We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't ever come back” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cenacle

Save Saved
You added Le Cenacle to your Saves list
Le Cenacle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Cenacle
17 Prom Charles-Martin, Geneva 1208, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“I won't ever come back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

I stayed there for 6 weeks while looking for an apartment.
I first stayed a few days in a double Parc room (VERY expensive but there was no other room available). The room was big with a private bathroom/WC. The value did not match the price at all.

Then I moved in a standard room located in the East part of the Cenacle. It was awful!!!! Pictures on their website are totally untrue.
Rooms are cleaned only once every 7-9 days. The floor seemed so dirty thqt I did not took off my shoes afraid of being contaminated by some germs (still I lived in strange places in South America but I've never seen that before)
When I arrived there were 8 spiders in the room and their the webs. I complained to the reception. I was answered that the Cenacle is in a parc with trees so that spiders cannot be avoided. Angry, I replied that woods or not I don't understand why spiderwebs are not removed.

Much too expensive and dirty.
It is noisy. You hear people walking, chatting, singing... and even people in the WC!
It is full of dirty students and strange characters whose stay is subventionned while you pay full price.

No telephone in rooms
Internet access is free but very slow and sometimes out of order

The breakfast is AWFUL. Breakfast is supposed to be from 7am to 9m but by 8am there's nothing left to eat. Everyday you have to beg the employee to have some bread. If you try at 7 am, you also see that there's only some poor bread, jam and egg.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
3
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I have somewhat special relations with Le Cenacle. I stayed there twice. First, when I came to Geneva to do my Phd and was looking for an apartment. Again, almost five years later, when I left my apartment there and was finishing last formalities with the university. So, Le Cenacle really frames that period of my life.

In 2003 I stayed in the older (and much cheaper part of the hostel). That part does not feel like a hotel, it looks like a very basic dorm, so do not expect much comfort. I stayed there for about 10 days (2 weeks?) and at times it was rather depressing. The doors and walls are not soundproof, so how quiet it is going to be depends solely on your neighbours (but this is not a place for stag parties, so most nights it was quiet, but not all of them). Breakfast was just very basic -- as far as I remember just bread, jam and butter (once jam was with mold though). Different types of people stay there, there are some 'weird' people who are probably there forever, some visiting students, foreign students on group trips, etc. You feel yourself like in a hostel, people are friendly and happy to chat (which is nice if you stay here for a period of time and do not know anyone in town) . It was clean enough, though dust bins and bed sheets were not changed frequently. The park around the place is rather nice and actually I liked the location (it is not very central, but not that far). And it was cheap. Now, in 2008 I stayed in the restored "villa' part (left from reception and upstairs). It was whole different experience. Beautiful building, view to the park, you really feel like you are leaving in a villa. It was quet, comfortable and nice. Even though the breakfast was exactly like before (but no mold this time) I would certainly recommend it. We (that stay was with my spouse) really enjoyed that stay (was it 4 days?). And the price for these villa rooms is also quite reasonable. If I am going to be in Geneva again, I will probably stay here again. My ratings above reflect both stays.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

my parents always stay here when they come to visit me in Geneva. They stay in one of the refurbished rooms in the old Villa, with private bathroom. (Other rooms have shared bathrooms). The price you will pay here is very rare for Geneva and the hotel is very well positioned and has a bus stop in front of the hotel that will take you in 5 minutes to city center!
I think this is a very good option if you are not looking for a fancy hotel, but only a clean room in a very good location!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eurotraveler2233
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

The rooms here are moldy. The staff is beyond rude, especially Marie. The breakfast is never kept up. It was always noisy with church people singing and waking everyone up. Yet they had terribly rude signs everywhere telling everyone else to be quiet. SO RUDE! I have never experienced such an awful staff anywhere, and not just hotels. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Cenacle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cenacle

Address: 17 Prom Charles-Martin, Geneva 1208, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Cenacle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cenacle Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cenacle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.