We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing food for refined pallets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat-Botte

Le Chat-Botte
13 quai du Mont-Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Mont-Blanc)
+41 227166920
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Chat-Botte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,252 Restaurants in Geneva
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mont-Blanc
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Truly amazing food for refined pallets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had dinner on the restaurant's lovely terrace overlooking the lake. We hadn't booked but managed to get a table although the restaurant was full thanks to the very kind host.

Service was excellent and quite formal as you'd expect in a Michelin-starred restaurant. Beautiful large table with real, heavy silverware.

Everything from beginning to end was just exquisite. Worth noting in particular was the tomato salad (who would believe?!) which was divine - accompanied by 3 delicious scoops of different tomato sorbets, this was just so refined, we couldn't stop praising it. Worth noting as well was the veal rib, which was extremely tender and truly delicious. All that with one of the best Rose wine we've ever tasted.

Needless to say, dinner was very expensive - $300 for two, but worth every cent.

A delightful restaurant, well worth its Michelin star.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    29
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I chose Le Chat-Botte at the Hotel Beau Rivage in Geneva to "celebrate" or, more appropriately, "observe," our last night in Geneva and the start of our trip home. The meal could not have been more delightful. And the service could not have been better. We both agreed that this was, by far, the best meal we had during our three-week stay in Europe. I had the set menu that started with lobster and ended with a raspberry and chocolate parfait-like dessert. My husband had the lobster, veal and a fruit and coconut ice cream dessert called a minestrone. Both of us had a cheese plate before the dessert with a selection of cheeses from an unbelievably beautiful cheese cart. The dinner was very expensive, like most restaurants in Geneva but if you are looking for a celebratory evening, this is an excellent choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“To celebrate winning a contract, we chose Le Chat-Botte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were a team of at least 10 and chose to celebrate a contract win at Le Chat-Botte. First, the hotel itself is beautiful... Hotel Beau Rivage is directly set on Lake Geneva and le Jet D'eau, so champagne at the piano bar with great service set the mood.

For the dinner courses, Le Chat-Botte put on a show with a 5 course meal including cheese plate. The service was impeccable, the food presentation and quality were fantastic, and the wine selection was perfect. I am an accidental choosy eater, allergic-to-this-and-that, I pulled the head waiter aside before sitting down, and they accommodated me with a genuine smile not a sly sneer.

This is a pricey dining experience, well worth your time, so let the restaurant assist you in setting up a table near the window overlooking Lake Geneva and you are sure to have a wonderful evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

They live on their reputation.... it was a very good restaurant with innovative ideas. Nowadays you pay a lot (too much for what it is) for nice food but nothing at all exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth its Michelin star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had a very nice three course lunch with wine. Although this was far from the best Michelin star restaurant I have been to, we had a really nice time and enjoyed all the dishes. One very nice tough was that the chef came out and asked us if we had been happy with our meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat-Botte also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Le Chat-Botte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat-Botte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.