We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de Jeunesse Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge de Jeunesse Geneva to your Saves list
Auberge de Jeunesse Geneva
Rue Rothschild 28-30, Geneva 1202, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, and found it to be a pleasant hostel. We got in at about midnight, and they were helpful when checking in, but then it turns out we had to make our beds ourselves which proved very difficult as we were in a 6 bed dorm, so this had to be done in darkness as to not to annoy the others. The shower facilities were not the best - there was often a queue in the mornings. The breakfast was good quality, and the decor of the place also aided to our stay here. A good point about this hostel was that there were lockers included in the price of the rooms, and these were big enough to put our bags in, and they seemed very secure.

Room Tip: We got one next to the toilet, so there was quite often a lot of door slamming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    58
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
6
10
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HCMC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hi,
I went their on august.
The hostel is very clean and safe.
Staff was very helpfull and kind to us. It is not directly in the centre but very close and they give a free 24 hour ride on public transportation.
Even if it is not the cheapest hostel I had, I would still highky recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here for one night in early August - it was reasonably okay. The breakfast was really good, despite the long line. The internet only works in the lobby. The hostel is clean and spacious, and the bathrooms seem clean. The staff were friendly. It is in a good location, near the railway station and near the lake.
Good for the price it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed in this hostel many times over the years. I was very disappointed with my last visit in late June 2013. I arrived and had to wait for ages to be checked in. Staff were swapping shifts and socializing as I waited like a fool. There were not interested in checking me in.
I was put in a room next to the reading room in a part of the hostel I have not stayed in before. There were a number of problems. The essential lamp with shelf had gone in this room so there is nowhere to put your watch, keycard, bottle of water and phone at night! I found this very annoying. On this floor there was one shower to about 20+ beds!!! Unbelievable! There was also only one toilet to 20+ beds. What's going on here? Make sure you are not given a bed in this part of the hostel.
Antisocial behaviour is still allowed with people entering the room either drunk or intent on making noise as others sleep. A security guard patrolling the floors would be a welcome addition.
So the hostel has be revamped but there are numerous problems that management need to address now.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms up near the reading room as you'll be sharing a bathroom and shower with 20+ oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I spent 2 nights here in March following a ski vacation in the mountains. On the plus side, it's very clean, inexpensive, and is about a 15min walk to the old town and a couple blocks from the Lake. Really beautiful walking along the lakefront. Or you can take the trolley, which has a stop about 100m from the hostel. Breakfast was fine. Bathrooms were spotless. On the negative, it's thoroughly sterile and institutional-looking. Zero charm. Lots of concrete and bare walls. Very young-skewing demographic. Checkin was a little understaffed and I had to wait in line. Wifi was too weak to reach my room and I had to come downstairs to the common area. I didn't have any issues with noise but I think it was only half-full. Given Geneva's high cost, I'd stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This particular hostel was the second one I stayed in during nearly a week in Geneva, just because the availability changed in my short-notice planning. The property itself is kind of ugly - construction workers and their materials line the floors, and there are only hotels and dinky apartments nearby. Also, a large group of people trying to take care of check-in and paperwork were treated with disregard by the hostel's one employee in the middle of a thursday night. The on-site manager did not arrive to the front "desk" until thirty minutes of waiting had gone by.

However, I had a four-person room to myself at a half-rate and found the location of the hostel sublime. It was just near Lake Geneva and led to a truly gorgeous walk along the lake. The hostel was well air-conditioned and clean, and I felt comfortable in both my room and the multiple lounges around the spacious building. Though my stay was not entirely pleasant, it was an average place to sleep, and worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We travelled with a group of 12 to Geneva for a Model United Nations conference. Since we were on a budget, we chose a youth hostel. Once we got there, it took a while to get the key cards to our rooms. The rooms were very basic (nothing but three bunk-beds) but they were clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were quite clean, but there was lots of hair on the floor and one of the showers smelled a little strange. Breakfast wasn't bad, but quite basic (bread, yogurt, cereals, coffee/milk/tea/juice) and dinner was also good, although we only ate at the hostel on one night. In the evenings, large groups congregated outside due to the free wifi, and were quite loud. This shouldn't be a problem if you close the window (we kept ours open, as it was quite hot during our stay). All in all, I would recommend it if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge de Jeunesse Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Jeunesse Geneva

Address: Rue Rothschild 28-30, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geneva Hostel enjoys a central location in Geneva and is in a historic building from the 19th century. It features free Wi-Fi and a restaurant serving Swiss cuisine in the evenings. Lake Geneva is only 800 ft away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge de Jeunesse Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Jeunesse Geneva Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de Jeunesse Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.