We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheese fondue to dream about” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe du Soleil

Cafe du Soleil
6, place du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva CH-1209, Switzerland
022 733 34 17
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,252 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A cheese fondue to dream about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My friend and I braved an extremely cold night in February in Geneva to have a cheese fondue at the Cafe du Soleil as a good fondue was the one food experience I really wanted from travelling Switzerland. It was everything the reviews promised...I probably had the best fondue in the world! Loved the atmosphere as well

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    196
    55
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Popular for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Solid Swiss fare, they specialise in fondue. They also serve a great salad and serve decent local wine. Worth a visit but booking is advisable - a lot of regulars eat here.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this in Geneva - if you're on a budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is the place to go in Geneva for great food at very reasonable prices. It's near the hotel Intercontinental, less than 500 m and just on the bus line 3. Their menu is on the web, you can see what you can get and the prices are just OK. The fondue is to be highly recommended - a must when in Switzerland - and best with their Dole Blanche rosé wine. The salads are great too, both in taste and size. We were in Geneva for 5 days and ate there twice. So - don't hesitate if you like the sight of menu. And - on top of all this, both the decor (very rustic and classic) and the staff come out on top. I'd go there anytime!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great place. Eat here. We booked this place because the reviews were good, they had the menu and prices on their website (so no surprises) and they took our booking 3 weeks in advance online. When we found the place it turns out all the people are seated in a garden out front, I wasn't expecting that - it was nice out there but my wife is super sensitive to mosquitos, she actually attracts them from neighboring suburbs, so we requested to sit inside which was also good. This place is a lively restaurant with atmosphere, not some quiet whispering place. The guy who served us was good in that he stopped us from ordering too much, and he was right, we struggled to finish what we had - its always a sign of a good restaurant when the staff know their meals so well. He recommended things without being pushy.
We came for the fondue, and it was brilliantly delicious. As was the prawn salady thing. And the wine.
All good. Book here, eat here, you will enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent fondue but place badly needs an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place makes really good fondue; maybe the best one in town, or in the top three. I see it more of a winter restaurant but it has got some nice terrace outside for warmer periods. It always crowded so better book in advance. It gives you the swiss experience but as most of the things here you enjoy it once: after the first time you start counting the number of things they should do to get to modern standards. This place is not immune. Walls need some recoloration, tables need some upgrade, floors some work. They should also start accepting cards as their bulk of customers comes from the expat community (and they dont like carrying cash).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Soleil also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.