We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patara Fine Thai Cuisine

Patara Fine Thai Cuisine
13, Quai du Mont-Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Mont-Blanc)
022 7315566
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Patara Fine Thai Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #218 of 1,256 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $27 - $107
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mont-Blanc
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Superb location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is located right across from lake Geneva in a very central area. I am vegetarian and my husband is allergic to shellfish. Since Thai cuisine relies heavily on fish sauce and shrimp paste this does not work for us. Patara did an excellent job meeting our needs and provided us with a delicious and satisfying meal for my husband and I as well as our 10 & 14 year olds.

One thing to note is that their menu follows a regular menu in which diners choose individual appetizers and entrees. Since we are used to eating Thai family style Patara was more than willing to do this for us.

One warning though: as with everything in Geneva expect to pay a hefty price for your dinner. I was the only one who had 1 glass of wine, we shared 2 bottles of sparkling water and our dinner for 4 - no dessert or coffee, etc came to over $400 francs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    51
    32
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not a bad option for special occassions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great fish and beef curry but over all poor value for money. A little inconsistent with their food. The cashew chicken has tasted different each time I've had it (3 so far). Service has improved remarkably since the first time I visted this place 2 years ago. Although the service was normal recently, its been pretty bad in the past. Staff do not make you feel welcome, don't respond for hours and bring cold chocolate fondant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Patara is nice, upscale Thai. The service is great, the meal choices typical Thai, and while YES, the experience is nice, what you are paying for is the ambiance.

Take a loved one, enjoy peering through the window facing Lake Geneva and enjoy a non-rushed dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An amazing taste of Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located on the coast of Lake Geneve, Patara is a wonderful culinary experience. We had a wide variety of dishes and each one was amazing. For me, the best was a Curry Beef, extraordinary and spicy flavors. Service was very friendly and attentive. Don´t miss it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Prime location, nice service but very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location is one of the best in geneva, view on the Jet and nice walk after diner.
Although the service was caring and nice, the cuisine was far from being worth the price and the reputation.
Honestly, maybe the most average Thai food I have had in geneva.
A canteen in thailand would do much better !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patara Fine Thai Cuisine also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Patara Fine Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patara Fine Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.