We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free and Entertaining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Natural History (Museum d'Histoire naturelle)

Museum of Natural History (Museum d'Histoire naturelle)
1 Route de Malagnou, Geneva 1208, Switzerland
(0)22 418 63 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 58 attractions in Geneva
Type: Natural History Museums
Attraction Details
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Free and Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

To anyone who is even a bit interested in the animals of our world, this will be a great place to spend some time in. We found it by accident at a beautiful hill overlooking the city and Lake Geneva, and we were amazed that the relatively old and inexpensive interior housed such a huge collection of all kinds of species. The ground floor presents the local fauna in quite life-like arrangements, while upper floors host exotic animals from tigers and kangaroos to polar bears and vampire bats. Children will love it, and even adults can get lost in the wonderful variety of nature.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    48
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good for a rainy day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very good museum for families. You should set aside at least 3-4 hours. Most signs are in French only, but some parts have signs in German and English as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“great place for all ages...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

went here several times and always enjoyed my visits...

Many interesting objects to see, even my kindergarten kid loves it...divided into specific segments, you can find plants, animals, and other natural objects displayed interestingly in3 floors..

We have elephants, tigers, and monkeys which will guarante fascinate your kids...the history of the earth is also presented, complete with interesting process took place on earth..

It's free..so make sure you come and visit...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for something to do on a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I particularly appreciate the geological presentation of Switzerland on some kind of a moving plateau on the top floor. Lots of information on planets, dinosaurs, minerals.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Natural History Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited this museum to pass the time on a rainy Winter's day, and since we are a family with two children it seemed like an appropriate thing to do. The museum is free, which we thought was a good choice, so we sort of just scanned through.
There were large animal displays as well as a wide range of dinosaurs. There was a great exhibit on animal waste for the kids to explore! Interesting displays of human anatomy and prehistory. Overall, it was a lot of fun. Definitely recommend, although the reason for my 4/5 rating is that it's nothing new. Much like London's.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Natural History (Museum d'Histoire naturelle) also viewed

 
Geneva, Switzerland
Geneva, Switzerland
 

Been to Museum of Natural History (Museum d'Histoire naturelle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Natural History (Museum d'Histoire naturelle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of Natural History (Museum d'Histoire naturelle) to your Saves list