We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything average but the bill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patara Fine Thai Cuisine

Patara Fine Thai Cuisine
13, Quai du Mont-Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Mont-Blanc)
022 7315566
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 50% *
Patara Fine Thai Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #218 of 1,252 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $25 - $101
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mont-Blanc
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“everything average but the bill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

it's definitely pricey, but everyone should know that in advance before booking, as it is located in one of the top hotels in Europe. Although the coconut chicken soup was excellent, the remainder of the dinner was of average quality. Noodles especially, were definitely not meeting my expectations. What's not standard in this place is the incredible speed of the service as well as the kindness and politeness of the waiters, but that's not enough to qualify as top restaurant. At all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    26
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hi tried this restaurant at suggestion of hotel staff at the hotel d'angleterre next door.
We are from australia and travel often to thailand and asia as well as europe.
So granted we are in europe, its geneve and the hotel is in a 5 star ( albeit a poorly maintained one) hotel.food tiny portions very average and extraordinarily expensive.
Better food from my local thai at about 10 % of the price- the aud is almost same as the chf.

We had great indian the night before for about 30% of what we paid at patara.
Save your swiss francs and eat elsewhere

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As almost all restaurants of Geneve serve french cuisine, Patara made us happy with pleasant variety. Quality of food was at the top, price unfortunately also, but it worst every cent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Marriage in Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This restaurant is a true marriage between Thai Cuisine and the very finest of Swiss produce.I liked it but it might not suit everyone.This restaurant has branches in Thailand and I can't wait to try them.
In Geneva however only Amex Platinum and above.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A bit pricey..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

but overall the food was good and so was the service. We thought the food was tasty and when we requested extra spicy they delivered.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patara Fine Thai Cuisine also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Patara Fine Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patara Fine Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.