We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food, typical tourist trap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot du Boeuf Rouge

Bistrot du Boeuf Rouge
17 Rue Alfred-Vincent, Geneva CH 1201, Switzerland
022-732-7537
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,311 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“OK food, typical tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our food was just OK, nothing special, like many other french restaurants around town. Not sure what the whole hype is all about. Steaks (cooked to medium) were hard to chew. Sausages were good, interesting flavor. Appetizer platter was our best dish. However, the main problem was with our wine selection. My boss knows his wine really well, and when he ordered one bottle from the wine list, the manager came back saying that it's no longer available, and suggested another one. My boss picked another one from the list, and got the whole speech from the manager that he should REALLY try another one, and kept pushing their "special" wine (highly overpriced Merlot). The manager was soooo pushy, that it got uncomfortable, and even though we are not big fans of Merlot, we gave up and decided to give it a try. It was below-average, to say the least, so we left feeling like the manager totally took advantage of us. There are better places around to have a tasty meal, don't fall for this tourist trap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    97
    21
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Red Beef, but more like...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Red sausage. Alsacian all the way. Lots of sausages and pate. Wine list is great. Atmosphere great. Staff great. It is right across from EastWest Hotel, where we stayed. Nice off the beaten path find!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Everything about Boeuf Rouge is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Two of us visited the Boeuf Rouge last night (Friday) without booking, we arrived at 9pm without pre-booking and only had to wait 5 mins to be seated by the very pleasant and welcoming owner who then introduced us to his son in order to sort our drinks out. We were seated at the table near where the most amazing dishes are brought out by the waiters then plated up for the customers to witness, great way of doing it all.
The whole ambience of the restaurant is addictive, it is busy without feeling overcrowded, the hustle and bustle of a good characterful eatery, full of life.
My better half started with the Parfait de foie de volaille aux pistaches, basically chicken liver pate with pistachios, it comes with toasted french bread in a tin, great way of serving. I decided to appease my need for a good french onion soup which was perfect in every way.
Main course was the rack of lamb for two which comes to the plating table having been roasted in salt. The salt is cracked off then the dish plated by a waiter in front of you, the side dishes are beautiful as is the rack.
By this time we were very satisfied but couldn't resist sharing the chocolate mousse.

Overall, wonderful. Bottle of wine 50chf, total for three courses for two inc wine 180chf which, considering the great quality of everything, is definitely a steal in Geneva.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Can't Get Much Better in Geneva!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of our absolute favorite restaurants in Geneva! It's a little on the pricey side, but considering what you could pay for a restaurant of this quality, it's a great value for the money! Fillets de perches and the beef here are scrumptious. The chocolate mousse is to die for and is the best I've had anywhere! Very fun decor, too. Definitely make reservations if you want a meal on Friday night...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Really good place if you like specialties from Lyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Walk in and move to a small bistro in France. Great decor and the staff is if the best - people who's been in the job for years and know well their stuff. The quality of the meat is of the best in town.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot du Boeuf Rouge also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Bistrot du Boeuf Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot du Boeuf Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.