We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel. Looks better than it is.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Geneve Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Geneve Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Geneve Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de Zurich 19 | 1201 Geneva, Geneva 1214, Switzerland (Pâquis Navigation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #46 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel. Looks better than it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Nice staff. Beautiful lobby. Expensive hotel, so we were looking forward to our stay. We were handed a map of Geneva, which seemed not to show or list any sights. Later we realised that this is because there aren't really any sights in Geneva... apart from the lake.

We were also each handed travel cards for all of the public transport in Geneva during our stay. Very pleased with this. It would be nice if more hotels did the same. Unfortunately the travel cards really didn't prove to be useful... partly because the hotel is just so close to everything, anyway... and partly because the public transport system in Geneva is abysmal. The one time we actually used the system (trams), mainly because it had started to rain, we found out just how badly organinsed it is. if you want to catch one tram and then connect to another you have to walk a block and a half in between. This is not what I call "connecting" and contrary to any public transport system I've ever used in the world (and I've used a lot). None of this is the hotel's fault, though.

The room was huge. Very nice. Comfortable proper double bed. Our booking stated that we would have a couch in the room. We didn't. Instead 2 chairs. No big deal, though. Pretty bathroom with bath and separate shower. The bath also had a movable shower head, which would be great for washing kids hair. This had amazing water pressure! The actual shower, however, didn't seem to have much water pressure at all. Odd. The toilet was also in a separate room near the front door. Unfortunately, the toilet seat was broken in half on one side and pinched skin every time one sat down. Not pleasant.

There was a spa section in the hotel... with no actual spa. It did have a sauna and steam room, though.

Now for sleep quality... Not great... and not what we were expecting for such a nice hotel. Very thin walls, horrible pillows, lights that made an electric buzzing/clicking sound constantly throughout the night (yes, this is while they were turned off), also the elevators made a loud dinging sound every single time they opened... on the way up or down.

Overall, I was very disappointed with the fact that we spent so much money on this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    343
    183
    62
    21
See reviews for
187
155
67
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

novotel confirms being one of the best choices when travelling with children. They offer spacious rooms with excellent value for money. Also this Geneva Novotel confirms this good standard and I would reccomend it, if not willing to pay abnormal prices that other Geneva hotel request.
The location is not the best one...in the evening there is quite an 'evening life' around it which is not what you would reccomend to a family with children. However it is very close and walking distance from everything you need in Geneva plus rooms , service , parking, free internet, breakfast and everything you need confirm me once again that Novotel is one of the best choices for families when staying in cities.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I will be short :

1. The rooms are unclean and horrible with strange bed sheet's and zero personality ! A mix of odors are governaiting inside because there is zero ventilation since no windows open !!!!

2.They hold money on your credit card , because of the minibar !!!! If you ask them why, the answer is : '' because you can use it without payng and we must have an insurance'' !!!!!!!!!
I consider that an insult !!!!!!!!!!!!

3. Strange neighborhood , with a mixture of people , night clubs, dirty streets , unsafe feeling !

4. I am sure you can find better deals for the same price !

5. Conclusion : STAY AWAY ! I was stupid by choosing this hotel ! Very cheap !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Novotel-Geneve, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Dear Client,

We are really sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

The majority of our guest enjoys staying at the Novotel Genève Centre and we do regret that you are not part of them.

We do assure that we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any kind of information you may wish to know.

Sincerely Yours,

Mirco IADA
General Manager
Novotel Genève Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We enjoyed a lot our stay in Genève, specially because we stayed in this Novotel. It is great located, a few steps directly to the centre and the lake, very friendly staff. The room was big and comfortable, with fridge, tea/coffee. There was a great LCD television and a sofa, the bed was King-size and comfortable. The breakfast was above our expectations, with different kind of scramble eggs, sausages, rice and vegetables, and breads, iogurts, fruits, whatever we could want to eat. We loved it!
The city and the hotel really pleased us and made us want to come back soon! Don´t miss it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

It is in a very good location,5min walk to the lake .we can walk every where from our hotel to city center . the room is specious and clean and it has a modern furnishing.They are moderately priced.but the receptions are not friendly .and because of that at first look in check in we became a little disappointed

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I travel to this hotel regularly for busines - my hotel has a contract at this hotel. My main complaint is that the hotel is constantly kept at an unreasonably warm temperature - I don't understand what clientelle they are catering too that wants their rooms at 23c/75f degrees or warmer. The windows don't open and even after setting my room at the coldest temperature, it never cools down. There are no sheets on the bed on top of it, just a duvet (which is as soft as sandpaper), so it is horrible unconducive to good sleep unless you like being very warm & toasty at night. If you do, look no further. Also, the rooms get horribly stuffy and the hotel has muggy, moldy smell because there is zero ventilation since no windows open. Otherwise, the hotel is clean. The bathrooms are very nice - clean and bright. The rooms have zero personality, as most novotels. However, they are much more spacious than most European hotels - they are more along the lines of American hotel room sizes. The staff is always very professional, approachable, accomodating & professional. There is free internet in the lobby computers which is a wonderful facility, and the hotel is centrally located to most things in Geneva (although it is in the red light district, but that doesn't bother me). All in all, clean but not refreshing unless you are cool-natured and like rooms very warm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I have mixed feelings about the hotel. The rooms are spacious, but the beds are uncomfortable. There was no top sheet on the bed, which I didn't like as I was not at all confident that they washed the duvet cover EVERY time a guest checked out and this was what was touching my skin at night...ewww. The AC never got cool enough for me at night and since there was no top sheet, it was too warm for me. The bathtub shower head had a major leak, so we just used the shower instead. It didn't feel clean to me either. In fact, one of the glasses had lip stick marks on it, which made me even more concerned about the duvet cover. There are most definitely "professionals" working the area. I know this because I walked right by them many times during the day and night; however, they are located on the back side of the hotel not the front. Not too big of a deal in my opinion. I walked around by myself while my husband worked and never felt unsafe. I did enjoy the fitness center (it is small), I enjoyed the sauna area, and the meals were good, it was quiet, and I walked to the old town, the lake, train station, and restaurants. It's not a bad place to stay, but I don't know that I would stay there again because of the lack of confidence in the cleaning and bedding situation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geneve Centre

Address: Rue de Zurich 19 | 1201 Geneva, Geneva 1214, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#29 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geneve Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Geneve Centre is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Geneva, close to Lake Geneva and 15 minutes from the UN headquarters. The hotel features 206 rooms, a restaurant, bar and 6 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. This 4 star hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays with your partner or family. In addition to the fitness centre and spa, with relaxation room, hammam, sauna, solarium and massage room, guests enjoy free public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneva
Geneva Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Geneve Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.