so the decor and tables, etc are very basic and not reflective of any particular heritage. Service was prompt and we devouvered the fondue, but everything else we tried on the (limited) menu was very mediocre. The wine list had a good selection of Swiss wines, but the restaurant did not have even remotely appropriate wine glasses for drinking wines. Overall, everything but the fondue was extremely unremarkable (and, since you are in Geneva, quite expensive).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

was here mid week and came without a booking. Was fortunate that i was able to be seated right away. The fondue was wonderful and I recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machu Piccho, Cusco, Peru
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Typical Swiss atmosphere + Typical delicious fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you are looking for a typical swiss place, with swiss atmosphere and swiss food without being in the mountains, this is one of the places.

Don't expect something fancy, expect something old and cosy.

The fondue is good and the other dishes too. What I like about this restaurant is that they change some of the dishes by the seasons.

Great place for all kinds of "events", just as a couple, between friends, family, work diner... Works out for everything.

A good place to taste !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Soleil also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.