We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good facilities, OK location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Jean-Violette 15, Geneva 1205, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 104 hotels in Geneva
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, good facilities, OK location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for a weekend break - perfect choice for that kind of stay - staff were super friendly, service is great (they give you cookies when you check out - nice touch). I stayed in the cheapest room, which was pretty nice. Location-wise it's a little away from the centre but close to the old quarter which is definitely worth a visit so not too far out of the way. Clear 4/5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to register your feedback online.

We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the level of service delivered by our team members, as well as the hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With Kindest Regards,

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    78
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
66
19
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The only real problem with this hotel is the location. It's a long walk from the lake and shopping area and the neighbourhood it is in is not incredibly nice - not dangerous but not nice. Also, the entrance of the hotel is on a pedestrian block so taxis have to stop at either end of the street and the hotel staff never know which end a taxi they call will go to.

The room is comfortable and well designed. There is free WiFi and a mini bar. The TV has a large number of channels in many languages. Breakfast was good and is available until late morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Guest Relations Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to register your feedback online.
We are sorry if the hotel’s neighborhood was not matching your expectations.
Although many guests appreciate “this Latin atmosphere”, we understand it might not please every guest.
We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the wifi access, the comfort of the room, and we are delighted to learn that breakfast was up to your satisfaction.
With our kind regards
Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a truly wonderful hotel in the heart of Geneva city. It is 'design', but more importantly it has foreseen just about any need of its clients. Good wifi for two tools, if you need it, Iphone stereo, flatscreen with multichannels incl BBC and CNN, wonderfully richly supplied breakfast buffet in the morning, with genuinely well cooked 4min eggs, fresj croissants, pain au chocolat, and sliced bread, homemade yoghurts with fruits, salmon and cheeses, cappucinos made at your request etc.
The room provides bathrobe, slippers, access to fitness and sauna, but also roomservice from two nearby restaurants, in case you feel like a private evening. Workcorner with speedy wifi, and well stocked minibar completes it all.

Room Tip: Even their basic room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review via Tripadvisor.
Thank you for taking the time to register your nice comments about our room,internet access.
We are also delighted to learn that the breakfast were up to your satisfaction.
We sincerely hope to welcome you soon at La Cour Des Augustins.
Very best regards,


Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I found this boutique hotel via the Hotel Tonight app. I was unsuspectantly in Geneva after striking out in Evian.Clean, comfortable updated.. Nice front desk staff.
Gated secure parking for 20chf.
The 24 chf per person breakfast was a questionable value unless you are rushed. Several nice places directly across the street are a better value.
Great hotel though. I would return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice comments on Tripadvisor.com.

We are glad to know that you appreciated the comfort of the room and the friendliness of our team.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and encourages our teams to continue working in the right direction.

Many thanks for your contribution and we will carefully study your remarks.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Jerome CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great stay here. A short one but nonetheless, pleasant! Upon entering we were greeted by friendly hotel staff that made check in a breeze. The room itself was spacious and perfect. We stayed in the executive suite which had a kitchen and a small terrace area which made for a nice breakfast in the morning. You have everything you need in the room: mini-bar, nespresso machine, bath robe, slippers, and basic toiletries. The walls looked like they could have used a new coat of paint. A nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at La Cour Des Augustins during your recent visit in Geneva.

We appreciate the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience and we thank you for your lovely comments.

We are pleased to know that your room with its equipment and the hotel facilities were to your convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel.

With kind regards,


Jérôme CIVET

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I can't speak highly enough about La Cour des Augustines, the hotel is lovely and far enough away from the tourist areas but not too far (10 minute walk to Old Town, 15 mins to lake). The room was lovely and the staff were welcoming and helpful. Free bottles of water are left in your room everyday, you can access free wifi and receive a free travel card on arrival (very handy for trams).

The breakfast is 24CHF, which is a bit pricey but has lots of variety. We'd recommend Globus Department Store (Rue de Rhone 48) in town for breakfast - in their coffee/bar you can have crepes made in front of you with all sorts of ingredients.

Geneva is a tad on the expensive side, but if you turn left out of the hotel and then right down Rue Prévost-Martin, there are a number of mini-mart type stores where you can get cheaper food (especially wine which you can then chill in the fridge in your room!). These are all closed on Sundays though.

If I had to say one negative, it would be that the air-con unit was a little noisy, but I really would recommend this hotel if you're planning a trip to Geneva.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice comment on Tripadvisor.com.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed the comfort of the room and the friendliness of our team.

Your opinion is important for us and encourages our team to continue working in the right direction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With our best regards,

Jérome CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Cours. From the moment we stepped through the door the service was exceptional and the hotel even provided us with complimentary transportation passes to get around Geneva. Nice room with a complete range of amenities. We really felt welcomed at this hotel and after traveling two weeks it was a lovely surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to register your feedback online.

We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the level of service delivered by our team members, as well as the hotel facilities.

Your opinion is of great value to us and encourages our teams to continue working in the right direction.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

With Kindest Regards,

Jérome CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel

Address: Rue Jean-Violette 15, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#13 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#16 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Geneva’s Latin Quarter, La Cour des Augustins is an innovatively designed hotel with a distinctly urban style. It modernises the boutique hotel concept, combining architectural heritage with contemporary interior design.Far from the city’s busy main roads and right in the heart of Genevan life, you can easily stroll through the Old City, the art and business districts, and the charming Sardinian village of Carouge.The concept was designed in collaboration with the Swiss designer Philippe Cramer, based on the idea of personalised and diverse spaces. The hotel harmoniously and subtly blends modern and classic design.Composed of 16 rooms and 24 suites that masterfully combine design, comfort and technology, the hotel is comprised of two buildings from the 1850s. Both building were entirely renovated in 2006 and are connected by an interior courtyard. Each room and suite has a unique and specific style, with contemporary designer furniture and objects. Whether you are planning to stay for a night, a week, a month or longer, La Cour des Augustins will fulfil all of your expectations. La Cour des Augustins also serves as an art gallery, hosting a permanent private collection of African art. Between vibrantly coloured designer objects, African statues, masks and figurines bring unexpected depth to the hotel decor. In each room and suite, you will find various artworks by international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cour Des Augustins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.